We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Hyatt. I agree with other reviewers the staff went above and beyond to be helpful. At first I was a little irritated that we had to pay an activity fee, but it is worth it if you are going to be there for a few days. We took out the paddle boat as well as the kayakes. It was a perfect morning to spend in the bay. The hotel over all could still use a little updating. The carpet in the hallways and rooms seem a little tattered, but not too bad.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor with a view of the marina. The room was good sized with a deck just barel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear that you were able to maximize the value of our new Resort Fee Program and enjoy some of the many benefits added with this new initiative. Our waterfront location allows for easy & convenient access to the bay on our Kayaks, Pedal Boats or Paddle Boards so it is always nice to hear that the new enhancements are being put to good use by our guests. With a constant maintenance program in place, things like our guestroom corridor carpeting will be up for replacement soon. We just completed a guest room carpeting replacement and will be upgrading the TVs in the rooms shortly. We look forward to the opportunity to showcase recent and upcoming renovations should your travel plans bring you back to the Sarasota area in the future. Thank you again for your review and the kind words regarding our wonderful associates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    314
    118
    52
    24
See reviews for
165
317
41
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Hill, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My sister got married at the Hyatt Regency Sarasota on May 31 and it was fantastic. We stayed here 2 nights and don't really have any complaints. The wedding service and reception were handled perfectly by the staff. We literally had to change the location of the service due to weather 25 mins before the start of it. Everything was handled by the staff and got things set up quickly. As for the hotel itself, the pool was great (grab a Category 5 from the pool bar! Your welcome). I had a BLT at the lobby bar and it was delicious. One really cool thing was the resort fee was optional. If u wanted go use the wifi and water activities you can pay the fee, otherwise u don't get charged

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Thank you also for selecting Hyatt to host your family's very special event! We were glad to hear that our staff was quick and responsive when it came to the last minute weather change. We are also glad that you had an opportunity to try one of our awesome signature cocktails out at the Hurricane Hut! The Category 5 is indeed awesome...remember, limit of 1 per guest! Thank you again and please let us know if we can host any of your future stays in the Sarasota area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was here for my nephew's wedding this past weekend. This property is well-located with a lovely view of the marina from my side of the building. I didn't go to the beach, but it is very close-by. I DID, however, go to my favorite shopping area, St. Armand's Circle, which was really convenient. I had a rental car, but the Hyatt has a scheduled shuttle to the beach, St. Armand's, and downtown. The wedding was planned outdoors, but when it threatened rain just 15 minutes before the ceremony, we were moved safely inside. It was impressive how quickly the staff relocated the entire wedding! It was only minutes late in starting. After I checked out on Sunday, I realized that I was missing an earring. I spoke with Dustin, the Housekeeping Supervisor, who promptly went to my vacated room, checked it thoroughly (fortunately, it had not yet been cleaned for the next guest), and reported back quickly that he didn't find my earring, but he did find my necklace. I didn't even realize my necklace was missing! He offered to either hold it for pick up, or they would mail it to me. He also checked the Ballroom, the hallway and the parking lot where I could have lost the earring. I was very pleased with the prompt and personal service provided by Dustin in particular, but everyone at that property was very friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend the Hyatt Regency in Sarasota.

Room Tip: I was on the west side of the building and enjoyed a view of the pool and the marina below. The oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad that you had an opportunity to stay with us during the recent special occasion for your family. With the unpredictable summertime weather, we have to stay on our toes and we are happy to hear the banquet team was quick and efficient when it came time to make a last minute adjustment. Dustin is fantastic and we are thrilled to hear that he took the time to help locate your missing item after your departure and even located an item that you didn't realize was missing. We will be sure to pass along your appreciation! Thank you again and please let us know if your travel plans ever bring you back to the Sarasota area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Lovely Hotel with good facilities.. Great location.
Staff were excellent.
Only down side was that we were given a room that had an interconnecting door with another room and we had very loud neighbours! However when I mentioned this to the front desk they were fantastic and didn't put anyone in that room for the rest of our stay. Would go back tomorrow if I could.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay. We were sorry to hear about the neighbors you encountered initially, but glad to hear that our Front Desk team was able to come up with a suitable solution that allowed you to enjoy the balance of your stay in peace. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hyatt Regency Sarasota when your travel plans bring you back to Florida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Pool area has water fall which is soothing and interesting. Lots of business events there but they do a good job of separating events from hotel guest areas. Great views of bay and marina. Lots of built in shelves in bathroom for storage space - comes in handy. Great location just outside of downtown but close enough to walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at our hotel! Our central location and walkability to downtown, parks, restaurants, theaters and other nearby attractions makes us an ideal choice for both the business and leisure traveler. Our hotel amenities & features cater to both guests as well and we hope to welcome you back to the Hyatt should your next business trip or vacation bring you back to the Sarasota area. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We recently had booked a room at another area hotel for the weekend. Unfortunately, we found cockroaches in that hotel and left immediately. We booked the Hyatt for the rest of the weekend and the front desk associate was great in giving us the first room that was cleaned and ready that morning, as we had nowhere else to go. She also offered to keep our luggage and let us hang out at the pool until it was ready.

The room itself was spacious and nicely laid out and decorated. Everything was very clean.

The pool was great - places to sit in the water, and large enough for quite a few people. The Hurricane bar next to the pool is a fantastic addition as well - great drinks (especially the Category 5!).

We will definitely be staying there again if we're in town!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay! We were glad to hear that you had an opportunity to enjoy some of the hotel amenities during your stay. Our bayside pool is the ideal place to relax and unwind as you discovered and the Hurricane Hut is a great spot to refresh if you're spending the day poolside. We were also glad to hear you had a chance to try the legendary Category 5 and we look forward to letting you try our new Electric Typhoon signature cocktail during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt! We had a blast! The staff is amazing! The day we got there we informed them we was staying there to celebrate our Honeymoon/Anniversary. We went out to dinner after the lovely staff called us a cab and advised us of a wonderful Steak Restaurant called Hyde Park Prime Steakhouse (http://www.hydeparkrestaurants.com/maps/hp-sarasota/index.htm.) We got back from dinner and Found a bottle of wine chilled over Ice with some chocolates!!!! Our room view the Mariana and the pool. The pool has a tiki bar, which I thought was amazing it didn't close until about 2am, they still served food up until closing time. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and for selecting Hyatt to host your very special occasion! With our central location, you can easily get out to explore all of the nearby amenities and we were glad to hear that you were able to try one of the many fantastic local restaurants. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hyatt should your travel plans bring you to Sarasota in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#10 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, TIG Global and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.