We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality hotel right on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great quality hotel right on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We wanted a quick get away vacation over the school break and wanted a hotel that was on the beach and offered services that were all inclusive. We were very pleased with the accommodations. Although we were very disappointed in their false advertising about breakfast being included each day, the location and hotel rooms were good. Our suite looked right out to the ocean and the room location was excellent. The staff seemed very accommodating, some were a bit rude and not as friendly as we would have expected. The hotel restaurant really surprised us and the food was superb. Our waiter was excellent and went out of his way to please us and for that we were appreciative. My only complaint was informing us that breakfast was included and learned that it was not! We would consider coming back when in the area again.

Room Tip: Room 244 is right over the pool with a perfect view of the ocean and hearing the waves was relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I apologize for any confusion regarding your reservation and inclusives. We certainly offer some rates/packages that do include breakfast. I would be more than happy to review your specific reservation to see what happened. Please feel free to contact me directly. I look forward to speaking with you and identifying the issues. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    286
    148
    76
    35
See reviews for
272
346
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Four of us local ladies staying in a junior suite last night to celebrate a birthday. Awesome view of the beach off our balcony. Suite was clean and well equipped. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. They allowed us to check in a little early. At the beach we were the last to leave and the beach manager cheerfully let us keep the beach umbrella right up to sunset. The desk clerks were very polite and attentive and when we called down with a question, they handled it effectively. Won't hesitate to recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort and happy birthday to the member of your party celebrating. I appreciate you recognizing our staff. I believe we have the best staff in all of Florida. We certainly will appreciate your recommendations to friends as well. Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you do go here stay in the south tower overall its a nice pace but have seen the place get a little run down over the last five yrs or so . Great place on the beach but the older building needs updated very badly. Also there are people that use the place and were not even staying in the resort. There were people smoking while in the pool very nasty had to keep telling front desk about it . Overall had a good stay been going to sarasota for many yrs . Also have to watch out for the luv bugs late april early may they can ruin your trip

Room Tip: if you do go stay in the south tower it will cost you alot more but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. We are working diligently on renovation plans for the near future. I look forward to sharing those plans as soon as they have been finalized. Thank you for your continued business over the years. We look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Location is great but like every other review says stay in the tower. We did not and you should pay less for older building. On the positive, Susan from the concierge desk was amazing. Everything she recommended was perfect from kayak trip to all the restaurants.... and more. Dan from the bar was great also. Location was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am positive Susan and Dan will be thrilled you recognized them as well. I will be sure to share your review with them. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We are a road trip with my husband and daughter from central New York to Florida. We didn't make any pre planned hotel reservations. The night manager Brenda was so accommodating and helpful. She arranged for a beautiful ocean suite suite a excellent rate. For us central New Yorkers whom had a extra long snowy winter what a blessing to find such a beautiful resort with such caring people. Thank you and gold bless

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am glad to hear you were able to escape the cold weather in New York and enjoy our resort. I hope you will think of us again when your travel plans include Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at this property several years ago. We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay, so we booked again. However, it appears that there are two distinct areas of this resort--the newer tower where we stayed last time and the older 4-story building where we stayed this time. It was like staying in a different hotel.

The room was in serious need of updating, showing its age and wear in every respect. The bed was worn and the sheets needed to be pitched Upon arrival, we found hair and a used Band-Aid in the bed. The air conditioning sounded like an old car in need of a tune-up when it ran. And I could go on.

I could have lived with all this if the place had been priced accordingly. However, we paid more for this dismal beachfront accommodation than we have paid for a much nicer room at the Hilton in Midtown Manhattan--not exactly a low-rent neighborhood. This room would not even compare favorably to the most basic one at a backwoods Hampton Inn.

Yes, the location was lovely, the public spaces were well-maintained and the staff were helpful. However, our room at the Lido Beach Resort was not a good value for the money and that colored everything. We won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay at this property, rent in the tower. Don't stay in the 4-story build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. The hotel is working on plans to renovate very soon. That being said, I am very sorry your room was not clean as it certainly should be. I will use your comments to continue to improve our service. I am hopeful you will give us another opportunity to earn your business in the future. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are family of five. Two boys, 7 and 5, and baby girl . We have chosen Lido Beach Resort for our spring break getaway because its location to the beach and kitchenette in the room. We were not disappointed. It is perfect location to the beach , shopping circle and other activities in town. The room was older but clean . Unfortunately we were not able to see sunset from our room because our windows were faced the inside court.

Room Tip: 234 room does not have beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased to hear you and your family had an enjoyable time. We certainly look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.