We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Waterford, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Beauitful, newly remodeled hotel. Rooms are very clean, beds are awesome! Decor is very pretty and refreshing.... all of the staff were very accomadating... We loved this hotel so much that we decided to make it our one and only hotel during our 10 day vacation :)

Room Tip: any room is a good one, newly remodeled !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, complimenting our staff and the hotel's new decor. We are so thrilled that you decided to stay just with us during your 10 day vacation as it truly means a lot to me as well as my staff since they also read reviews. If you decide to return to Sarasota in the future, we hope to be able to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    148
    47
    18
    20
See reviews for
145
146
17
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

In the grand scheme of things this hotel is nice, but way over priced. It is near Siesta Key beach but it needs more than that to justify the room rates. It has a nice pool area & the breakfast is pretty good too: all the usuals + 3 hot items daily. They have popcorn & fresh baked cookies at 4 pm. Their coffee/cappuccino bar is open all day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel property. We are disappointed that you did not feel as that you paid a fair and competitive price for your stay. I am unsure as to what room type you reserved, but room rates for our newly renovated hotel are very competitive with other similar hotel properties in our area and started at $99 during the time you stayed with us. I'm not sure if you took advantage of our extensive hot breakfast, 24 hr. coffee/cappuccino bar, fresh fruit, popcorn or freshly baked cookies during your stay as these are all included. We hope that you will consider our property again in the future if you return to Sarasota and speak with the hotel directly to make sure you are booking our best, available rate for your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is great, very clean, the renovation is beautiful, the staff is very and very welcoming. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. They serve a great hot breakfast. I was there for four days and they always exceeded my expectations from scramled eggs, french toast, barritos, hot biscuits and gravey, fresh fuit, cheese. bagels, tea, coffee, donuts, muffin well you get the point and it is all included in your rate. I also enoyed the pool, whirlpool and exercise room with new equipment. This is a must stay if you are in the area for work or play.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room on the 3rd or fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our newly, renovated hotel property. We appreciate your detailed description of our hot breakfast over your 4 day stay as it is pretty extensive and of course, as you stated, included with your stay. The room tip is a great one too! We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Four of us stayed there one night on September 18 in room on a second floor. Price was 109$ with taxes. I've been in a similar hotels all around Florida. In my opinion that room well worth the price. Very clean, nice smell, good impression right from the moment you open the door. Great tv, microwave, fridge. They have a pool, gym but we didn't checked those out. And the best part was a breakfast. We definitely enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are thrilled that you were satisfied with the value of your stay. We strive to offer amenties to our guests that you will not find in other, simlilarly priced hotel properties in the area. We appreciate your input and hope to have the ability to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two days (Oct 6/7) the hotel is like new and the staff and facilities are really good. The breakfast buffet is extensive and has both hot and cold choices. The pool and spa are really nice with plenty of towels available. The hotel is just a couple of minutes drive from Siesta Key beach (#1 beach in the USA) and a short drive from downtown Sarasota with all it's nightlife and great restaurants. This is a great value hotel and we'll use it again on our next visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We share this feedback with our staff weekly as it is very important to all of us. We are thrilled that you were happy with the extensive, complimentary breakfast and the choices we offer to our guests. We hope to be able to host you during your next visit to Sarasota since there is always something to do in this wonderful, Gulf Coast city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

the staff was great,the manager's was there to help if you had a problem(which i had none)the people at the breakfast area took great care to display,reservice,and make sure you had everything you needed for a great breakfast....the maid service was on time and fantastic..pleaseant and smiling and eager to take care of your room...also the maintance men on duty was life savers,when my swipe key didnt work they told me to sit tight and they did the leg work to solve the problem,which meant i didnt have to run back and forth to the lobby!!!overall the Best Western team at this hotle worked together to make sure my stay was worry free..i will return:)

Room Tip: stay pool, side a few more dollars to go first class.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for writing a review for our hotel property. I appreciate your kind words and commentary on the room tip. I share these reviews with my staff regularly as it is important for everyone to know if we are providing a good experience for our guests. We hope to be able to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very friendly staff and the renovations made the room seem quite nice. Breakfast was served conveniently. The room had a coffee maker and flat screen TV. The AC was a window unit so was a bit noticeable as the compressor turned on and off however, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of the Best Western Plus-Siesta Key. We are so glad that you were happy with our completed renovations in our public spaces and guestrooms and our location with proximity to Siesta Key. We hope to be able to host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.