We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Annual Visit to Lido Beach Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Longwood, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“3rd Annual Visit to Lido Beach Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have been coming to the Lido Beach Resort every June for the past 3 years. My wife and I come to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We also travel with another couple who are good friends whose anniversary is the day before ours (they were married 1 day before us).

We love the location of the Lido Beach Resort (LBR). The beach is wonderful, the pool area is good and the food is also good. The rooms are a little dated and somewhat rundown in terms of decoration but it doesn't bother us too much since we are only in the rooms to sleep.

One issue that we had this year that we did not have in previous years had to do with the Adult Pool. LBR has 2 pools, one for families and one that is adult only. There are signs that you can't miss when you enter the pool area that say, "You must be 18 or older to enter this area". That is fine and actually one of the reasons we have kept coming back was the access to an adult only section. Well during our 4 days there, there were multiple occasions where people with small children, just ignored the signs and made themselves at home in the adult area. On the first day we were there, we complained to the front desk 3 times (twice by walking to the front desk and once by calling on the phone) before there was any response from management. If you don't want to enforce the adult-only section, then take the signs down but don't ignore your customers and don't make the customers be the enforcers...This issue is why I marked this stay as "Average" as opposed to "Very Good".

Anyway, we still had a wonderful time. However if the adult pool issue is not actively enforced, we will not be back to LBR in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and your continued patronage of the Lido Beach Resort. We appreciate you coming back year after year. I am sorry you found the rules of the pool were not being enforced. I will certainly share your comments with the appropriate department to ensure we are actively enforcing our rules so all guests may enjoy our facilities. I am hopeful I get to meet you on your next stay with us! I enjoy meeting our many return guests year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    285
    148
    76
    35
See reviews for
272
346
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

You can't beat this place for location: on the beach, two pools, shuttle to restaurants. But the service is really bad in some respects, especially housekeeping. The long weekend I was there they did not change our sheets, even when I called to complain and they said they'd do it, they did not. Repeated phone calls had no effect. It was really gross. Breakfast is to be avoided (bad food, bad service). The outdoor bar and pool staff, on the other hand, were terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I can certainly understand your disappointment after reading your comments. I am very sorry we missed the mark in some areas during your stay. I will certainly use your review and share it with our team so we may continue to improve our level of service. Thank you again for your comments, they are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What can I say. It all starts with the staff and management. There is friendly, then there is Lido Beach Resort friendly. The hotel manager, Tim, took the time out of his busy schedule on two separate occasions to help me feel welcome, and to educate me on the local fishing environment. "Hold on" he said, "let me show you around". My mouth almost hit the floor. After showing me a couple good fishing locale's on there magnificent beach front, he even helped me improve my knot tying! Then, the look....they have it. In between hotel buildings and activities you're walking through beautiful gazebo's and walkways that stretch over there "compound" which makes you feel like you're in a different country...not miles away from Sarasota. Two thumbs WAY up. I'll be back and I'll bring friends.

Room Tip: South tower views are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the Lido Beach Resort. Tim is certainly an asset to our organization! I am very pleased Tim was able to go above and beyond to make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you and your friends in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Literally just back from our trip. I was a little hesitant as we were staying at the "main building" with all the previous negative reviews. No worries needed - it was beautiful! We were at a 2nd floor beachfront kitchenette double. Everything clean, nice, spectacular views. Staff was awesome - thumbs up to Manny on the beach who took a shovel and dug a hole for my beach umbrella :)
Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of the Lido Beach Resort and for recognizing one of our many outstanding employees. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just held a national UN Women conference at the Lido Beach Resort. The location is just lovely, as is the resort. We were well accommodated for our conference at the top floor. The room was spacious, but I believe we had to turn people away as it was smaller than the number of guests we anticipated. The morning continental breakfast was great, and the lunch was delicious, but just adequate. Noise for the meals was a bit distracting, but that is to be expected. Overall, the space was very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. We agree, this is a great place for a conference. I hope your meetings were productive and you were able to enjoy some "down time" as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay! We have been loyal returning guests for 15 years+. Love the upper floor South Tower suites, 2 Heated Pools and Jacuzzis, Tiki Bar, in room WI-FI and let me not forget the "beautiful Beach"! On your early morning walk you can still find some great shells. Shopping and restaurants in St. Armand's Circle are just a short walk or shuttle away! The Lido Beach Grille restaurant and Cafe Lido will accommodate most appetites with a modern continental cuisine specializing in a variety of fresh seafood!! Sunset Lounge is available for after-dinner drinks, conversation and a wonderful view! We have been thru Hurricanes, several tropical storms and the accommodating Staff at Lido Beach Resort have always been "right on" to make or stay comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your years of continued patronage and your recent review of the Lido Beach Resort! We are so fortunate to enjoy many returning guests such as you year after year. Thank you for kind words and we look forward to your returning again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Lovely hotel on the beach, with two pools, one just for adults, and entertainment by the pool. Nice bar and food is good. Also has two restaurants - very good breakfast. Close to St. Armand's circle for shopping/restaurants, and 5 minute drive into Sarasota.

Room Tip: Higher rooms nice with balcony overlooking beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am more than happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the location. Hopefully you can return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.