We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short getaway. Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
south florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short getaway. Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We travel to Siesta Key often and all but a few places let you rent for less than a week. we were visiting family that was staying on the Key but for us; only for a few days, this is the perfect place. Minutes from the most beautiful beach in the country!
Just had a major renovation, not the Ritz but it was fine. We opted for the king Suite and it was great, 2 rooms and more importantly 2 baths!!
I wouldn't choose this hotel for a vacation resort, just a clean, well kept place to rest my head at night...

Room Tip: Suite is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    151
    47
    18
    20
See reviews for
146
149
17
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My father and I stayed here while passing through Sarasota and were pleased with the accommodation. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. They serve complimentary popcorn in the lobby throughout the day and served freshly baked chocolate chip cookies at 4:00 pm. We paid a little extra to stay on the swimming pool side for less noise. Our room cost for the night, including tax, wax around $115. The continental breakfast was above average, with omelettes, fruit and cereals, and other breakfast foods served in a spacious dining area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

When we booked this hotel it was a Holiday Inn Express, but has recently changed ownership and is now a Best Western. Even though this hotel is not located on the Siesta Key beach, it is only a quick drive away. I usually don't like to stay in hotels where the rooms open directly to the outside, but this turned out to be no big deal. The room was big and had a large flat screen TV, along with a microwave, fridge and safe. While the bathroom was a bit small, it was not an issue. I used the gym several mornings and the equipment is new and met my needs. The hotel staff was very professional and accommodating. The complimentary hot breakfast was hands-down, the best we have had at any hotel, with lots of variety each morning. They have several computer stations in the lobby for use along with complimentary fruit and popcorn in the evenings. My favorite part was the swimming pool. It was such a surprise - very large and had no deep end. It went from 3.5 feet to 5 feet deep, which meant that the entire pool can be enjoyed by everyone. Great for swimming laps or for children of all ages. They also have a really nice hot tub. There is a shopping complex across Tamiami Trail that has a grocery store, restaurants and some other shops. Over all, we were very pleased and felt that this was a great stay for our money. If you can't stay right on the beach, this is a great compromise.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the parking lot, which was great for getting in and out of our car, but the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

I was concerned about our recent two night stay here after reading some of the negative reviews. However, it turned out to be better than expected. The room was small, but clean. Lobby was nice. Breakfast was just ok, but it was free so.can't really complain about that. Beds were not great. Thin, lumpy mattresses. It is very close to siesta key beach. There are no major chain hotels on the beach strip. The beach is beautiful and the five minute drive over the bridge was really no big deal. I found it funny that the maid would not make one of the beds in our room because of 'personal belongings' on the bed. The personal belonging consisted of about two inches of the end of a phone charger which was plugged in on the nightstand next to the bed. I don't need the bed made, just found it a touch overboard. Never had that issue at any hotel I have ever stayed at. Lastly, management was very helpful in shipping a left behind item to our next destination. I really appreciated that. Would I stay here again? Probably not but it really is not nearly as bad as some of the reviews suggest.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Alot of the reviews I read appear to be complaints about the renovation being done, which, when construction is being done, may cause an inconvenience. We were there after the renovation and no construction was going on. I found the hotel to be neat, clean, with no problems with the room, everything that I expect when travelling at a Best Western, which is the new chain this hotel is operating under. The room was clean, breakfast was hot with alot of space for seating. About the only warning I can give is to watch out for the snails on the sidewalks outside at night, there are alot and easy to step on, so watch the bottoms of your shoes. Overall, a very nice night, with no problem on extending a late check-out time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for writing a review and for your positive comments . The property has recently finished major guest room and public space renovations and re-branded to a Best Western Plus. We hope your review will encourage others to see the wonderful changes and improvements we've made to both the guestrooms and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOCA RATON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I'm not sure where this review will fall, as while we were there, this property turned from Holiday Inn Express to Best Western Plus. And it is a PLUS! It was just renovated and is a very nice property. Pretty grounds, flat screen tv, new carpet, yummy breakfast, free popcorn(cute popcorn stand)in lobby, washer/dryers, comfy beds, and it was quiet.
It made our 3 day stay there very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments and we are glad to have met your expectations. The property has recently finished major guest room and public space renovations and re-branded to a Best Western Plus. We hope your review will encourage others to see what we've accomplished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This "hotel" is NOT on Siesta Key but a world away over the bridge. It has a pawn shop and strip mall next door and is a very old run-down property on a major thoroughfare. Beware, Hotwire ranks it as a 3-star property. Only in their wildest dreams but they are cashing in on its proximity to Siesta Key. Equivalent to Motel 6 with a pretty good breakfast.

Room Tip: Go someplace else. The North side has view of pawn shop; the South side a trailer park. Take your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway

Address: 6600 S. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.