We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timberwoods Vacation Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Timberwoods Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Timberwoods Vacation Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   8378 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34238   |  
Hotel amenities
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very pleased!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Made a fairly short notice booking for my brother and sister to go to Sarasota and visit our parents, 3 weeks ahead of time, for a two bedroom villa. Was having trouble finding a villa or condo in Sarasota and luckily Timberwood came through! Teresa who manages the units had a two bed villa.Great location on the mainland (not on a key) near major shopping and many restaurants. Very quiet location despite being just off the US41. Lovely development with awesome pool and jacuzzi area. Unit very comfortable and well equipped - and EXTREMELY clean. Full size kitchen with small table for 4 had all that was needed. Large dining room table and excellent sofa, loveseat anc chair in living area with new flat panel tv. Queen bedroom very large with nice ensuite and new flat panel. 2nd bedroom was 2 twin beds. Bedrooms and baths are a bit dated but very clean and comfortable. Nice screened lanai, and for us the pool was just across the lane. price very reasonable given what we received. Excellent service from Teresa - will definitly choose to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

These chalets are a few years old now and showing their age (cracked tiles, pink decoration) but have been kept up to date with Wi-Fi and flat screen tv's and a surprisingly pleasant feel. The chalet was very, very clean and well equipped and, as we were well away from the pool, very quiet. The site is conveniently next door to a large Mall with Macys etc., and an amc cinema complex and only 4 miles or so from Siesta beach, yet everything else in Sarasota or Venice is quite accessible as you are right on the main access road, the north/south Tamiami Trail. We enjoyed our stay here, for the price of a hotel room you get a whole house to yourself in peace and quiet. Don't be put off by the grotty site office in the Pelican Plaza where you pick your keys up. It looks derelict!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked a week here to complete our holiday and so glad we did. After living out of our suitcases for the previous 10 days it was great to be able to settle in a villa with everything we needed on hand. The villa was immaculately clean and very spacious. Teresa was extremely helpful (as due to flight timings we did not know whether we would arrive in time to check in or not). The location is ideal - very very quiet with a beautiful screened lanai to enjoy the outdoors without being bitten by the mosquitos. The mall is next door (very handy for shopping!) and Siesta Key with its beautiful beach is a 10 minute drive away. I would definitely recommend Timberwoods as a home from home in Sarasota.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife tripped across these rental villas in 2000.... we now call it our second home and have come back numerous times since. The villas are magnificently located near all amenities (Westfield Sarasota Mall), Costco, Eateries and a 10min drive to USA's #1 Beach - Siesta Key. The villa's are very roomy and most can accommodate 6 people, they have an open concept look and feel with a combined living dining room space, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and some villas have a pull out bed in the living area, There is a community pool on site, tennis courts and lovely ponds and much much more. We keep coming back!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Visited Sarasota as a place to relax after an action packed week in Orlando. Really fitted the bill as Timberwoods provided great facilities to chill out and kick back. Nice pool, tennis court (though too hot to use), spacious villa and good value. Had a prob with ants but quickly and efficiently sorted. Yes the villas are a bit 1980s style (think Miami Vice) but they are in great condition and the proportions are excellent. Items such as tvs and appliances have been updated, except for the hoover! Only gripe is that it was described as close to beach - its actually a 10 minute (at least) drive. Mind you it is the USA's No 1 beach so can't really complain! Overall would recommend.

Room Tip: We asked for near the pool and got it - was really handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had plenty of TVs to watch Zimmerman on trial on CNN. The washer and dryer was very helpful. The beds were very comfortable, but the wicker headboard needed to be bolted to the wall. The lanai was wonderful for my elderly mother since she did not want to go to the beach. We had a separate bedroom from my daughter so she could goop her hair up as needed. The garage was a wonderful way to avoid getting drenched in the Florida rain. My husband really enjoyed the swimming pool. My daughter really enjoyed the hot tub.

The down side of course is that we had to drive to the beaches. Our ice machine in the freezer was broken, but we got a $2 bag of ice from Walmart. I had to be responsible for emptying the refrigerator of the foods we'd accumulated over the week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Like many others we have been coming here for over 20 years. A fantastic place for families. Lovely large pool with jacuzzi, tennis courts and basketball court, all set in nice grounds with BBQ area overlooking lake and fountains.

Fantastic place to bring a family. Famous beaches 15 minutes away, with plenty of good restaurants less than 5 minutes away. Shopping centre 5 minutes walk away with Tampa airport 45 minutes. Major theme parks 45 minutes away in Tampa and Orlando 2 hours away.

Villas are furnished to good standard and offer plenty of space. A frat place to escape the crowds after time in florida a theme parks.

We will be back for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Timberwoods Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberwoods Vacation Villas

Address: 8378 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34238
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Timberwoods Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Siesta Key is just 2 miles away! Located in 25 acres of wooded pines & a tropical park-like setting, you will enjoy walks along two scenic ponds inhabited by a wide variety of wildlife such as Great Blue Herons, it's Birder's Paradise! 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, washer, dryer, living & dining, private garage w/remote entry, screened-in furnished patios. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET, DVD, Cable TV, and FREE PHONE CALLS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Timberwoods Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberwoods Vacation Villas And Resort
Timberwoods Vacation Villas Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberwoods Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.