We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, nice hotel, courteous staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good location, nice hotel, courteous staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Overall thought the hotel was very nice. Room was clean, spacious, and every encounter with staff was professional. Pool was nice with a waterfall and a nice bar with drink specials. Another positive was the nice, hot, high pressure shower head. These are becoming extinct in "green" hotels. The bed was soft with lots of pillows which was great. A few minor things that i would have appreciated (but by no means are deal breakers) are 1) a laminated channel guide or something along those lines. There were only around 35 channels on the tv. It would have been nice to have a list of which channel was which so i didnt have to go around the world to find HBO. 2) when i travel i like to connect my iphone to the tv so i can watch netflix and my own movies. The input button was disabled on the tv so i could not connect. The only thing on every channel for the duration of my stay was the manhunt for the boston bomber (obviously not the hotels fault). St Armonds Circle was just over the bridge as was the beach which is why we came. Our room (318) had a balcony with a great view of the sunset over the water. The sliding glass door however was very difficult to open. Overall a great time and will definately be back next time i need a day or two at the beach. Hopefully more hotels will become tech compatible to accommodate my generation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for the review! Your positive feedback along with your constructive feedback has been reviewed and we have deployed teams to specific areas to make sure that our future guests don't experience the challenges you did. As for the tech side of the hotel, we strive to keep up with the time the best we can and I will look into the TV connectivity, great point. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope to see you at hotel sooner rather than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    312
    117
    52
    24
See reviews for
164
316
41
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We're regular Hyatt customers (notably the Grand Hyatt in Dubai), and usually would rate 5* excellent. This Hyatt didn't have quite as nice a feel and, despite booking eight month in advance and exchanging several emails, we didn't get a room next to our daughters - although they were only 30m away on the same floor. Staff were polite, if not particularly helpful, although the hotel was very full due to timing (Spring Break), so there was little they could do once we had arrived.

Nice pool area, although not large enough for heavy occupation - we were unable to use it all one day (no available beds), and were fairly restricted on a second.

Free WiFi available in the lobby area, but not in rooms.

Complaints over - and recognising that most were due to occupancy - the hotel is well-located, has good views over small marina, has a modern feel, good parking and usual Hyatt quality rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for staying with us. My apologies for the room proximity in relation to your daughters' room. The pool area is one of our best physical assets in my opinion and we saw this year that it was rather full during the Spring Break weeks so plans are in place to expand seating in season next year so that all of our guests are comfortable and don't feel so congested while poolside. Again, your feedback is much appreciated and I hope to see you and your family back here next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this location. LOVED it! My sister and I came in July and spent a week there. We used the pool a LOT! Clean and nice. My husband and I decided this is where we wanted to spend our 40th anniversary. He had never been there and loved the place as well. We got in late so we were tired. The rooms are clean, the beds are clean AND comfortable. I'm a real fanatic when it comes to a clean bed and these are the best! The rooms are nice, housekeeping was great, as well as all of the staff. As a complimentary gesture we came back to the room and found champagne with HUGE strawberries, chocolate for dipping, and beautiful glasses to drink out of. What a wonderful surprise! My only complaint is that we had to leave and come back to Michigan with a 50 degree temperature difference! Can't wait to stay again! Thank you for another memorable visit!

Room Tip: It's really great to have a room with a view of the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Kathy S:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Sarasota. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your special anniversary celebration. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your night's sleep in our Hyatt Grand Beds. They are some of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. We hope to welcome you back for more anniversary celebrations!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Excellent service and very comfortable room. Front desk personnel are awesome.

For breakfast - your choice of buffet or ordering from the menu.

What isn't perfect yet? Still asking you to pay for in room internet and for parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am please to hear you had an excellent stay at the hotel. The internet issue is a valid point and one of the ways that we are trying to take care of this issue is by offering complimentary wi-fi in our upper and lower lobby. This allows people to get out of their rooms and enjoy a beverage from our restaurant coffee bar while they surf the web for free. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

You can't beat the location and amenities for a free suite! We are Hyatt Platinum members and we used our points for a night at the Hyatt while on vacation in Florida. It was a nice hotel and the staff was very pleasant. Our room was huge (basically two rooms combined) with a bedroom/bathroom in one room and a living room and another bathroom in the other room. We enjoyed our stay and would return when visiting Sarasota in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the suite. We think our location is excellent as well, while not on the beach, still on the water and access to downtown and the beach if so desired. We hope you have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Sarasota for two days last week.

Overall, it was a very pleasant experience. The staff was definitely five star, the valets and front desk personnel was always helpful and courteous. It was a great location to both downtown restaurants and the Ringling museum. The room was comfortable, though the bathroom area was cramped. The room was quiet in general, though the television next door could be heard.

Main drawbacks are that there are not any beaches within walking distance, and the pool area is much too small for the number of guests, it was always overcrowded.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your comment on our 5 star staff. That means a lot. We are the only 4-diamond hotel in Sarasota and service is a huge part of that ranking. We will continue to strive to be the best and hope that you can join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

There aren't a lot of options in downtown sarasota. The RC or Hyatt. $600 a night or $300. Clean, modern, great gym, pretty good Bar/Restaraunt & walkable to downtown. Would definitely stay again. If something special I would stay @ Ritz.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Yes, we are usually priced less than the Ritz so thank you for pointing that out. Our location is great and if you don't fell like driving, we offer a comp shuttle that makes stops in St Armand's Circle (shopping), Lido Beach and downtown Sarasota. Thanks for the review and I hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#10 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Amex, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, TIG Global and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.