We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families, need car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for families, need car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Perfect hotel for families if you have a car. The heated pool is great for encouraging hesitant young swimmers to literally take the plunge. Good hot breakfast, but after three mornings it gets a little boring, so ask the staff for directions to First Watch, a restaurant just down the street (driving distance) for a great breakfast. Hotel is within walking distance of a nearby restaurant for dinner and a strip mall where you can get smoothies, beach gear, and other basic strip mall services. (NB: There is no food service at this hotel except buffet breakfast.) General location is on a main drag, making it very convenient to get to other sites, but the hotel is far enough away from the road that you never know you're at a major intersection. Excellent staff -- had a couple minor hiccups (nobody's fault, just one of those things), and staff immediately made everything right. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    103
    35
    17
    14
See reviews for
107
105
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 2 days at this hotel and the rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. It has nice landscaping and a pretty fountain down by the pool. The pool is nice with comfortable lounge chairs and tables. The hotel offers a free breakfast buffet that was good. They also have free tea, coffee and cappiccinos in the lobby as well as free popcorn and sometimes cookies. Overall it was a nice place to stay and we would definitely stay again. However, this hotel is close to the beaches (within a few miles) but not really with in walking distance. There is a free shuttle though. We did not personally use the shuttle but did see it was available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I liked this hotel. Stayed here almost a full week, 6 nights. The area is very safe with close proximity to Siesta Key Beach. I recommend a car because the beach is not close enough to walk to and Sarasota is too big to rely on public transportation, especially if you want to head over to St. Armand's Circle and Lido Key Beach. Taxis used during the day to downtown and back would be too expensive and it makes more sense to rent an economy car with good gas mileage. Publix is across the street and having a supermarket nearby is convenient. The hotel itself was clean, the pool area was nice, as well as the hot tub. The parking lot had plenty of spaces to park a car. A buffet breakfast at the hotel to start the day is always a plus. It's not on the beach, but it's very close. The staff is helpful and friendly. I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very clean hotel with nice pool and nice breakfast spread. Free shuttle to downtown areas. Quiet and ok price. fyi Too Far to walk to the beach. good for families and adults. no complaints just a normal hotel room

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The staff for a Siesta Key Beach event chose to stay at the Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway due to its proximity to the beach and affordable prices. Upon check-in, the staff had all the rooms ready to go. We also had to make adjustments to the block and it was easily done with no push back from the front desk. The rooms were clean and cool, the bathrooms were well kept. A few of our staff members took advantage of the gym and pool and there were no complaints on either. Last, the area is great with the restaurant adjacent and grocery and shopping across the street. All in all we were very pleased with our stay and will be back again for our next event.

Room Tip: All rooms were very nice. The King Suites are very spacious with two rooms and two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Late review, due to move. I stayed here at the end of March for 1 week during a preview trip before our move. I stayed here as a single female, and the entire time I was there, the room was nicely cleaned, and I felt safe and secure. I am a smoker, and booked one of the smoking rooms for the week. I was pleasantly surprised that the room each day did not smell heavy of smoke as I returned, after it was cleaned. Also nice business area in the lobby, where I could print my return tickets (along with wi-fi in the room). Popcorn was a plus. Breakfast was good, and fresh! No, it's not on Siesta Key folks, but there is a free shuttle to the beach and Siesta Key shopping. During high tourist season, it is hard to find a hotel with good rates, but I found the rates typical of the area, and not over-priced. All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel for guests that would like a clean, safe hotel, with easy access to Rt 41 and Siesta Key. There are higher priced, and fancier hotels up and down Rt 41 (and in the general area), but for my travels, I prefer accommodations that live up to my expectation, and provide a safe, secure place to stay (rather than frills I don't use)! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel was recently renovated, and I must tell you; it looks marvelous! My family and I stayed, and we couldn't be happier with how everything was. The entire staff working there,( front desk, housekeeping, maintenance, management), were amazing and very accommodating. The room was nice and clean, beds were very comfortable, and the pool is refreshing to dip into. The popcorn and cookies also add a nice touch to your stay! It's located in a very convenient place with shops and food within walking distance. The free shuttle service they work with, that takes you to the Siesta Key area, is very efficient as well. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Sarasota, and will be back again. Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is truly our pleasure to host you and hope that you decide to return to us again in the future. My staff will be delighted to know that they have exceeded your expectations and we appreciate the mention of our popcorn and cookies, available daily. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Regatta Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.