We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gainesville, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Close to the beach and good pricing! Great location if you want to be close to Siesta Key as well as downtown Sarasota. Every employee is very nice and helpful! The rooms are kept clean and the pool area is very nice. And who doesn't love two complimentary drinks by the pool as soon as your arrive?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    200
    58
    20
    22
See reviews for
179
200
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very nice hotel in a very appealing tourist area. Close to attractions. Good amenities for the price. The two free drinks was a nice touch!! Pool area very nice but needed to be maintained more frequently. Good hot breakfast buffet in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had a nice three-night-stay at this hotel. Keep in mind that the hotel is located on the Sarasota side, and not on Siesta Keys. So if you are not willing to pay for a beach front hotel, this is a great option to explore the area.

The hotel has a nice pool area and a good Best Western-style breakfast buffet. But beware of the hot tub in the pool area, the chemicals will discolor your jewelry.

Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I AM STILL AWAITING A RESPONSE from the hotel as to the amount that was charged to my credit card, as to an explanation for the MASSIVE HOLD they placed on my card, as to the additional charges that were laid upon me on my way out - after I had settled my account with an employee two nights prior to departure. The owner totally ignored my questions and requests for an explanation and receipt. She wanted to call the police and repeated that I get ** out of her hotel. She refused to give her name. No respect whatsoever and totally insulting to my 84-year old parents and myself.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Good location. Even though not on the beach, 5 minute drive to the beach parking lot. The check in was swift, the room was clean and beds comfortable, wifi and ac worked well. The room was quite small to be honest, but was properly cleaned everyday. I have to mention about the breakfast. I was amazed by how good and what a variety of food was available. Also, the menu was changed from day to day. Great plus for that. I loved that they had fresh fruits. Their pool and hot tub were awesome (open till 10pm). They have a fitness room and popcorn machine downstairs. Close to shops and food places. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I booked this room for one night on 4th July due to proximity to beach!
I booked this on basis of Internet reviews and pictures on website- wish I hadn't bothered.
On arrival I could see that it looked like a dodgy motel off a 90's movie.
we had already paid $150 for the night so had to give it a go. For this price I at least expected
a clean and remotely modern hotel and instead we got a dive!!! The bathroom had a bath shower
and the bath water backed up when shower went on! Never had a quicker shower in my life.
Begrudged every dollar spent that night as I've never stayed on worse.

Room Tip: Noneaappeared good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

7 of us stayed in 2 rooms. Were very comfortable. Everything was very clean and amenities were up to date. Breakfast very good. Love that they have a fitness room. Staff all friendly and very happy to help with anything.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.