We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Beaches and Spectacular Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #29 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World Class Beaches and Spectacular Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Pros: Beautiful views, clean room, pool that overlooks the beach with a bar right there, rooftop restaurant with gorgeous views, an omelet station on the weekends, and for dinner the catch of the day was excellent. St. Armand's Circle is really close for additional dining and shopping.

Cons: Water puddled in the tub, coffee maker did not work, but a staff member brought us fresh coffee, however, the coffee pot was still not replaced by the second morning. When we got around to turning on the TV, it did not work, but a serviceman came right away and fixed it. So the staff is pretty attentive.

Room Tip: Select a beacfront room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Very nice to know that your challenges were addressed quickly by our staff. We have a great location and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    239
    116
    49
    24
See reviews for
162
237
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Hotel is tired but clean, but it is about to go through renovations. Great location across the street from the beach, and walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. Try to get a gulf view room for the beautiful sunsets. Looking forward to staying there again, after renovations are completed - Hope the price does not go up :-)

Room Tip: gulf view rooms fills quickly, so book way in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you - we are working hard to improve our hotel, and make it a true beach gem! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel needs some work, but is currently undergoing some necessary upgrades. However, it is very clean and the location to the ocean is amazing! Great location for walking to a little area with lots of neat shops and restaurants. The drinks and food on site are excellent as well!

Room Tip: Definitely worth the price to have a balcony overlooking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your comments
We are working to improve our hotel - and make it just as special as our wonderful location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here the first time I came to Sarasota to check out the area for retirement. Great location, would definitely come back! Two minutes to St. Armand's Circle and its' great shops and restaurants. Five minutes back to the city and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: Make sure you are facing the Gulf ~
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you! Sarasota and her islands are a wonderful place to retire. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just spent three days at this hotel during a family reunion. Hotel was OK but way overpriced. Cost us $517.00 for two nights. Hotel is showing it's age but they are remodeling it. We had Gulf view room that did have a great view.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for you comments. We are working hard to improve the condition of our hotel, knowing a face lift is needed! We are doing our best to keep all of our guests informed of our progress, and please feel free to contact us directly prior to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here for one night while visiting family in an other part of Florida. I've been to Sarasota several times, but never experiensed it like this.

This is a great hotel to stay at if you don't want to or can't spend a fortune at a hotel. It's beautifully located at Lido beach with walking distans to charming S:t Armand's Circle.

Read some reviews indicating that it's old and not clean. Yes - it's not built yesterday, but the don't state they are. The bathroom isn't dirty, but old. The rooms are quite spacious and air condition, curtains and everything works as it should. They have simple plastic chairs and tables at the balcony, but they will do fine for a drink in the sunset, I promise you. It's a good hotel that gives you what you pay for.

The view from the balcony, facing the beach, is absolutley stunning! And we were on the third floor (so you don't need a high level room). The other hotels at any of the beaches will cost you at least twice as much but won't give twice the comfort and absolutley not a better view.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get a room with sea view. It's so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Wow! Thank you for pointing out all the positives of our hotel and location. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Spent four nights at this establishment. The beach makes it worth staying here, but the guest services could largely be improved. Clean room with slow shower drain. Missed change of linens request and sub par laundry accommodations. Front desk interactions were average to above average. That being said, we would probably stay here again just for the beach location unless traveling south to Siesta Key.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your remarks, and we will certainly be responding to the linen requests you brought to our attention. We are working at this time to improve the condition of the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;