We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, moldy, health hazard” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 N. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #46 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Filthy, moldy, health hazard”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We were shown three separate rooms before finding one that didn't have a foul,smokey, smell. We had made the reservation in advance and were told we would be charged for a night unless we gave them 24 hour notice so we felt we had to stay there. Room number three did not have the smokey smell, but did have a damp smell. After unloading everything we walked into the bathroom where the toilet was circled in black mold in the bowl. The shower had mole in every corner as well as in the tub. It was late, we got into bed and looked up. The ceiling had black mold on it also. We left at 6 am. On the way down the elevator we noticed the electric box on the elevator was wide open with all electrical equipment available for anyone to touch. This was by far the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Do NOT stay here, I believe it's a health hazard!,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    6
    15
    35
See reviews for
17
16
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We reserved a King room, and upon check in they gave us a double bed room. The bedspreads were stained and NASTY. But the city was booked, so we had to stay there. I left my Samsung Tablet next to the bed and I forgot to pick it up upon leaving, and they still say it was not there, when GPS indicated otherwise. They still say they don't have it, so someone there stole it. The next morning when I asked the manager about why we didn't get a KING ROOM reserved by choice hotels, he told us it was just a "suggestion"...really??? Horrible experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Believe all of the worst of the other reviews. Delta dumped us here after a cancelled flight, we left after 15 minutes not wishing to risk our safety in such a dilapidated dump. Delta will be hearing from us!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

this is THE WORST hotel I have stayed in Florida. DISGUSTING room with dirty everything. My pillow cases looked like they had been used before (several times). I literally used my tee shirts as pillow cases as i was afraid to touch the surface of them. The sheets had "fixins" on them. I checked late, midnight, so there was no way to get the room cleaned. FILTHY! The coffee pot had old coffee stains at the bottom. The worst part is they were they charged $120 ! That room at $25 is a rip off. Wi FI did not work, nor the remote. Awful, just awful. If you are a business person avoid this flea bag hotel.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poteau, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Check in was fine, we got to the room, it didn't smell clean (musty & moldy) The bathroom was moldy. The last night my dog brought me a used condom. I would not recommend this hotel. The outside of the hotel needs a lot of cleaning, too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The room we stayed in smelled musty/moldy. Mold was in the washroom. The telephone did not work at all times. Service was horrible after we reported insufficient toilet paper no one came to give us supplies. The only consolation was a referral by a friendly desk clerk to a nice local Chinese restaurant called yummy Chinese food packed with snowbirds and retirees.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Where to begin....Drapes broken and nailed to wall, cigarette burn in god awful filthy chair, stains on comforter that would scare a CSI team, cigarette butt floating in toilet, mold on shower curtain, filthy refrigerator, shower head height is ok if you are vertically challenged (like under 5 foot tall), and slept with light on and chair and table propped in front of door....was hoping not to end up on an episode of Cops. If there was a highlight. ..The girl at the front desk was nice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 5000 N. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sarasota
Comfort Inn Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.