We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and roomy accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Timberwoods Vacation Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Timberwoods Vacation Villas to your Saves list
Timberwoods Vacation Villas
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   8378 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34238   |  
Hotel amenities
northern ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good location and roomy accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Visited Sarasota as a place to relax after an action packed week in Orlando. Really fitted the bill as Timberwoods provided great facilities to chill out and kick back. Nice pool, tennis court (though too hot to use), spacious villa and good value. Had a prob with ants but quickly and efficiently sorted. Yes the villas are a bit 1980s style (think Miami Vice) but they are in great condition and the proportions are excellent. Items such as tvs and appliances have been updated, except for the hoover! Only gripe is that it was described as close to beach - its actually a 10 minute (at least) drive. Mind you it is the USA's No 1 beach so can't really complain! Overall would recommend.

Room Tip: We asked for near the pool and got it - was really handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DALLAS, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had plenty of TVs to watch Zimmerman on trial on CNN. The washer and dryer was very helpful. The beds were very comfortable, but the wicker headboard needed to be bolted to the wall. The lanai was wonderful for my elderly mother since she did not want to go to the beach. We had a separate bedroom from my daughter so she could goop her hair up as needed. The garage was a wonderful way to avoid getting drenched in the Florida rain. My husband really enjoyed the swimming pool. My daughter really enjoyed the hot tub.

The down side of course is that we had to drive to the beaches. Our ice machine in the freezer was broken, but we got a $2 bag of ice from Walmart. I had to be responsible for emptying the refrigerator of the foods we'd accumulated over the week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Like many others we have been coming here for over 20 years. A fantastic place for families. Lovely large pool with jacuzzi, tennis courts and basketball court, all set in nice grounds with BBQ area overlooking lake and fountains.

Fantastic place to bring a family. Famous beaches 15 minutes away, with plenty of good restaurants less than 5 minutes away. Shopping centre 5 minutes walk away with Tampa airport 45 minutes. Major theme parks 45 minutes away in Tampa and Orlando 2 hours away.

Villas are furnished to good standard and offer plenty of space. A frat place to escape the crowds after time in florida a theme parks.

We will be back for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We rented 2 villas last month for a family vacation. The pool area has been renovated since our last stay in 2008 and is heated to a much more comfortable temperature. As others have pointed out, the resort is quiet and the villas are quite clean and comfortable. The crowd is definitely much older (think early bird special) than the group who were there from 1993 to 2008 when we visited annually. That said, we had 2 toddlers in the pool on a daily basis and were not hassled by any of the self-appointed scolds. We went later in the afternoon because the sun is not as dangerous to little ones then, and we don't particularly enjoy navigating around the conversing noodle floaters.
Both of the units we were assigned have been renovated to various degrees. A few quibbles. Mattresses were too soft for our liking and some appliances are ancient. Untethered large screen TVs are a safety hazard and should either be wall-mounted or on more substantial units. We had no issues, but someone will and the lawsuit won't be pretty.
We will definitely consider a return visit the next time we are in Florida.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were initially pleased with the villa. It was spacious, very clean and nice quality furnishings. The beds were of good quality but the mattresses were very very soft. This may suit some - but not us. In order to sleep well we used both bedrooms.

On day two of our stay we awakened to barking dogs from the villa directly across from us. We thought nothing much of it but the same thing happened day three and during the day, as well as every day and night we were there. When we stepped out to the screened in lanai the dogs went berserk. We called over to the villa to find the owner was not home and the dogs were left to bark with no restraint. This particular villa was an owner occupied villa and this lady did not care at all who enjoyed their stay.

We went to the pool one day of our stay only and were made to feel very uncomfortable by a lady who told us this was not a vacation resort. Why she let us know this was never disclosed. We had no children, and are mature adults, not young party people. We remained at the pool for 15 minutes only.

The barking dogs ensure we will never return. Vacation rentals do not permit pets but you can be sure that you may not be in for a quiet relaxing stay if you are unfortunate enough to be positioned next to an owner occupied villa.

Room Tip: Ask to be located in an area that has few owner occupied villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Timberwoods Vacation Villas, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Good morning!

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience that you endured during your stay. Please note that the property in which you stayed is called Village des Pins, each villa is privately owned and out of 112 units there, Timberwoods Vacation Villas (rental management business name) manages 30 of them. Since I am not able to identify you, I do not know if you rented through us (Timberwoods) or through a private owner. I say this because if you rented through us (Timberwoods), your villa had 2 telephones with speed dial buttons that connect you with the Registration Office and to an after-hours maintenance emergency assistance line. This is pointed out to every guest at the time of check-in at the Registration Office because we want for our guests to call us if there are any problems during their stay.

We have not had any reports of barking dogs. If you had called the office, I would've personally reported this to the condominium association's board and would make sure that the problem was taken care of. Please contact me at Teresa@timberwoods.com I would like to obtain your name so that I can look up your reservation and find out if you rented through Timberwoods, it is important to me that our guests enjoy their stay and depart with full satisfaction.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Teresa Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We have stayed at Timberwoods for the last 3 yrs and find the villas 'Home from Home'. Very well equipped and furnished. Great location for shopping and getting about. 2 mins from Siesta Key Beach which is absolutely fabulous. Would concurr with other reviews that it suits the older generation. Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have returned to Timberwoods consecutively for the past 12 years and still love it! It is our home away from home! Great location, love the pool and the villas. See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timberwoods Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberwoods Vacation Villas

Address: 8378 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34238
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Timberwoods Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Siesta Key is just 2 miles away! Located in 25 acres of wooded pines & a tropical park-like setting, you will enjoy walks along two scenic ponds inhabited by a wide variety of wildlife such as Great Blue Herons, it's Birder's Paradise! 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, washer, dryer, living & dining, private garage w/remote entry, screened-in furnished patios. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET, DVD, Cable TV, and FREE PHONE CALLS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Timberwoods Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberwoods Vacation Villas And Resort
Timberwoods Vacation Villas Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timberwoods Vacation Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.