We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisters spending time together” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sisters spending time together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I love the Sarasota area, so many things to do and see. This is the first time I stayed at this hotel. I've seen it several times, so I decided to treat my sister and spring for the room. The staff was very friendly, and helpful, all the way from the guys who do the valet parking to the front desk, to the lobby bar area. After spending the day downtown, we went back to our hotel room, and realized the toilet was not working properly. I called the front desk, and they sent someone up immediatly to fix the problem. The maintenance man was great, super polite, had a great sense of humor, and was able to fix the problem. The hotel has a turn down service, and the lady came to the room, asking if we needed "turn down", we didn't but she still gave us the chocolate! That made us chuckle. My sister and I went down to the bar, had a drink and some munchies. The bartender was very personable, very attentive, friendly, and did not forget us, as we were sitting away from the actual bar, in the lounge area.

The room was very nice, we were on the north side of the hotel, higher up (which of course cost more money). The bathroom door was so close to the toilet, not very much room at all, tiny bathoom.

Their is a $15.00 "resort" fee, which EVERYONE is charged, the hotel said it is for the in room internet/WiFi and the 2 bottles of small bottled water. I did not use the in room WiFi nor did I drink the bottled water, yet I still was charged the $15.00. There are so many other hotels in the area that do not charge for this, as they have free WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for the feedback on your recent stay. We strive to create memorable experiences for each of our guests and we couldn't be happier to hear that our team took such good care of you during you visit. There are a wide variety of inclusions with the new Resort Fee program, so we were sorry to hear that it was not explained better as you may have been able to enjoy some of the other included activities and features of the hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and please let us know if we will ever have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hyatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    325
    121
    53
    24
See reviews for
173
323
41
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helen, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding so received a better than normal price but still more than we usually spend. All personnel are very courteous and friendly. Room was nice with small couch in the window area plus comfortable chair. Sink was in separate area from the bathroom which made easy access. The toilet was in with the tub and that area was very tight. Had to close the door before you could even sit on the toilet things were so tight.
Internet is either part of a $15 resort fee which we did not have due to wedding block so would have had to pay $9.95 per day for internet. It was free in the lobby. These days of mobile devices makes that seem an excessive cost either way so we went to the lobby when needed.
Food was not included in our room cost so we went out for breakfast. A bowl of oatmeal was $9.00 so we decided to walk across to Toasted Mango and get a breakfast for about the same cost.

Room Tip: South side you have pool and marina view. We had north side with view of the bay. All rooms seemed...
See more room tips
Green Features: You can retain towels and sheets for several days. That does not work well when they have no place to hang them to dry out.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We hope that the wedding was nice and that you enjoyed your time in Sarasota. With our new Resort Fee program, high speed internet is included, but it sounds as if the group package you had may have had a different structure. We will try to communicate connectivity options better in the future, because as you mentioned, in this day and age it is so important to have reliable and fast internet connections. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was a great place to stay...good food, great rooms and the staff went over and beyond. The location was perfect...close to shopping, beaches, attractions and great restaurants. We had a nice room with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay! We strive to exceed our guest expectations in every aspect and are so happy to hear that your experience was such a positive one. With all that the Sarasota area has to offer, our location provides a central point to get out and explore! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Pool is perfect, service was as expected and room was quite comfortable. The location near the heart of downtown Sarasota is wonderful offering views of both the city and the water. The rooms are spacious but not all have a balcony. Great stay for off-season and nice amenities. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Breakfast buffet featured local and organic foods. Was very good even late when we got to it, but pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that your experiences were so positive and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hyatt should your travel plans bring you back to the Sarasota area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at the property in May 2014 on business. While the hotel was "good enough" - it wasn't up to the Hyatt standards I am used to. I suppose my opinion could have been colored by the fact that I had just stayed at the Hyatt Coconut Point - a fabulous property.

Pros - good location, pretty pool area, adequate self-parking, and mini-frig in room
Cons - room had very odd odor, not enough plugs for electronics (no USB), small bathroom, terrible first floor location with balcony directly on top of asphalt roof.

Would I stay here again? Only during low season - this property would never justify a high season rate in my book.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor - mine overlooked an asphalt roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear we fell short of your expectations regarding the Hyatt standards that we strive to adhere to. We have also reviewed your comments with our housekeeping staff to ensure the room you stayed in goes through a deep clean process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were staying at this hotel for a long weekend with family and friends to go to a wedding in Sarasota. It is a great hotel. It is clean. The pool is great. The hotel provides kayaks and stand up paddle board as well. It was great to spend days at the hotel with all the activities we could do. The pool area is nice.
The food there is great. We ordered food from the pool area and from the restaurant. It was good.

The service is good...except they have less staffs at the pool area. Have to go to the bar in order to order food and drinks...or sometimes we need help on the beach umbrella at the pool area, we couldn't find anyone there to help us. Water provided in the room, housekeeping provided only one bottle per day...which is not enough. Asking for a first aid kit and we were told that they weren't allowed to give it to us. Other than that, overall is good.

Room Tip: Water/pool view. Higher floor for the nice view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay and the feedback on your experiences. It sounds as if you had an opportunity to enjoy a lot of our hotel amenities while you were here. We are really happy to hear about your positive food & beverage experiences here, aside from the service difficulties you experienced out at our pool. We are reviewing your comments with our guest services team as your experience is certainly not the norm around here. We are also following up with our Housekeeping team as the new Resort Fee program includes two bottles of water in your room daily, so again our apologies that this was your experience. Thank you again and please come back to stay with us here at the Hyatt should your plans bring you back to Sarasota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is first class. The rooms are top rate, it is on the water, and the view from my window overlooked a marina. At night, I could look at the lights of Sarasota to the left and the Gulf of Mexico to the right. It is centrally located, and quality restaurants are a short drive or walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay here with us in Sarasota. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as much as you did and we look forward to possibly welcoming you back to the Hyatt during your next visit to the area. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#10 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.