We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Tennesssee
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Location and view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a last minute place to stay at the beach for a couple of nights following a family visit in central Florida. A TA forum member suggested this hotel and it proved to be just what we wanted. We followed the advice of other reviewers and spent the extra for the ocean view and agree that it was worth it----the other side of the hotel looks over the parking lot and we would not have been pleased with the price of the room with that view. We loved getting up in the morning and having our coffee on our balcony while watching the waves, seagulls and occasional dolphins, and then again in the evening watching the sun slowly fade as the ocean darkened. The hotel is across the road from the beach, not directly on it, but on our level we had a great view, and the walk across the road to the beach was very easy.

Our room was very clean and attractive, the bed was comfortable, we were provided with extra towels, including beach towels, without asking, and my request to be on an upper floor away from the elevator was granted. We were on the 4th floor in an end room and except for a loud party at the pool one night, we did not have any issues with noise. The front desk staff was very pleasant and worked to allow us to check in early when we arrived before the regular time.

We enjoyed being able to park the car in the free lot and walk to Armand Circle to eat and browse without having to fight for parking places in that crowded area.

If we returned to Sarasota, I would not hesitate to stay at The Holiday Inn, Lido Beach, again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a balcony room facing the ocean, on the 4th floor to see above the road and tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
That is just great! It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    276
    133
    59
    28
See reviews for
182
280
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks in this hotel from June 22nd to July 5th of 2013, for a relaxing Family vacation. The location is awesome and the hotel has such great potential to become an amazing resort. Staff was very friendly, and I was greeted by the GM (Kym) when I arrived. Our room was not ready and it was well past the check-in time, but we didn't mind since Kym did apologize for the delay, we sat at the bar and had a few cold beers, while the kids made themselves at home, in the pool. Once the room was ready, we were happy and pleasantly surprise to see that the room (614) was bigger than expected as well as, to see an amazing view of the gulf/beach from the 6th floor. The room itself was not too clean because my 2 kids automatically spotted mentos, 2 pens and m&m's slightly below the skirt of the 2nd bed next to the sliding doors. No biggie, we cleaned that out ourselves since we didn't want the kids testing others folks candies lol. Overall, the room was of a good size,it had a fridge, safe and coffee machine and coffee was supplied with paper cups. There was also 2 queen beds and a table with 2 chairs for us to enjoy. There was enough drawer space for all 4 of us, to handle all our clothes... as well as a small open closet. Bathroom, again showed signs of a hurried cleaner, it still had the previous tenants soap scum on one of the wall, which my husband was more than happy to wash out for the kids. Obviously a quick cleaning job was done in this room to accommodate us.The bathroom does need an overhaul and shelving for families. The AC is noisy, and hopefully will be replaced in the future. On a Daily basis, we opted to make our own beds so housekeeping didn't need to worry, but we always had something missing, a set of towels, or coffee or cups. Most of the time we handled it directly with the housekeeping crew still on the floor, which were very helpful and friendly, if not, the Front desk agent was always very nice and quick to send up the missing items or hand it over. We did visit the restaurant for a buffet breakfast a few times, and the staff was great and breakfast was good... above average pricing. The American skillet, the waffles, omelets were all in the 9 to 11$ depending if you wanted bacon or not and the buffet (13$ which included coffee and juice as well as all the food you wanted) Children ate for free. Breakfast was yummy and the view with a coffee on hand was fabulous. St-Armand's circle is a 5 minute walk if you want to venture out for breakfast and pricing is slightly cheaper. Tons of shops. A must visit is the Mote Aquarium about 15mins away by car. The beach is across the hotel. Just be careful crossing the road, not all drivers slow or stop to let pedestrians cross. Beach sand, surprisingly doesn't burn under feet, and is of a fine white sand. Weather was great everyday 88 to 92 and water at 88. Lifeguards on beach. If you see dark clouds, don't think they will pass by....it thunders everyday for about 30mins :) I would easily return to this location and hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. Our appologies for the mess you found in the room upon arrival, even in a hurry, we can always do better than that. We are working now to improve the condition of our guest rooms and amenities, and will do our best to keep you informed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this hotel because we knew it would be prefect to watch the races from. The hotel itself is not worth the price we paid but we knew prices were jacked up because of the races. We got an oceanfront view which was perfect. We stayed 1 night and were immediately treated bad the second our stay was "over". The manager eventually made it up after spending an extra $120. Sadly, we will probably book this hotel again next year just because of the location. Its in walking distance to St. Armands which we love. Maybe they treat people differently when it isn't an event weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you - yes the Power Boat Races are certainly an event at this property. We are certain that no one wanted you to feel badly when your stay was "over". Next year's event is Sunday, July 6th, a great holiday weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful hotel, rooms kept beautifully. Maid service was excellent, enough towels, coffee to make and shampoo's. Great view from the pool, nice small bar area. Right across the street from the beach. They even had chairs for guests to use at the beach and play items for the kids. No charge for parking, yeah!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to enjoy the beach and St. Armand's circle, it was decently priced and our view was overlooking the beach, it was clean and pleasant. Would go back but beware its really family friendly and the walls are thin.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks so much Two Debs! We are working on the noise factor, as all guests should be able to enjoy a good nights rest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here June 23-25, 2013, for a mini-honeymoon. The accommodations were nice and our view was great!. No one went out of their way to make us feel special or anything, but we have no complaints. The pool was clean and nice. We paid to eat breakfast there in their restaurant one morning. The omelet station was nice and the food was pretty good, but it was overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We got the last room in the hotel. We had no clue it was supernatural race weekend. The management and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Lido beach out front is incredible. Thanks Adam and staff for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Beach front is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Great! So pleased to know how much you enjoyed your visit. The SuperBoat Grand Prix is an annual event! We hope to see you well before that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.