We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Decision On Where To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #27 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Decision On Where To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am writing this review to inform others of my experience because I rely entirely on trip advisor reviews when choosing my options.
Upon our arrival and throughout our stay until the moment we walked out the door every single staff member was pleasant, courteous, professional and accommodating. I did get everyone's name but I would like to acknowledge Kara, Pat, Jeremy, the female bartender, the nighttime security guard, housekeeping, maintenance, and all the others working there.
We stayed here from 4/4/14-4/6/14 as a family of 7 which included 2 older adult women and 5 teens. We reserved 2 double queen bed gulf view rooms and added a rollaway to one room. We were on the 2nd floor facing the gulf and the view was exceptional.
Both rooms were newly refurbished, neat, clean, attended to early in the A.M., contained a safe and small refrigerator, an adequate sized balcony with 2 chairs and small table. There were no complaints about the room. The shower pressure was good and water did not pool in tub as others have stated. We found beds exceptionally comfortable.
The pool is of medium size, adequate, clean, well maintained, beach towels are plentiful for pool or beach, lounge chairs and few tables with umbrellas and tiki bar for drinks and food served by a nice bartender women.
The restaurant upstairs does have fabulous panoramic view of gulf. You can order breakfast either as a buffet for about 14.00 which includes beverages and eggs made to order such as omelets. or order off the menu ala carte. They also serve lunch/dinner. Good food and service from the restaurants staff Kristina, Michelle and 2 different gentleman making our omelets.
The beach is just a few easy steps right across the street and pedestrians have the right of way and people do stop and its very convenient.
Once on the sand there is a gentleman not affiliated with the hotel but he discounts price to hotel guests for rentals of nice sturdy lounge chairs and umbrella which he also sets up for you for $5 chair/$10 umbrella. Beach sand is clean, maintained and water is comfortable.
There is free and adequate onsite parking, wifi and computer/printer, courtesy luggage storage upon checkout for later flight travel and poolside freshwater showers.
When looking for evening activity it is a 2 block easy walk from hotel to St. Armands Circle which is where the eateries, ice cream, yogurt, shops are located and you can get a map of it from front desk. On the beach 2 blocks south there is a beach concession serving good fresh food and drinks reasonably priced.
I had to get urgent medical care while there and there is a walk in clinic also located at the circle available also on weekends, good to have just in case.
If this hotel is within your budget then you will be satisfied. I am looking forward to returning. I have stayed previously 3 times at their sister property next door which is also very nice but much more expensive. The same room with a kitchen will cost you $200. more per night.
Thanks Holiday Inn Lido Beach miss you and hope to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wonderful! Thank you very much for sharing such kind remarks about our team! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    222
    105
    45
    22
See reviews for
139
220
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is perfect. Five stars!!

The staff was friendly. The pool was clean and perfect temperature. There is a little bar at the pool too. 3 stars

The hotel lobby was dingy, outdated and in need of an upgrade. 2 stars.

Room gets 2 stars. We had a gorgeous ocean view from our room and beds were comfortable. But the carpet was so dirty! But the bathroom was absolutely the worst part. One step above a gas station bathroom. If it were not for the bathroom and carpet filth we could get past the other issues. In general hotel needs to be upgraded but desperate for attention to cleaning especially floors and bathroom!!!!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments. We are now beginning to renovate our guest rooms, including upgrades to our guest bathrooms. We look forward to these changes, and know they will make your next visit more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overlooking one of Florida's most beautiful beaches and within easy walking distance of St Armand's Circle, this Holiday Inn became a destination in itself instead of just a place to stay. A Holiday Inn! Whodathunkit? Among the pleasant surprises was a restaurant with a limited, but worthy, menu, and priced right. The Gorgonzola and steak salad is a keeper. A buffet breakfast with made-to-order omelette bar or a la carte breakfast; you're choice. The seventh floor dining room is literally wall to wall windows with fabulous views of the setting sun over the Gulf of Mexico. Then there was the full service bar inside and at the pool. Plenty of complimentary off-street parking with courteous, helpful staff made our stay a first rate experience. The hotel needs some modernizing which was already underway. A Holiday Inn...amazing.

Room Tip: Gulf-side rooms offer expansive water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Wow! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove to Sarasota for our spring break trip March 8-15th. The hotel, although undergoing renovations, was clean and comfortable and the location was absolutely perfect. And truthfully, I never heard any noise from the renovations. Perfect location to the beach and easy walking distance to Armand's Circle for shopping and dining. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The pool was nice and was heated. The outdoor grill has good choices for lunch and snacks to eat by the pool. The beds were comfortable -- usually I take a couple of nights to get accustomed to sleeping in a different bed on vacation, but I had no trouble sleeping well from the start at the Holiday Inn. We had an ocean front room which gave us spectacular sunset views in the evening and views of dolphins playing off shore in the morning. Even though it has a busy road in front of it, we had no issues with noise. The rooms were nice and clean and the bathroom was clean with no signs of mold or mildew in the bath/shower. Now, you may find sand in the elevators or down some halls, remember this is a beach hotel. But overall, the staff did a great job of keeping it vacuumed up. We definitely will select this hotel again as a place to stay when we return to Sarasota.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at least on the 4th floor or above to get the good views of the ocean, especially to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Wow! Thank you and thank you for sharing such wonderful compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Holiday Inn at Lido Key from 3/14 thru 3/18. It was a great experience. We were given a room on the 5th floor which had a balcony and a wonderful view of the beach. The carpet appeared to be new as well as the furnishings. We were told the bathrooms would be renovated after the season. From our room we could walk to St Armand's Circle shops and restaurants which was a blessing as parking on or around the circle is scarce and there is a lot of traffic at all times of the day. We ate our breakfast each morning in the rooftop restaurant and it was delightful. The service was friendly and outstanding. The food was good. Best cheesy grits I have ever eaten. We also went to happy hour each day at the Tiki Bar and the drinks and food were good. It was easy to zip across the causeway to downtown Sarasota and get to the Spring Training venues. Will definitely stay again! Oh and towels and bottled water are provided by the front desk when you stroll over to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Wonderful! Thank you so much. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONGVIEW
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff, big rooms, good restaurant with free morning coffee. Big pool with small inside and outside bar. A nice view from every room, either the Gulf Side or the Inter-coastel Canal side. Walking distance from some great shopping and many restaurants.
Early check-in sometimes a problem but they will hold your luggage for you.
The beach is right across the street with nothing obstructing the view.

Room Tip: Highest floors are closest to the morning coffee and have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Wow! Thank you - we are so pleased to know we get it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The most important thing for us when we travel is quiet. 5 stars. Because the rooms are probably built with spancrete (concrete), it was pretty quiet. We had a great view of the ocean. 5 stars. The rooms are run down and there was lipstick and mascara on the towels. 2 stars. The beds were pretty saggy and uncomfortable 2 stars. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. 5 stars. We weren't told however that breakfast was included. 2 stars. They had signs up that they were doing construction and we weren't told. 2 stars. But we never heard the construction 5 stars.
All in all I'd say we would stay here again. It's mostly older guests. Even though we are not older that's my kind of crowd.

Room Tip: i think anything 3rd floor and up is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are working hard to improve our property, and the level of service we offer. Cleanliness is definitely on that list. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Sarasota Holiday Inn
Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.