We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to this hotel and we will be back.
It seems to be slowly going through some renovations but the rooms are still comfortable and it's a small price to pay for fab beach views and the location.
The beach is a stones throw away and the local bars and restaurants are all in stumbling distance.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we know there is work to be done to make our hotel facilities as special and unique as our location. We are taking those steps, and hope to reveal our new style by the end of the year -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    284
    135
    59
    29
See reviews for
187
289
21
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is basic, but it is in excellent location , Lido Beach is amazing beach and have a lot good restaurants close!
It is a comfortable place to stay and the pool is very warm and so is the ocean.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your comment - we recognize that we need to move on from basic and become extraordinary! We are working to improve and look forward to great changes to come. We can't wait to show you our new style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Pros: rooms look out onto Lido Beach and the Gulf; rooms are clean- new rugs; furniture is new; bathrooms are under construction and the hotel is getting a necessary face lift inside; pool is clean and well maintained. Pat at desk and staff are excellent- that is why I gave it a Very Good.
Cons- current baths are in need of face lift, elevator floors and rugs need to be cleaned, covered or replaced. Hallway rugs need to be better cleaned. Bar is getting a face lift soon in lobby.

Rooms are adequate - not any extras, but you are not paying an arm and a leg for rooms that have priceless views. View from restaurant is nice, food is ok.

If your looking for reasonable,price,,walking distance to shops and across from beach- good value. If your looking for high priced resort- not the place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for the compliments of our very special location. We have one of the best on Lido Key. We have started work to improve our guest rooms and public areas, and look forward to showing off our new style by the end of the year. We welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I made a quick trip to visit some friends and we all stayed at this hotel. Our room had been remodeled but the bathroom was still outdated. The room was clean. There was no water in the vending machine on our floor for 2 days either. It is in a great location. You can walk to St. Armand's Circle which is nice and the beach across street is beautiful. Price was good with my AAA discount.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We appreciate your feedback, and praise of our wonderful location. Our hotel is kept very clean, as we know that is of great importance to all our guests. We are working to become less basic, and have a property as special as our location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Second time here at the Holiday Inn Lido Beach with my family. We love this place! Check in was a breeze. Thank you Paul, great job! Major improvement to the rooms and restaurant. Highly satisfied with the upgrades made to the rooms. Spectacular view of the beach, ocean and sunset. The Sand Dollar Restaurant looks Great! Good food and Great service by Idella, thank you. Overall HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We love that you love us! Paul and Idella are exceptional service team members, and we will share your kind words with them. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel was good for a weekend stay; easy access to the beach across the street. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the wait staff efficient. Free coffee in the morning outside the restaurant was appreciated - good for enjoying the balcony view of the Gulf in the early morning. The hotel has construction signs all over the hotel, but construction has been suspended because of tourist season. The room had new furniture and we enjoyed the new look. Three issues need to be addressed in the room; the bathroom needs a complete remodel, the a/c unit needs to be replaced, and new blackout drapes are needed (they were very worn and dirty). We will stay at this hotel again because of it's location and the staff. It would be nice to see the rooms remodeled soon.

Room Tip: Gulf front rooms worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your great compliments of our staff, services and location. The guest room issues you have noted are being addressed, and we hope to have a better room to show all our guests very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed here from 6/6-6/9 and it was a wonderful experience. I was a little skeptical at first because of some of the reviews but I honestly cannot find anything to complain about. We stayed on the 6th floor on the ocean side and our room has not been remodeled yet but it really wasn't bad at all. It wasn't new & shiny but really nothing wrong with the room or the bathroom. The pool area was clean and comfortable as well. The staff were all very nice. I will definitely be returning to this hotel. The view was INCREDIBLE!!

Room Tip: Request ocean view. City view means "parking lot" view. Request to stay above the 3rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Great and Thank you. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your visit. we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.