We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Sarasota to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
orlando,florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Really great getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I came to Sarasota to celebrate our 31st Anniversary. We had gotten married here and wanted to return and explore. We were so impressed with the service and friendliness of the staff at this hotel. Everyone was beyond friendly, but not obnoxious about it. The hotel has had a makeover and is VERY contemporary in design. The hallways were light and bright. The pool area designed to look like a lagoon with rocks and waterfall was beautiful and relaxing. They even have a hot tub in a far corner that looks like it is surrounded by a cave. Our room was on the top floor and we could see Sarasota Bay and all the way to the gulf of Mexico. At night the lights of downtown Sarasota and the highrises along the waterway were spectacular. Overall I will go back again, but honestly did not want to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have AAA use it as we were pleased to learn full buffet breakfast was included. Definitely pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive review and we are glad you chose us for your anniversary! There are more renovations in the woorks so be sure to visit us again when you come down. Happy belated anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    391
    142
    58
    26
See reviews for
212
378
48
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel is in a great location, clean, excellent attention and very professional staff, great pool area. Is the place to stay in Sarasota Fl. A lot of restaurants close by and beach is about 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our location is idea for people who want to do a beach day but then be close enough to downtown to walk over for a beautiful meal and then relax with a waterfall in the background. We hope to have you back soon and when you're back be on the lookout for new carpeting in the guestrooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My daughter and I attended the Conchologists of American 2013 convention in Sarasota, and stayed at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. We had a lovely time there. In fact, a lot of convention activities took place at the hotel and we spent the majority of our time there. I had lived in Sarasota for quite a while and it was very nice to visit again.

.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side had a better view of the surrounding area.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hyatt Regency seems to be doing well with the hotel s environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for the review and attendance. The show was quite interesting and many amazing shells were on display! We hope to see you back again to enjoy our wonderful and relaxing hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, on the water, next to Van Wezel theater which has great concerts. Pool is nice infinity pool. Bar around pool had great drinks. Room was spacious. Front desk people were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have done some upgrades to our pool area recently and our teams do a great job keeping the hotel looking great! Have a wonderful evening and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was only here overnight, but I'll definately go back. The staff, from valet, to front desk, to pool side, were all friendly and helpful. There's an amazing view from the rooms, and who can beat a pool area with waterfalls.

Room Tip: Ask for marina view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thak you for your kind words. We do our best to keep training as relevant as possible and it sounds like it's working! We certainly appreciate the feedback and will share your comments with the staff. Have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hyatt offered a great military rate- thank you! As so, the stay was an excellent value. We did not experience the noise that others did, but we were also at the end of the hall on the 9th floor. I did notice hall light coming in around the door; this would have been an issue in a busier part of the hotel.

The room was nicely appointed and clean. It would be great if more hotels offered makeup mirrors. I never understand why chains do not.

The pool was way over-crowded. Not enough chairs, tons of kids running, screaming, etc. To be expected on a holiday weekend, I assume.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us! Hyatt actually offers a program now where we give you a list of amenities (makeup mirrors are included on this list) where you can call down to housekeeping and request these items to be delievered to your room. You also have the option to purchase a number of these items upon checkout. I'm sorry we did not do a good job conveying these options to you during your stay. We hopr to have you back during a less crowded time so you enjoy the pool area a bit more and experience everyhting we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Was in Sarasota for a regatta for which the Hyatt was the eventt hotel. After exhausting day in the heat, my daughter and I were excited to come back for a good night sleep. The hotel was packed with Labor Day guests - as would be expected, as well as those competing in a bodybuilding competition in the hotel.

First, the hotel was extremely hot and the air in our guest room did not even come close to cooling to the temperature setting. This coupled with completely inadequate soundproofing and drunk guests made for a very disappointing stay.

All night long, the folks directly across the hall were in and out of their room and being extremely loud until security came and and warned them about the complaints around 2:00 am. They continued in and out for another 30 minutes - clearly plastered. After that joyful event, some women decided to swim at 3 in the morning. They, too, were drunk and very loud. I called the front desk to complain and they did send security out to deal with them.

A crowded hotel is to be expected on this weekend. However, there are huge gaps around and under the door threshold which let any noise in. This coupled with lots of drunk guests and not enough security monitoring the floors, made for a complete downer of a stay.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - unless you are there to party and can sleep through anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed that a few guests did not consider how their actions could affect other guests, like yourself. We do increase security on long weekends to try to control situations much like the one you experienced. We try our best to encourage all of our guests to take other guests into consideration by posting signs with our quiet hours in our elevators and on each floor. We hope that you will be back to visit us we will make sure that you completely enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#9 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire and BookIt.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.