We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Convenient to St. Armand's Circle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Location - Convenient to St. Armand's Circle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed in the hotel while fishing in early July. Rooms are somewhat dated but comfortable. Good location for walking to St. Armand's circle. Great views from the balcony.

Good beach for swimming witht the kids. Two pools - one for kids and one for adults. Plenty of parking.

Pretty good tiki bar next to the pool and beach. Gets somewhat crowded and could do with more staffing for quicker service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. We are working on renovation plans and hope to be sharing those very soon. I appreciate your feedback on the tiki bar as well. There are some changes in the works for this area too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    319
    168
    90
    49
See reviews for
316
397
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Clean rooms and beds are comfortable. You're right on the beach and walking distance to St Armand's. the best of all worlds right here. The pool is great and you can choose between the adult or family pools. The tiki bar staff is always amazing. It's nice to see the same faces each time we come back for a visit. Bravo Lido Resort, y'all have it down!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and your continued patronage of the Lido Beach Resort. I may be a little biased but certainly agree, we are the best hotel on Lido! We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location with easy access to pool, beach and walking distance to Saint Armands Circle. Friendly staff with all the amenities you would ever need without being upscale. $25 cab ride to/from airport, even on busy beach/weekend day. Nice, newer bar with ocean views in the newer tower.

Room Tip: Stay in the new tower if you can - Oceanside if in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you found our staff to be friendly and you enjoyed the location/views. We look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We checked into the 4 story building. The staircases in public parking garages are nicer than the ones leading to the rooms. Batthrooms are filthy, old, moldy. Rooms are 2 star motel at best. Our kitchen table almost falls apart, Shocking! At the pool the guitarist is playing too loud, impossible to have a normal conversation. Pool crowd has many tattoos and piercings (usually inversly related to intelligence) and is drinking non-stop. Maybe this has to do with the boat races tomorrow which usually attract a honky-tonk crowd, but i doubt. If you want a nice relaxing resort with a crowd with a minimum level of style this is NOT your place. Extremely expensive for what you get. It's a pitty, because the location is fantastic and the staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding the Lido Beach Resort. Boat race weekend is the one weekend of the year that is very abnormal for the hotel. There are very large crowds on the beach for this event. I am sorry you were not made aware of this when booking. Hopefully, you will return on another weekend and truly experience what the Lido Beach Resort has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Do not trust the rate they quote you over the phone. This place piles on the junk fees. The following is a true accounting of my invoice for one night-
Room rate $215.00
Tax on room: $15.05
Occupancy Tax! $10.75
Resort Fee! $20.00
Sales tax on resort fee $1.40
Another occupancy tax resort fee $1.00
A total of $48.20 PER NIGHT IN TAXES AND JUNK FEES! The rooms are "ok" nothing special. The only thing this place has going for it is the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry if you feel you were deceived in regards to the billing. The hotel strives to provide every guest with a full account of the charges that will be incurred when booking over the phone, on-line, in person, or other avenue. We are required to collect all taxes you have mentioned payable to the appropriate governement agencies. The rate and resort fee are the two things we control and provide information on when booking. My hope is you enjoyed your stay and the amenities the hotel offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Lido Beach Resort for 4 days and enjoyed our stay. The view from our room (1006 in the tower) was very nice. The room was clean (although showed a few signs of wear on the bathroom floor/shower- to be expected) and the beds were comfortable. Room service was very prompt. Food was very good. Housekeeping was great. Parking was easy. Check In/out was easy. Staff was friendly. The only things we didn't like were that the noise from the pool during the day was a bit much although when we closed our patio doors, you couldn't hear anything...we were just hoping to enjoy more of the sounds of the gulf, rather than the patrons at the pool/bar. The pools are nice but the family pool gets dirty if you don't get your swim in before noon. It does appear to be cleaned every day but by noon, it was looking a little icky. Our family opted for the beach instead of the pool for this reason. The adult only pool though gets much less use and looked great. The first 3 days, the beach umbrella service was very prompt but the last day, we had to wait 20 minutes for our umbrella to be put up and we had to get our own chairs because there was only 1 person doing all of the umbrella/cabana put-ups. We also didn't know where to get beach towels the first day we were there (maybe more instructions on where things are at check-in would be better) and found them on our own the second day (you have to sign them in and out). The only other negative was because the floors are tile, we could hear the people above us pushing in/pulling out their chairs on the tile floor (which they did quite a lot for some reason while we were trying to get to sleep)....would be nice to have the dining area carpeted to quiet that noise. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the tower facing the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your very thorough review of the Lido Beach Resort. Your comments are very helpful to us as I'm sure future travelers coming here. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate the feedback you have provided!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I can not recommend the older half of the resort, the newer addition seemed very nice. Our room had a broken lamp. Who leaves a large broken floor lamp in a room, placed right by the front door where a guest can bump into it as they enter a dark room at night? Lido Beach Resort apparently. Those pranksters! Then brown toilet water from the unit above us leaked down through the ceiling and into our bathroom. When I spoke to the manager about this her response was, "Well, some things are out of our control." hmmmm, again what a great sense of humor these folks have.

The elevator in the older wing was described to us by one weary couple as "the world's slowest elevator" -- and they weren't kidding please set aside 20 to 30 minutes of your life and give it a ride. plus, budget an extra $20 bucks for your stay because that's what Lido will charge you for a bottle water and a small bag of microwave popcorn.

I think everyone who works at Lido knows that the old wing of the resort is in desperate need of repair but they are too busy charging their suckers, er, guests nearly two hundred dollars a night to stay in those rooms.

Room Tip: ask to stay in the new addition do NOT let them talk you into staying in the older wing, even if it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. I am truly sorry you did not have an enjoyable visit with us. The hotel is working diligently on renovation plans to address many if not all of the issues you experienced. Again, please accept my most sincere apologies. I would love to talk at more length with you. Please feel free to contact me directly. I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.