We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location on Lido Key” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location on Lido Key”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay in a Beachfront Jr Suite on the 7th Floor. Like the other reviews the location on the beach and short ride to St. Armands Circle is perfect. The rooms are in desperate need of remodeling .....furniture is worn. Our suite appeared to have been painted and new ceiling fans etc.....but the furniture was showing its age. The room was fairly clean and well equipped for cooking. The balcony furniture needed to be replaced as well. We did experience problems with no internet service for almost 48 hrs which made working a bit of a challenge. The Lido Grille on the 8th floor had excellent food and service not to mention the great city view......so glad we tried it! The shuttle service was a nice touch as well....very prompt. All in all it was a great stay the view of the sunset's helped you over look the room being in need of updating !

Room Tip: Splurge on the beachfront south tower...view is well worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for you review of the Lido Beach Resort. I can certainly understand your comments regarding a renovation. Those plans are in the works. The internet has just been upgraded and updated and should work flawlessly now. Thank you again for your review and your business. Both are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    277
    144
    74
    32
See reviews for
266
334
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

THE GOOD: Great location to the beach on the gulf, and restaurants and bars on property (they do close early). I had a two bedroom suite which was large in size.

THE BAD: The room was dirty and we were created by a red solo cup on our balcony stuffed with old cigarettes. The room had wood rot and other areas of damage and repairs.

THE UGLY: The hotel is need of a renovations and a change of management staff. The rooms both the tower and the main 4 floor part of the hotel need repair and deep, deep cleaning. The tile was cracked in several areas and felt loose. The grout was falling apart and the filth in the grout was unacceptable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry you experienced some issues that you certainly should not have experienced. Some of the items you mentioned will be addressed in an upcoming renovation, however, there is no excuse for some others. I appreciate your feedback very much and will certainly work to address all of the items you shared. I hope you will provide us another opportunity in the future to win your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This resort is awesome. I went with my wife and stayed for two nights. Got a beach view room for first night. What an experience. Clean water on the beach with white sand. My wife just loved the scenic view. They charge $15 for an Umbrella which i believe is too much but its ok for such a nice place. Bar is pretty good around the pool area. There restaurant on the 8th floor offers some really good options. Staff is very friendly. Beach area was very clean. Overall, I would recommend this place if you are couple and looking for a nice lovely resort to have a good time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with your wife. I appreciate your feedback very much and look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I gave this resort a 5 because of its pool and its beach! The rooms are, "okay," needing some minor upgrading (facelifts), but otherwise well worth the price. Certainly not a Ritz but with the pool and the beach, the Ritz in Sarasota cannot compare.

We stayed in room 9006, it's on the corner, overlooking the pool and the ocean. A coin laundry was two-doors down, and the ice-maker around the hall. Great location.

We went with a large group of families, all with kids. Very, very kid friendly, not "stuffy," at all! The outside Tiki Bar was well-equipped, prices were average, and they had the World Cup on (a major plus in my book)! Ping pong tables, plenty of towels, and even an outside covered patio area overlooking a pond with plush lounge chairs, sleepers and sofas! We had a group pizza party and brought our own music, pizza and alcohol! The hotel staff was very accommodating.

The food is average, like most food places in Sarasota. Do not expect any 5-star dining experience. Stay with the burgers and fries. Breakfast was so-so, at best. But the service was good.

The $25 daily resort fee covered A LOT! Like:

FREE Parking and in an underground garage which helps avoid your car baking in the sun!

FREE shuttle service to the circle was a very nice touch.

Free Daily newspaper, including Sunday!

Wifi and 2 large water bottles in your room, DAILY!

Well worth the bang for your buck!

This is a must stay!

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms suites overlook the pool and the ocean, and are on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you and your family enjoyed the hotel and the amenities we offer. We certainly look forward to having you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ware hertfordshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This place was totally amazing. We stayed on the 10th floor and had amazing views of both the coastal and gulf area. Amazing watching storms . The staff location and food here is great. The tiki bar staff are friendly and both the cafe and grille waiters an waitresses are excellent. Only one moan. Our room maid was not very good........having to ask for replacement toilet roll was a 1st. Beach not very clean but no one's fault. Highly recommend. Would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: We had a room in the tower. High floor. With a balcony. Can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the items you mentioned not up to our standards. I will certainly use your feedback to improve our level of service. We look forward to seeing you "tomorrow"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Nice rooms very clean, with small kitchen and fridge/freezer. Great beach with good sun lounges but there is a $15 charge for an umbrella, beach staff were very helpful and friendly. Two pools one adult only but little shade. Nice bar staff , happy hour Monday to Thursday and food served was good quality. Reception staff were great as was all the staff and rooms kept very clean. There was a free shuttle to the circle but it was also a nice walk in the cool of the evening. We extended our stay as we were so comfortable and would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay enough to extend your time. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had a family emergency and needed to cancel my reservation. I was one hour past the 48 hour cancellation policy time (which is excessive to begin with), and they refused to cancel, saying their system wouldn't allow it (which of course is ridiculous). More than that, they could not have been ruder or obnoxious. They kept talking about "hotels of our caliber." Do yourself a favor: don't risk getting involved with these people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments about the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry you experienced less than acceptable service. If I am not mistaken, we have addressed your concern appropriately. If I am not correct, please contact me directly to discuss. I want to make things right for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.