We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't expect "PLUS" at this Location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Nashville, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't expect "PLUS" at this Location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The pictures on their website are COMPLETELY misleading and this place is ENTIRELY overpriced! This facility reminded me more of a low quality SUPER 8 or MOTEL 6 instead of a Best Western Plus! Yes, the rooms were "livable"; however, they are definitely NOT WORTH $100+ per night price tag. Breakfast area is OVERCROWDED and the selection is EXTREMELY LIMITED and not the greatest tasting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for writing a review and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. The pictures on our website are actual photos of our hotel guest rooms and public areas taken very recently and they are representative of what we have to offer. Our complimentary breakfast does get crowded from time to time which is why we extend breakfast hours on the weekends from 6:30 - 10 AM. Our inside seating accommodates over 70 guests and outside pool seating accommodates some 25 more. This space allocation generally handles the number of guests staying with us at one time. We do hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    103
    35
    17
    14
See reviews for
107
105
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at the end of July. The property is well maintained. The hotel/rooms are very clean. The breakfast was good and sufficient. I liked the location close to good restaurants, grocery stores , gas stations. The public beach of Siesta Key was about 10 minute drive. If you like to walk it wouldn't be a bad walk either. Over all I felt like I received good value at this property. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are happy that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel property and your guest room in addition to the hotel's location and proximity to so many different stores, restaurants and the island. We hope that you will continue to choose us when you are in the Sarasota area in the future and we thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a couple nights during our vacation. The hotel is in a good location The rooms were very clean and the location is close to the beach. I would rather take a short drive to the free public beach than spend twice as much to stay on the island. It was a great value for the price. A hot breakfast before a day at the beach is a great start to the day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I absolutely love this Best Western in Siesta Keys located at 6600 S. Tamiami Trail....it is less than 10 minutes away from the Beach. The rooms, laundry facilities, restrooms, pool everything is always clean. Hot breakfast in the morning, staff is very friendly. Actually stayed here last year after a really bad experience at another hotel, the staff was friendly and helpful back then and to come again this year and see the same familiar faces says alot about a job. The employees are friendly. Only place me and my kids will stay when we visit Siesta Keys for our annual vacation to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel property and thank you most of all for returning to us. It is always a pleasure to know when we have exceeded a guest's expectations and our staff is always eager to assist. We hope that we will be able to be your destination of choice in the future and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had its ups but it's downs outweighed them. The location of the hotel is convenient to the beach and a lot of other attractions in the area. The room was decent, and pretty clean. However, I left my purse in the room and money mysteriously went missing out of my wallet. After reading some of the other reviews on here it seems as though employees just let themselves into your room to use the restroom and apparently help themselves to 200$ in cash. My boyfriends mother also paid for the room before we left with a credit card. The girl at the front desk took another card and recharged her for both rooms completely messing up her bank account. When she notified the front desk that she was charged twice they said they would immediately fix it. THREE days went by before the money was refunded. And the manager did nothing about it! He told her to call the owner but she "was out of town" the staff in this hotel are a bunch of crooks and THIEVES. The only thing this place has going for them is the location. Serve all the powdered eggs and mud coffee in your free breakfast but the way you treat your "GUESTS" is what will determine the fate of your establishment. This place sucks. Go somewhere else. I'd rather sleep in a tent on the beach then ever return here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. Our staff was not advised of your missing valuables, however, every room has an electronic safe installed in it. I am unsure as to the reason that you wouldn't choose to take advantage of this but like any other purveyor, we cannot be held responsible for missing personal items. Additionally, if we had been advised, the guest room locks are auditable and we would have been able to obtain information regarding entry into your guestroom. Unfortunately, we were not afforded the ability to assist you in this process.

None of the other reviews indicate any issues with missing valuables in guest rooms. But like any other consumer, it would serve you best to always use a safe. Adjustments to a credit card, either charges or refunds take some 3-5 business days and is not controlled by the hotel. It is controlled by the time it takes for the process to complete with your credit card company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branchland, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here the night before moving to our vacation rental.. Very nice and clean! GREAT breakfast. It is an older hotel, but these people did it right in maintaining and keeping it fresh and new! We got there a little late and I needed milk for my 2 year old. I asked the desk clerk for a local store I could get some and he quickly went to the breakfast bar area and got me some. Very nice!

Room Tip: Had two rooms - adjoining. Both were very nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to have exceeded your expectations and that we were able to assist you by addressing your needs. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future when you come back to Siesta Key.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel seemed to be in the middle of some updates to the facility. They were building a poolside bar when we were there. Staff was friendly but not attentive. The breakfast was good, fresh and in sufficient quantity. The outdoor hallways really need help - carpet was poorly maintained and had ripples high enough to trip over.. Nice enough but not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. This property underwent a $1.5 mm renovation in July, 2012, which included public and guest rooms areas as well as the exterior carpet installation in our corridors. Unfortunately, our summer Florida weather has not been very kind to us and with exterior exposure, it has degraded the adhesive. We are currently addressing the issue in the couple of areas that attention is needed. We've just completed our outdoor poolside bar and grill addition to the hotel and hope this amenity will be a positive experience for our future guests since it is very unique to this type of a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.