We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights at this hotel. We really appreciated the helpful staff, the free breakfast, complimentary cookies and popcorn in the afternoon. The hot chocolate was delicious! (I didn't think I'd drink hot choc in FL, but it was too good to pass up!) We enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Our room was a little small but clean when we arrived. Beds were comfy and Housekeeping left a little to be desired. Floors weren't cleaned and many days no extra shampoo or conditioner was left for us. We used the coin laundry facilities.
The location of the hotel is very handy to the beach (1/2 mile away) and many good restaurants. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the parking lot. It was quiet in spite of that. I think pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the time you have taken to write about our property and apologize if housekeeping did not leave all of the items you needed. We share these reviews with our staff so we can improve our service. We are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    107
    35
    17
    16
See reviews for
112
107
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kinston, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. Easy access to a couple of different places to eat . The heated outdoor pool was a definate plus in January. The breakfast buffet was wonderfull with plenty of food options, hot and cold. The room was decorated nicely. Quiet stay, alot of older folks and families while we were there,I would definatley stay there again.

Room Tip: I would probably get a room closer to the pool if you go during the winter months. It's a cold w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and we are glad we were able to meet your expectations. We appreciate the compliments regarding our breakfast and our pool and we hope that you will choose our hotel property again in the future when returning to the Sarasota or Siesta Key area. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnetonka, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

great rate, nice swimming pool. friendly staff. laundry on site. free popcorn. and free full breakfast. I love best western hotels. I always check to see if there is a best western where Im traveling.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and your exemplary comments about our property and service. We do not really know if we are meeting or exceeding guest expectations until we hear from you. We appreciate your time and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised & impressed with this hotel. Our room was spacious & very clean. The staff were friendly & helpful. The location was great. --so was the price. There was a hot breakfast. Warm popcorn , coffee, hot chocolate, tea, fruit, yogurt & more available all the time. The pool area looked nice, but unfortunately it was cold & rainy .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel property and we appreciate the accolades about our special little touches such as popcorn all day in the lobby, hot chocolate and fresh fruit. We are certainly happy we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope that you will choose us again in the future when back in the Sarasota and Siesta Key area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Unfortunately, we had 3 days of rain and cool weather during our stay. Because of the coolness, I wish we would have had selected a hotel with interior walkways to our room. We overlooked the pool which we heard was heated and very warm -- couldn't believe we saw somebody in it when the temp. was only in the mid 50's. The rooms were on the smaller side but the bed was very comfortable. They have a free breakfast, which they stated the hot items change daily, however, they didn't the 1st 2 days. It was nice to have the free popcorn and coffee. It was also nice to have 3 restaurants within walking distance plus many more a short drive. They have a small tiki bar at the pool and give you a complimentary drink. A nice place to stop when you get back to your room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate your favorable comments regarding the tiki bar, comfortable bed and the convenience of our location. The first 3 weeks of January were unseasonably cold not only in Florida, but in most parts of the country. It is unfortunate that you experienced this since our typical January is far from the 40 and 50 degree temperatures we experienced. We do hope that when you travel back to Sarasota in the future that you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

I found the staff mostly unfriendly and the whole place very depressing. No dining facilities and a breakfast with paper plates and plastic cutlery. Horrible. No information available about things to do, just a map. Staff barely spoke and no help offered with cases etc. Another guest helped me in the end when he saw me struggle. On the positive side, the rooms were clean and comfortable and good Wifi access. but not for me, I won't be returning.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. Your report, however, seems to indicate your anticipation of a restaurant. Our complimentary hot breakfast seats over 50 people in the dining area off the lobby - more than most limited service hotels can accommodate and operates for 3+ hours every morning. None of our published information indicates that we have a restaurant other than breakfast with ample seating capacity, although we are surrounded by many restaurants all within walking distance. We offer a brochure rack, visitor guides and maps which are all available for our guests in the lobby. The promotional channel in all guest rooms covers information about not only Siesta Key but all of Sarasota as well. Our front desk is staffed 24 hours a day - if we were not helpful when engaged, I apologize. But most of the staff has resided in Sarasota for many years and are well versed in making recommendations if you cannot find what you are looking for in the visitor guides. We appreciate your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My son and I stayed here for a few days in January when we needed to make a last minute reservation. The staff was really friendly and helpful. My son loved the popcorn, cookies and breakfast, and I loved complimentary coffee all day. The pool was simple but sufficient, and the proximity to Siesta Key and all of Sarasota makes this a great loc. I would definitely return with the rest of the family - a nice pool and a good breakfast goes a long way with kids!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel property. We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed all of our special amenities such as coffee, cookies and popcorn and extensive hot breakfast. We hope that we are your hotel choice when returning to the Sarasota/Siesta Key area and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.