We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAMILY FUN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Lake Mary, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FAMILY FUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Holiday Inn Lido Beach is great place to stay with the family. Very kid friendly! Kids eat free! We reserved a room with a the view of the Gulf of Mexico! Beautiful view! The rooms need work. I was told that the hotel will be going through renovations this fall. But the hospitality makes up for it! Everyone was wonderful from the check in with Kara, Kara GREAT WORK! To check out with Paul. Shauntya from house keeping good job! The Sand Dollar Restaurant has a spectacular view of the sunset. Dawn did a great job! Aaron needs retraining in customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Wow! Thank you, and thank you for recognizing the special talents of our staff. We will make sure they hear their praises, and make necessary improvements as well. You are correct that we are in process of making improvements to our property, and will do our very best to keep you informed.
Kind regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    234
    114
    48
    22
See reviews for
151
231
17
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Land O Lakes, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The beach and views are great. It's walking distance to St. Armands circle where there is something for everyone from all walks of life. From the budget minded shops and deli's to the high end boutiques and fine restaurants it's all within walking distance from this hotel. Great for families, large gatherings, or short weekend get a ways. Who spends majority of your time in the hotel anyway? It needs serious updating but the staff is friendly and accomodating. Spend a little on the the hotel and spend your time at the beach and then shop, dine, and drink to your hearts content.

Room Tip: You have basically 2 choices. Gulf view or parking lot view. If the budget allows, pop for the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are working to improve our property and will do our very best to share these exciting updates with our guests -
Kind regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we stay for 2 night at this hotel, we pay extra to have ocean front, the view is awesome, the location is closed to st-Armand. You could find good food at this circle. The bed are very comfort, but the bathroom is a little bit old. You feel dirty in the bathroom but it is clean. The restaurant at the 7 floor is the best for view, you could have the best view for the surrounding, especially for the sunset. The food is ok, don't ask much, we just want to have a nice view close to the window. You are inside has food and a good company, the food is optional.

Room Tip: If you have an opportunity, ask for the oceanfront and the higher room (6floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you! We are working to improve our hotel and our food offerings. We know you will see a difference on your next visit, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here Oct last year and have just booked to go again this year.

Most of the other reviews are correct, it does need a little bit of attention, but as soon as you wake up to that Gulf view you're relaxed and don't care that it isn't completely modern.

I was very concerned last year before arrival because of some negative reviews, but so pleasantly surprised.

Breakfast buffet was good and surprisingly the Mahi sandwich I ordered around the pool was amazing! Happy hour drinks were strong, and that sets you up for a nice evening stroll down to St Armands circle to enjoy food and shopping. We'll be going back to Tommy Bahamas which was a favourite of ours last time we were there (great cocktails, food and fun service).

You must get a gulf view room, makes the whole stay fantastic.

We're going back Oct this year, straight from the airport and I'm sure it will be the perfect way to start a Florida holiday.

Room Tip: Get a gulf view, I can't imagine what you'd get to see on the other side of the building. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Love this! Thank you so much for your praises of our special hotel. We are working now to update the property, and you will see a difference in October.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

First of all here is and why I (and presumably others) can't give this place a full excellent/5 star rating: fantastic location and views, but with very old appointments. However I feel like this also keeps the costs down! If this was updated and modern throughout, you'd easily pay $250/night for this place.

Pros: gulf view is phenomenal with large sliding glass doors and windows to enjoy the view, literally steps from the beach and 5 min walk to St. Armand's, room is large, bed is comfy (nothing special), restaurant and bar on site, room service, free wifi, nice tv, free parking in an area where parking can be tough, 10 min drive to downtown sarasota and Mote Marine.

Cons: All decor and furnishings are very old school, wifi is too slow for netflix etc (2-3mbps) and not apple tv compatible, bathroom small and needs to be redone, must do gulf view, I imagine city view would be ok on 5/6 floor but its a parking lot view on lower floors.

Bottom line, we'll be returning soon and if you don't expect a swanky Manhattan hotel, you'll be thrilled with your stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you - we are working to improve our guest rooms, so that the hotel experience is as good as our staff and location. And we greatly appreciate your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Located on Lido Key just a few steps from St. Armand's Circle which is made up of dozens of shops and restaurants to please even the most discriminate taste. The Hotel staff was superb and took care of every need. The beach is directly across the street with crystal white sand and beach chairs for rent by the day. The pool was refreshing, perfect for a hot afternoon dip. Pool side bar offered great libations at a reasonable price. A short cab ride from downtown Sarasota to see a play or dine at Marina Jacks. I recommend this hotel to everyone, families, groups, couples. If you can, upgrade to a suite on the 7th floor, the extra room and private elevator are worth every penny. Will certainly return!

Room Tip: 7th Floor Ocean Front Suite if you can! Private elevator and amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much - we love to know we get it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wonderful location in walking distance to many restaurants and shops and across the street from the beach. Staff very friendly. Not updated so take that into account when looking at prices. Very clean. They have chairs and beach toys in the lobby to borrow for the day so you don't need to bring your own. There are no corner stores or groceries on the island so be prepared to drive a distance to get anything.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you! We are working now to upgrade our guest rooms, and know you will see improvements on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.