We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Bethesda, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Hard to fault. Great location and setting. Easy access to a fantastic beach. Lovely views assuming you have the right room. We had a junior suite and was adequate for a family of four. The little well equipped kitchen was very handy. Room was well maintained and clean. It exceeded its star rating.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    282
    147
    74
    33
See reviews for
268
341
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Staying over the road from this resort, heard you could eat here, tried the Tiki bar..not too busy, sat and glanced over the menu. People on next table seemed to be having problems with there order......After a while we got served, ordered a couple of glasses of wine and our food choice.
Sat back in the sun and relaxed, food seemed to take a while so tried to get server for another drink...he seemed more interested in a couple of girls nearer the pool than us, so I went to the bar and got my own.....food turned up. Asked for some Mayo....server went off did not return.
So I went and helped myself from the servers station....
As we sat and ate the server seemed intent on closing the area down, pushing and banging chairs against the tables, to the glares of us and others eating...we would have liked another drink, but no sign of the guy, we waited to collect our bill, no sign of the guy....In the end I went to the bar and asked if we could pay, a frown from the barman......Have been visiting Sarasota for 15 years will not return to this Tiki bar

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Tiki bar at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience. I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience so I may address the issues. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in mid June. On arrival reception was very efficient and helpful. Room on 4th floor looking out to the gulf and pool was well maintained and the view was awesome. General cleanliness was excellent and all the staff were very polite.

We liked the idea of a separate pool for adults only. Pool area was excellent as was the private beach. Tiki bar was friendly and food/service in restaurants was very good.

Courtesy bus to St Armands Circle was very convenient.

Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: High floor with beach/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very happy you had an enjoyable time and want to return. We certainly look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay in a Beachfront Jr Suite on the 7th Floor. Like the other reviews the location on the beach and short ride to St. Armands Circle is perfect. The rooms are in desperate need of remodeling .....furniture is worn. Our suite appeared to have been painted and new ceiling fans etc.....but the furniture was showing its age. The room was fairly clean and well equipped for cooking. The balcony furniture needed to be replaced as well. We did experience problems with no internet service for almost 48 hrs which made working a bit of a challenge. The Lido Grille on the 8th floor had excellent food and service not to mention the great city view......so glad we tried it! The shuttle service was a nice touch as well....very prompt. All in all it was a great stay the view of the sunset's helped you over look the room being in need of updating !

Room Tip: Splurge on the beachfront south tower...view is well worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for you review of the Lido Beach Resort. I can certainly understand your comments regarding a renovation. Those plans are in the works. The internet has just been upgraded and updated and should work flawlessly now. Thank you again for your review and your business. Both are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

THE GOOD: Great location to the beach on the gulf, and restaurants and bars on property (they do close early). I had a two bedroom suite which was large in size.

THE BAD: The room was dirty and we were created by a red solo cup on our balcony stuffed with old cigarettes. The room had wood rot and other areas of damage and repairs.

THE UGLY: The hotel is need of a renovations and a change of management staff. The rooms both the tower and the main 4 floor part of the hotel need repair and deep, deep cleaning. The tile was cracked in several areas and felt loose. The grout was falling apart and the filth in the grout was unacceptable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry you experienced some issues that you certainly should not have experienced. Some of the items you mentioned will be addressed in an upcoming renovation, however, there is no excuse for some others. I appreciate your feedback very much and will certainly work to address all of the items you shared. I hope you will provide us another opportunity in the future to win your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This resort is awesome. I went with my wife and stayed for two nights. Got a beach view room for first night. What an experience. Clean water on the beach with white sand. My wife just loved the scenic view. They charge $15 for an Umbrella which i believe is too much but its ok for such a nice place. Bar is pretty good around the pool area. There restaurant on the 8th floor offers some really good options. Staff is very friendly. Beach area was very clean. Overall, I would recommend this place if you are couple and looking for a nice lovely resort to have a good time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with your wife. I appreciate your feedback very much and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I gave this resort a 5 because of its pool and its beach! The rooms are, "okay," needing some minor upgrading (facelifts), but otherwise well worth the price. Certainly not a Ritz but with the pool and the beach, the Ritz in Sarasota cannot compare.

We stayed in room 9006, it's on the corner, overlooking the pool and the ocean. A coin laundry was two-doors down, and the ice-maker around the hall. Great location.

We went with a large group of families, all with kids. Very, very kid friendly, not "stuffy," at all! The outside Tiki Bar was well-equipped, prices were average, and they had the World Cup on (a major plus in my book)! Ping pong tables, plenty of towels, and even an outside covered patio area overlooking a pond with plush lounge chairs, sleepers and sofas! We had a group pizza party and brought our own music, pizza and alcohol! The hotel staff was very accommodating.

The food is average, like most food places in Sarasota. Do not expect any 5-star dining experience. Stay with the burgers and fries. Breakfast was so-so, at best. But the service was good.

The $25 daily resort fee covered A LOT! Like:

FREE Parking and in an underground garage which helps avoid your car baking in the sun!

FREE shuttle service to the circle was a very nice touch.

Free Daily newspaper, including Sunday!

Wifi and 2 large water bottles in your room, DAILY!

Well worth the bang for your buck!

This is a must stay!

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms suites overlook the pool and the ocean, and are on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you and your family enjoyed the hotel and the amenities we offer. We certainly look forward to having you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.