We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property across the street from the beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Saint Augustine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Property across the street from the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were able to use Holiday Inn Points to stay at this property. They upgraded us without asking to an gulfview room which was great. You do have to walk across the street to get to the beach but, it was an easy walk. They offered free beach chairs and the room was large enough that we put 2 additional rollaway beds into the room ( $10/each bed). It was walking distance to St Armands circle which our teenagers took advantage of.

Room Tip: Ask for a Delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We appreciate your positive feedback! Thank you for choosing us for you destination in Sarasota. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    252
    122
    52
    24
See reviews for
170
255
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vellinge, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I come to Sarasota a couple of times per year and this is my companys chosen hotel. Price is really good, location is perfect and the rooms are good value for money. You can start the morning walking/jogging at the beach and then have breakfast on the top floor viewing the sea. It is very relaxing! The hotel is a bit worn but the rooms are ok and I always get good service from the friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you. We greatly appreciate being your company's choice in Sarasota. If you have to travel on business, at least you get to relax at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 1 night, room 501, overlooking the car park, and the beach if you peek around the side of the balcony. Bathroom was sub standard (ceiling plaster starting to fall, taps moved away from wall). Beach towels were provided and beach literally across the road. Great location, substandard room. Not what we had expected from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your concerns. We are dilligently working to improve the condition of our property, and bring our guests something special. We have a location that is special, and know that you will see a difference at your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a great room 610 overlooking beach, great view, great bkfast buffet.
My companion left an expensive pair of Cole Haan shoes behind, we called back within 4 hours
but no one had a clue, cleaning staff, Mgmt. called back each day with no results?
Guess no one has ever left anything behind?
Bathtub did not drain properly or sink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We are very sorry that we could not find the belongings you left behind. We do our very best to recover items guest leave at the hotel, and return to them. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Holiday Inn Sarasota, Lido Beach is wonderful. Unbelievable dining area on the top floor, immaculate rooms, fabulous location across the street from the ocean, walking distance to St. Armands Circle.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Wonderful and thank you for returning each year! We will see you in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were visiting our neighbors from up North, our first time in Sarasota, and chose this hotel. View from the room was outstanding, breathtaking.

The hotel is well located walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shopping.
The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. On weekends the hotel has cookouts, very enjoyable and a delicious lunch menu. Otherwise, prices are high compared to nearby restaurants.

The hotel can use some remodeling, it is showing its age and prices are on the high side. The rooms could certainly be certainly more user friendly when it comes to electronics now days, plug ins, amenities, etc.

We enjoyed the area very much, the beautiful homes, a city very much into the arts and shopping is just heavenly for those interested. I have never seen so many "gently used clothes" shops!. We sat at a cafe down a street full of them and was told that it is like that all over the city.

I might go back to this hotel after it is renovated.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you. We are glad you found us. We have a special location on Lido Key, and are working to make the rooms special for our guests as well. Shopping here is something else!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I was in the Sarasota area for business and usually stayed near the airport. I decided to stay at this hotel for a change. The check-in process was quick and my room was ready when I arrived. I was on the 5th floor and my room overlooked the Gulf which was really nice. The room clean and more importantly for me the room smelled cleaned. I checked the bathroom as I usually do and it to was spotless including the bottom of the shower curtain that many times is often overlooked by the house staff. On Friday I had breakfast at the 7th Floor Resturant they had a great buffet the food was hot and fresh. I decided to stay an extra stay to relax and enjoy the pool where there was plenty of chairs and tables. On Saturday they had a cookout where they were serving lunch specials. I liked the fact that you can walk to the beach and during the day or night you can walk to the shopping and dining places at St. Armands Circle.

When I return to Sarasota I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
You found the spot for business and pleasure! Easy to get to downtown Sarasota, and a relaxing view of the gulf when the day is done. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.