We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Came here for a meeting, and Lido beach is lovely. The hotel supplies beach towels and I treasured my morning swims. We also had a very pleasant conference dinner there. My one caveat is that many rooms do not have windows that open, which could be nice if you want to avoid humidity, but I go to Florida for the tropical air. They moved me, very promptly, and all the service was friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Ask about windows that open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you were able to take advantage of our location while attending your meetings. Hopefully you will return for some rest and relaxation with no meetings to tie you down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    290
    151
    77
    39
See reviews for
275
350
16
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

A very 3 star experience for 400 a night. Drinks at the bar were 16$ each...we went on a cruise the next day and the same drink was 7$ each to put that into perspective. They didn't clean the room until 3 the next day and the bartender at the pool bar was very rude after I hade to ask for another lemonade due to floating things in the first one. Nothing crazy, but unacceptable at 400 a night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry your stay was not the most enjoyable one. There is certainly no excuse for any staff to be rude. I will be sure to use your review with our team to continue to improve our level of service. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was a regular at Lido Beach Resort and always recommended to co-workers and friends.
It was the only hotel we would consider when wanting a beach getaway, but as expressed in the mailed and faxed letter to management, this resort now seems neglected.
We usually would order room service and the service was acceptable, our favorite was breakfast , chocolate chip pancakes. The room service is now slow and the quality of food has declined greatly. When we called to report a cold breakfast and dinner, we were ignored.
There was a constant flushing sound coming from the toilet that was never repaired,
The staff controlling the towels was extremely rude and customer service as a whole had gone from mediocre, to terrible. The check in was rude, not so much as a smile form the lady checking us in. The rug in the room was old and smelly. Needless to say, I have never been back since our last stay.
I see that some of the comments here have been addressed; however my letter was never answered , nor did we ever receive an apology for the lack of customer service. My letter was not rude or condescending for it to remain unaddressed, so the fact that management is answering the complaints here, is an indication that they are only doing it for 'show'.
Shame on the management of Lido Beach that ignores previously loyal customers.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the South Tower, they are newer and the have tile flooring, which helps with stagna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the Lido Beach Resort. I can assure you, the answers to tripadvisor posts are not "for show". I take our customers feedback very seriously. I do not recall receiving any letters or faxes that I have not responded to in a timely manner. I apologize that yours has been overlooked. I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally to address any and all concerns you have and hopefully convince you to give us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Please feel free to call me directly. I look forward to speaking with you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Lido Beach Resort was a nice Anniversary trip to the beach. The facility is right on the beach with plenty of sand and sea. The outdoor bar was basic, but the drinks and the staff were very good ( we understand that a new pool side bar is in the works). There are two pools and were well used by the guests (I think the wedding attendees were from up north).

The building we stayed in was rather dated somewhat like an older Holiday Inn. The room was clean had a kitchenette and table. There is also a high rise section that appeared to be more up to date.

There was a large wedding going on and we were fortunate to get the last available room when we booked it online. The staff were very professional and helpful. The breakfast was very good and reasonable. The shuttle to St. Armon's Circle was very convenience and ran about every 15 minutes.

Overall, we were very pleased and would think of returning again.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer high rise building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of the Lido Beach Resort. The summer can certainly be very busy when trying to book. I am glad you were able to stay with us and hopefully return again in the future very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Its a very nice hotel!! great location! Love the fact that they have complimentary shuttle bus to take you to St.Aramad circle....but thats what you pay for!!! By the time we were done the bill was much more than i expected. Resort fees,taxes on resort fees etc.. This place is over 200$ a night..ouch! Resort fee?? um okay whatever! I've been to a RESORT ,try Sandals Resorts. Now that I dont mind paying. But no spa offer, swanky room service then you can forget a resort fee. All in all - nice place,great location,beautiful beach but the price is outragous!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. I am sorry you did not feel you received the value for the price you paid. The hotel will have some special offers coming very soon through the end of the year. I recommend checking out our facebook page and our web site and keep an eye out for those specials. We would love to have you come back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in the hotel while fishing in early July. Rooms are somewhat dated but comfortable. Good location for walking to St. Armand's circle. Great views from the balcony.

Good beach for swimming witht the kids. Two pools - one for kids and one for adults. Plenty of parking.

Pretty good tiki bar next to the pool and beach. Gets somewhat crowded and could do with more staffing for quicker service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. We are working on renovation plans and hope to be sharing those very soon. I appreciate your feedback on the tiki bar as well. There are some changes in the works for this area too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms and beds are comfortable. You're right on the beach and walking distance to St Armand's. the best of all worlds right here. The pool is great and you can choose between the adult or family pools. The tiki bar staff is always amazing. It's nice to see the same faces each time we come back for a visit. Bravo Lido Resort, y'all have it down!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and your continued patronage of the Lido Beach Resort. I may be a little biased but certainly agree, we are the best hotel on Lido! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.