We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have not found better on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Have not found better on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have stayed here before and had good service I noticed some of the bad comments and I did not experience anything like that thank goodness! I have stayed at other places on the beach that are not half as nice there are not a lot of options. This beach is perfect never over crowed. We were put in the older building but requested a kitchen so we were moved to the newer building.

Everyone was very helpful, they have the kcups for coffee and I need to drink about a gallon we asked for about 10cups and they left them, there was no place on the hotel to get coffee! Add a coffee shop or give me a real coffee maker.

View was fantastic ask for a higher room, pool service we didn't really use except for some drinks and they were very nice. The beach service was great they set up the chairs and umbrella and even walked back to the hotel to blow up our floaties, cost $15 for the umbrella but that is a deal compared to some places.

Now for the bad, VERY old decor, it's looks like the golden girls decorated it. The air in the common areas is not so good, almost no air in the new building elevators and NONE in the old building elevators. No spa :( anywhere on the beach that we could find.

I will continue to go back here but I hope they redecorate and make a few small changes.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view if you get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and comments from your stay at the Lido Beach Resort. We are working towards making some major improvements very soon. I appreciate your feedback very much as well your business. We certainly look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    335
    177
    93
    50
See reviews for
336
413
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This review, though some what late is better than never. We have stayed at Lido Beach Resort for many (20+) years. Each year it has slid down hill further and further. The rooms have the same furniture from when it was first built , and though recovered in plastic still looks and feels like a "Good Will Store" blew up there.
Our Sleeper Sofa (the main couch in the room)had no mattress and you sat on the springs. The floor tiles were cracked in many places and mold was growing in the shower. No protective lens over the shower lights and several of the room lighting fixtures had blown bulbs. Wi-Fi was spotty in room and even at the pool side. The $20 daily resort fee covered a bottle of water per day, Wifi, bag of Popcorn, and a cup of coffee in your room.

Our room was left vacant early in the morning, for room service that did not show up till sometime in the very late afternoon. The pool was on the dirty side with stuff and oily sunscreen scum floating on the top, which greeted us in the morning. Many of the room service helpers could not speak or understand English and in turn could not understand that we needed Towels, light bulbs, repairs on (services supposedly provided)
in the room.

Requests to the front desk while they were polite, but went no where, and were never followed through with. Breakfasts were acceptable but way over priced. When we were there construction was full bore on the tiki bar. Dust and materials were floating around but the lido did not think enough of us as vacationers to notify us that the pool side would be dirty and noisy all day, every day. A Reduced rate, notification or an apology would have gone a long way. We really did not feel like valued quests.

I had written to the Lido Beach Resort before and read the comments made by others but those words have fallen on deaf ears. Each of our stays hovered in the neighborhood of $1,800 to $2,000 Not including meals or drinks. I feel that our money might be better spent at another resort, which has truly worked hard to gain their stars.. This was our favorite and special place to come to in Florida, but never more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Lido Beach Resort from October 2013. I can certainly understand your disappointment and frustrations while you were here and from previous stays. Since that time the hotel has completed the Tiki bar (it is incredible), completely renovated the Café Lido, upgraded our internet service, and are planning a full room renovation. I am very sorry your last stay was not a great one but my hope is you will come back to see the changes we are making. Please feel free to contact me directly and we can discuss further renovation plans and how I may work to want you to return. Thank you again for your comments. They are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Hard to fault. Great location and setting. Easy access to a fantastic beach. Lovely views assuming you have the right room. We had a junior suite and was adequate for a family of four. The little well equipped kitchen was very handy. Room was well maintained and clean. It exceeded its star rating.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Staying over the road from this resort, heard you could eat here, tried the Tiki bar..not too busy, sat and glanced over the menu. People on next table seemed to be having problems with there order......After a while we got served, ordered a couple of glasses of wine and our food choice.
Sat back in the sun and relaxed, food seemed to take a while so tried to get server for another drink...he seemed more interested in a couple of girls nearer the pool than us, so I went to the bar and got my own.....food turned up. Asked for some Mayo....server went off did not return.
So I went and helped myself from the servers station....
As we sat and ate the server seemed intent on closing the area down, pushing and banging chairs against the tables, to the glares of us and others eating...we would have liked another drink, but no sign of the guy, we waited to collect our bill, no sign of the guy....In the end I went to the bar and asked if we could pay, a frown from the barman......Have been visiting Sarasota for 15 years will not return to this Tiki bar

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Tiki bar at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience. I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience so I may address the issues. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in mid June. On arrival reception was very efficient and helpful. Room on 4th floor looking out to the gulf and pool was well maintained and the view was awesome. General cleanliness was excellent and all the staff were very polite.

We liked the idea of a separate pool for adults only. Pool area was excellent as was the private beach. Tiki bar was friendly and food/service in restaurants was very good.

Courtesy bus to St Armands Circle was very convenient.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor with beach/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very happy you had an enjoyable time and want to return. We certainly look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay in a Beachfront Jr Suite on the 7th Floor. Like the other reviews the location on the beach and short ride to St. Armands Circle is perfect. The rooms are in desperate need of remodeling .....furniture is worn. Our suite appeared to have been painted and new ceiling fans etc.....but the furniture was showing its age. The room was fairly clean and well equipped for cooking. The balcony furniture needed to be replaced as well. We did experience problems with no internet service for almost 48 hrs which made working a bit of a challenge. The Lido Grille on the 8th floor had excellent food and service not to mention the great city view......so glad we tried it! The shuttle service was a nice touch as well....very prompt. All in all it was a great stay the view of the sunset's helped you over look the room being in need of updating !

Room Tip: Splurge on the beachfront south tower...view is well worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for you review of the Lido Beach Resort. I can certainly understand your comments regarding a renovation. Those plans are in the works. The internet has just been upgraded and updated and should work flawlessly now. Thank you again for your review and your business. Both are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

THE GOOD: Great location to the beach on the gulf, and restaurants and bars on property (they do close early). I had a two bedroom suite which was large in size.

THE BAD: The room was dirty and we were created by a red solo cup on our balcony stuffed with old cigarettes. The room had wood rot and other areas of damage and repairs.

THE UGLY: The hotel is need of a renovations and a change of management staff. The rooms both the tower and the main 4 floor part of the hotel need repair and deep, deep cleaning. The tile was cracked in several areas and felt loose. The grout was falling apart and the filth in the grout was unacceptable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry you experienced some issues that you certainly should not have experienced. Some of the items you mentioned will be addressed in an upcoming renovation, however, there is no excuse for some others. I appreciate your feedback very much and will certainly work to address all of the items you shared. I hope you will provide us another opportunity in the future to win your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.