We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Sarasota to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
EAU CLAIRE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Extremely nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at they Hyatt Regency for 7 nights with our two kids, ages 13 and 6. Super nice staff, esp Victoria at the front desk - she is a gem! She always had wonderful suggestions for restaurants, things to do, routes for running, etc. Outdoor pool is heated and very warm, so we were able to swim a lot even though temps were in the mid-60s to mid-70s. The pool is a fun shape with a waterfall at one end. Super close to downtown Sarasota with lots of great restaurants. Short drive to beaches (and hotel has a shuttle to local beach, but we did not use it). Beds were super comfy. Very clean and quiet. Negatives are that rooms have no microwave and coffee is not very good -- otherwise a fantastic hotel! We will definitely stay here again if we are in Sarasota.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi MATTHEW O!

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Sarasota. We're delighted to hear how much you & your family enjoyed the time you've spent at our hotel with us. Victoria will be recognized for the great customer service provided while you were here. Often, we hear enthusiastic guest feedback with regards to our comfortable Hyatt Grand Beds. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    289
    301
    113
    52
    24
See reviews for
155
307
40
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is an upscale hotel and very nice inside. it's not on the beach so keep that in mind. Pool area is a bit small and they closed half of it due to a wedding but gave us one free drink on order to move to another location. overall, very nice. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pi k decor lovely hotel. But we went for a beach wedding which had to be moved. Hotel not really near anything walkable. And no free. Wifi. Really. Bathroo. Was divided I to large si k area and then a little from with tub and toilet. And it was very squishy... Not sure why they did this. Really nice balcony. Free street parking with no problem finding a space. Service in bar was pretty abysmal, middle aged ladies ignored once again, and pricey. But staff were lovely and would recommend. Also best bed ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our timing was a bit off however we are now proud to offer complimentary wifi in our upper and lower lobby so when you come back to the hotel, please know that we have this service up and running. Thank you for your comments on our Grand Bed as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were on the 7th floor facing the pool. The view was beautiful. The accommodations were very comfortable. I used the gym, the pool and the hot tub and enjoyed it all. Everything was clean and very appealing. I did not eat there, though - too many other places to try.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have open balconies and some are enclosed. Just ask for what you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. You're right, there are many great restaurants int he area however the next time you stay, I would suggest you try either our Currents Restaurant or Hurricane Hut as our culinary team does an excellent job. Thank you for commenting on your view; whether you're on the marina side or bay side, the views are fantastic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great value for the location. This hotel is in he DIY, not on the beach, but it has a marina and pool which provide beautiful views. From higher floors you can see water beyond the marina. It also sits beside a science museum and performing arts theater which include paths that are part of a science/nature walk. You are a pretty short car ride to St Armand's Circle and downtown restaurants. The room was great with a balcony which overlooked the marina - which we requested. The pool was really nice. We didn't use the restaurant as we went out for food - including breakfast. The ToastedMango is a short walk away for breakfast or lunch. The hotel has any amenities and you feel as if you are really being pampered. You don't need to use the valet parking. We had no trouble parking on the street in front of the hotel and self parking in the parking lot has no fee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your response. You are correct, we are not on the beach and as you pointed out, it's a short drive to St Armand's Circle and Lido beach is just past the circle. If you wanted to leave your vehicle here, you could jump on our complimentary shuttle to get to the circle, beach and downtown. I would urge you to try our restaurants the next time you stay with us as our culinary team does a great job. Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you don't want to stay right on the beach, this is the place for you!! Although we three are a little cramped in our room (no suites available when we booked) the Marina view from our fifth floor balcony, is just perfect. Soothing sounds of the waterfall, subtle water splashes, and mild hustle and bustle below, allow just enough human contact without being intrusive.

The decor is modern but comfy, the open feeling in the lobby is respectful of the Marina, the rather Gaudy Ritz across the way, and the peeks from the bay.

The staff is superb--Amer (Food /beverage manager), Maria T., Gustavo, Carmel, Victoria, Shane, Anthony, Tara, Crystall take great pride in their jobs and in serving others!! THeir welcoming demeanor and the consistency of their service skills, is a lost art these days!!
We highly recommend !!

Room Tip: Marina or Bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such wonderful comments on your stay at Hyatt Regency Sarasota. It gives me great pride knowing our staff held true to our belief of authentic hospitality. I will be sure to pass along your kind comments to our executive management team so our staff members may be recognized for their outstanding service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! - Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed here March 2-5/13 and found the hotel to be a welcome respite. We shared a room with two double beds, which were very comfortable and aided a good nights' sleep. Our room overlooked the marina, giving lovely views of fishing pelicans, sailboats and sunshine. The restaurant was very nice. The food was excellent and the staff warm and welcoming. A make up mirror in the bathroom would have been nice.

Room Tip: Marina view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The scene in our marina, off of our pool deck, is quite amazing isn't it? I haven't experienced this type of tranquility at any other property I have been at. Thank you for pointing it out. Also, Hyatt has recently rolled out the Women's Experience'. In this program, the make up mirror is included in the room so please look for this the next time you stay with us or any other Hyatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#10 Business Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.