We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    249
    76
    28
    24
See reviews for
228
250
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel twice in last 2 months for a night away from the kids! Everything has been fine except in both rooms there was a major problem w/ the
tub draining while in shower. The free shuttle to Siesta Key village on New Years Eve was priceless :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Although not a beach location, it is very convenient to all areas of Sarasota and in a nicer area of town. The hotel is very well maintained and the grounds are very nice. It is situated between commercial buildings, shops and restaurants, which makes it not as visually appealing for the surroundings, but is a plus for being able to walk to get something to eat or pick up any needed items. Surprisingly for being in a fairly congested area, the hotel was quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was great, nice selection and fresh. Everyone we met on staff in the three days we were there was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and smelled fresh. They have a nice lounge area with TV's, which we used to hang out because we had a lot of family staying at the hotel. No one ever discouraged us from doing so and we felt very comfortable ordering pizza and having family time there.

Room Tip: Trader Joe's right down the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've stayed there for only 1 night. The word to describe everything is OK. Coming from Europe, it felt strange to see the bathroom with only the tub and the wc and the sink being part of the room. But it's clean, it has a huge flat TV, the bed is big and comfy and the breakfast is ok. Not too many options, but it's fine.
I consider it too expensive for what it's offering, but if you stay for 1 night it's ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green County, WI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nicely remodeled and pretty landscaping. Extremely comfortable beds - nice and quiet - wish I could clone this hotel experience. Attentive staff, very professional. Great location with restaurants and bars nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and taking the time to compliment us on our landscaping, your sleep comfort, our attentive staff and the results of our recent renovations. We are grateful for your patronage and hope we can host you again if you return to Sarasota in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEMPE
Level Contributor
166 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Back when Tamiami Trail, the "main drag" through Sarasota, was being built up,the commercial land was carved up into odd-shaped parcels. It is not the faulty of the hotel now called Best western Gateway Siesta Key that it got one of those weirdly shaped pieces, but now, its guests pay the price. The hotel is wedged between other commercial establishments, which makes it initially hard to find, as it does not face Tamiami Trail, but rather faces the back side of a shopping center. This becomes important when, on some mornings, the trash removal service comes by at 5 a.m. to loudly empty dumpsters aty the shopping center. While we were there, this happened two hours after a group of "20-somethings" celebrating a birthday on a Wednesday night were removed from the hotel by police after a bunch of yelling and screaming that started around 2 a.m.

So I guess the pollice incidenty could have happened anywhere, but after you get to sleep again and find yuour sleep interrupted -- again -- by the rubbish guys at 5, it's too much. And then to have the hotel's own rubbish removal service come by at 7 is more than anyone should have to take. We also will not get into the matter of the loud truck from a septic tank pumpout service that was doing its thing outside a restaurant in the mall across the way, also audible from the room.

Possibly because we're masochists, we stayed a second night, figuring it could not be that bad again. The good news was that it was not as bad. The bad news was that it was still noisy. Hotel rooms face balconies, with only a layer of window insulating them from corridor noise. We heard ever kid running down the balcony hallway. Andf because our room was across from an elevator, we heard the conversations of everyone coming and going on the elevastor,.

Even though we had prepaid our three-night stay, we left after the second one, figuring that almost anywhere wouild give us a better chance at sleep,.

So how was the rest of the property? Not bad. Bathrooms were clean, though the water pressure in the shower was not great. The bathroom sinks were poorly designed, requiring you to either spit right at the drain or have to use your hands to splash water to remove the rest of whatevcer you spat out from the edges of the sink. Better water pressure in the sinks would have solvced that as well. The bed itself was fairly comfortable.

The hotel has a heated outdoor pool ands a whirlpool. The pool was not heated enough to make it worthwhile to try to swim when the air temperature was 50 degrees. My guess would be that the pool was at maybe 78, just a tad cold for me. The whirlpool, on the other hand, was nbice and warm, with decent jets providinbg a nice soak.

In sum, if you must stay here, and I would not under any circumstances do so, but if you must, stay in a room facingn the back side of thre hotel. It, too, faces commecial establoishments, but it cannot be any louder than the front side.

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank for your review. We apologize for the noise you experienced from some guests who had to be removed from our property this past week due to their inability to be considerate. Unfortunately, this type of incident can happen anywhere, as you describe. Luckily, we had a staff member on duty who addressed the situation immediately.
We do always recommend, as others before you have in previous reviews, to upgrade to the poolside if noise bothers you. The north side of the building is close to an establishment that houses Carrabba's. However, the south or pool side does not face any establishments. It overlooks the pool, garden and an open field.
If you decide to return, we would gladly upgrade you to a pool or garden side room, or any other room that might assist in helping you have a quieter stay. We are genuinely interested in your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a comfortable hotel with a bright, contemporary look to the rooms and public areas. We really liked the beach themed prints everywhere and the fresh colour scheme of the rooms.

The complimentary breakfast was really impressive with a great range of fresh fruit, breads and pastries and hot choices which were more appealing than usual. There were also more spreads on offer than usual, including marmalade and peanut butter. We liked the small sized cartons of fresh milks and the little trays which made for fewer trips to the counter. Coffee and fresh fruit is available all day.
We appreciated the warm cookies and hot popcorn on check-in as well.

The pool area is attractive and of a good size, with a hot tub on the side.

In terms of its location, the hotel is in easy driving distance of the Ringling Museum and Mansion, Mayakka River State Park, the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, downtown Sarasota and the shopping at St. Armand's Circle. Getting to the great beach at Siesta Key only takes a couple of minutes.
A few minutes easy driving on our first overnight took us to a great restaurant called Turtles at Turtle Key, for some of the best and most reasonably priced seafood we've had in Florida.

We had a wonderful two night stay in this hotel and left wishing we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Rooms along the pool side of the hotel are easier to reach from the car park and don't involve g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#4 of 11 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
4.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 46 in Sarasota
5.0 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.