We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, we would go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lido Beach Resort to your Saves list
Lido Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Angola, Indiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good, we would go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location is fabulous, right on Lido Beach. Right next door is a public beach front park, providing a wide open view to the north. The fact that it is public is no bother. Two great pools and 2 or more hot tubs. The building is older, but has been remodeled nicely. The bathroom was quite small, although the tub had been replaced with a very nice, sizable walk-in shower with no door or curtain. Nice. You can walk for miles up and down the beach. We had manatee go by close enough to touch. We saw dolphin daily, including three that put on a jumping show worthy of Sea World (one day). We would go back.

Room Tip: North side, as close to the beach as possible. There are a few beachfront rooms, which are very pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear the resident wildlife put on a display as well and you were able to be a witness. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    308
    163
    87
    43
See reviews for
302
377
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was very excited about going on a "get away weekend" to the Lido. The website makes the place look good, but our room was not great. The floor tiles in the bathroom were cracked and moved when you walked on them...I thought by the end of my stay my foot was going to go through the floor. Talking to the front desk I got canned "I'm sorry and excuses and that they were in the "process" of remodeling." They never even offered to discount the room or put us in a different room. Don't book the room if it is not in good shape. Most hotels, even motels have hair dryers, locking safes and entry door keys that work flawlessly. The entire staff seemed mundane...bored. I'm on vacation and want to feel welcome and that I'm getting my moneys worth. Tiki bar staff - boring - and we had to go to the bar to request a waitress, and we weren't the only ones looking for wait staff. Tiki bar musicians took more breaks than they played. Saw them Friday for about 15 minutes, no entertainment on Saturday or Sunday. And you didn't even turn on the music that comes through the rock speakers. Drink prices are high; service is poor. The whole place is run down. Even in the covered lounge area (with sofas and chairs)...the seat cushions were actually dirty gray. I've had cleaner, more updated rooms at LaQuinta. We plan on coming to Sarasota again, but not planning on staying at the Lido. Notice that when these messages are replied to they all start out with the same "canned" verbiage. No true concern for the $$$ paying customer...but they still want you to come back. Nope...Hyatt, Holiday Inn any other place, but not the Lido.

Room Tip: Go to a different "Resort".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. I can certainly understand your disappointment after reading about your experience. I am very sorry you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay. I am also very sorry you feel our responses are "canned" and there is no concern for our guests. We take our guests enjoyment of the hotel very seriously. It is through comments such as yours we can continue to improve our service and quality. I would be more than happy to discuss your situation personally and try to resolve the issues you experienced. Please feel free to contact me directly at your convenience. I look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We love staying here. The price is cheaper than other resorts around. We love the 18-plus pool. We appreciate that a lot! Service is nice, rooms are nice, pool and beach are great. Definitely check it out! We are so happy we found it!

Room Tip: Ask for a top room floor for better views. I don't recommend eating in the cafe downstairs-not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. We very much appreciate your review and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great place. Arrived to small lobby staffed by very friendly employees. All were helpful in suggesting nearby restaurants and things to do. Location is perfect--just a mile from St. Armands which is loaded with good restaurants, shopping, etc. Free shuttle too! But we walked due to nive weather and proximity. The beach is wonderful. Had a meeting to attend at hotel and that went very well--very helpful staff. Good food, nice bar. Will definitly return!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will return in the future. We look forward to your return which hopefully, will be very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Im a little torn on how to rate this place. We dont normally vacation in commercialized areas like this prefering a lot more slolitude. My nephew was married in Sarasota recently and we all chose to stay at Lido Beach for the proximity to St. Armands and the wedding.

We had a great time. The pools have plenty of chairs and frankly this is one of the better places in the area to have a nice resort style pool and a good beach.

The beach is wide with good shelling and very representative of gulf coast beaches from the Tampa/St Pete area all the way down to Marco.

Hotel facilities are really very nice. Our wedding party did not have anything scheduled at Lido but we were at the bar up on the 8th floor several nights with some other wedding parties and it is a very convenient and nice place to go. Again, St. Armands is very close also with places like Tommy Bahama and Columbia.

Rooms - it was nice with our family of 5 to have a kitchenette and two bathroom suite. Rooms were a bit worn but overall OK for the area. I.e. rust stains on grout, paint worn off refridgerator, and overall looked like they all could benefit from a deep cleaning and repainting but overall OK. Typical of what I expect in Florida.

Did not eat at the hotel due to other wedding functions. Visited Micheals on East, Salty Dog on Longboat, and Owens Fish Camp in Sarasota - Highly recommend all if you are in the area.

Given the price of this resort, this is frankly why we have been vacationing in Mexico. Prices are less for an all inclusive resort with much nicer beaches and rooms in MX.

We had a great time though on a 4 day weekend. For where you are going (Lido/Longboat/St.Aramands) this place is one of the better options.d

I have to say the service here was excellent whenever we needed anything from housekeeping and frankly the beds were really comfortable.

If you go to this area, two things to try are the Kayak tour from South Lido with Almost Heaven Kayak adventures, and Mote Marine Institute.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed review of the Lido Beach Resort. I appreciate your feedback and will certainly use it to address some of the items you mentioned. I am hopeful you will return in the future and see the changes we are working on to continue to improve our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here with 3 other friends. We were in town for the Life's A Beach Slacker Triathlon (such a fun race!!). The room was clean, had a kitchenette inside, and the hotel was right on the beach. They offer a free shuttle to St. Armand's Circle until 10:30pm. I would definitely stay in this hotel again next time I visit Sarasota.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and will return. I hope you did well in the race and had fun competing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Enjoyed the two nights we stayed here. I highly recommend the place for the view, the beaches, and the city as well. We stayed in a two queen suite facing the water in the tower. The location is very laid back and gorgeous compared to some places I have stayed along the beach.

We did not get chance to go to St Armands Circle because of the race; however, we did go into Sarasota to enjoy food shopping at Morton's Gourmet Market and Bistro 62 for French dining. Mote Aquarium was very enjoyable and allows you to get up close to see sea turtles, manatees, and other marine life.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I hope you performed well in the race and will return in the future to enjoy some of the other venues in and around Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lido Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.