We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siesta Key Break.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #21 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
Norwich, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Siesta Key Break.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Having stayed on the Key last year decided to stay in a cheaper hotel this year and choose the best western located just down the road from the bridge onto the Key. Didn't realise when I booked the hotel that I had booked a wheelchair room! I asked to be moved but the hotel was full at this time. The room was clean but old as was the rest of the hotel. The bed was comfortable and we were not disturbed by any noise during our three night stay
Breakfast was manic and had to share a table every morning, guess early April is a very busy time!
We ended up on turtle beach each day as the queue in the right hand lane stretched nearly back to the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    114
    39
    17
    17
See reviews for
124
113
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed a couple of nights at this Best Western Plus Gateway. Very polite, professional and helpful reception, breakfast very good quality and best of all the room was VERY clean. Not one spot of mold on the tiles in the shower. That is difficult in Florida being near the sea and with the humidity. Beds are firm and excellent and really enjoyed the HD 42in TV. Room had a mini fridge and micro oven. Stayed on second floor overlooking the pool. Very good value for pricing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The bar by the pool is awesome. The bartender was exceptional. I regret that I cannot remember her name. She was great! Please be sure to get a drink made with Siesta Key Rum. Siesta Key Rum was tasty. The room was good. The pool was great. But the bartender was Fantastic!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

hotel was convienent to everything. Clean, very nice and accomodating staff, restaurants, bars, shopping, beach all great. We used Johnny's shuttle one night which is a free shuttle you just tip the driver it was great. In walking distance to restaurants and shopping and the beach is just 5 minutes down the road by car. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway in March 2014. We went down with the main purpose of attending Spring Training games for the Orioles who's home field is in Sarasota. The hotel is in a great place and very accessible. We utilized the free beach ride one evening to go out to the bars and restaurants on Siesta Key beach. This is a great feature!

Our room was ok, they put us in a Handicap room. The lady at the front desk stated that they didn't have any other rooms available and that we must have reserved the room late. However, I'm assuming this was because we were a late check in (9-10pm), but it was a Wednesday night and I had noted it in my reservation that we would be checking in late. We are in our early 30's and definitely don't need the handicap room. It was hard for my husband too because he is 6'4 and everything was a bit lower. You would think that with the ratio of seniors that were staying there, they would've offered them the ground leve handicap accessible room. So, that was a slight disappointment, but we managed to make the best of it.

The bartender at the pool area was super nice. We went there to redeem our free drink at the pool bar one evening. They had two nice heaters to keep it warm on chilly nights.

The pool was heated so that was nice, but it was small and crowded the day that we went. The pool towels were smaller than the room towels. So, if you have a beach towel of your own, I recommend using it. But, Siesta Key Beach is one of the top beaches, so I would just recommed going there.

The free breakfast was hit or miss. It depended on the day and the time. A couple days there were big rushes before us that wiped out the food and they couldn't keep up. That wasn't their fault though. There is a Panera across the way if that happens to you.

They have free popcorn in the lobby that my husband enjoyed a couple days.

Overall, I would probably stay there again. It's in a good location and nice enough without hitting your pocket too much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King William, Virginia
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We were trying to visit friend in Sarasota and needed a reasonable place for a quick stop. Pool is great. Bed is great. Room is great. And, there is a laundry. Oh, a tiki bar by the pool. It's in an unexpected location but they have a free, yes, free shuttle to the beaches. And there are multiple restaurant choices in the same block -- no driving needed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay again. This was the best nights sleep on our little Gulf Coast adventure this year.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The mission for this getaway was to escape the day to day drudgery and chill out for a few days. We did just that for three nights. The hotel was so relaxing that we left Sieta Key Beach and hung out on the pool deck most of the day on Sunday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.