We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable - But Prices Have Gone Up...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Sarasota

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Sarasota to your Saves list
Days Inn Sarasota
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 N. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Rowlett, Texas
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable - But Prices Have Gone Up...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've stayed at this property many times in recent years, and have normally considered it "excellent" because of its comfortable, clean rooms at what used to be a really good price. Seems as if this hotel, plus its sister properties, the Quality Inn next door and the other Quality Inn a couple of miles north, have all raised their prices in recent months, such that I would now classify the hotel as an "average" value rather than an excellent one.

My room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Bedding appeared to be new (or newer), and the bed itself was comfortable. Bathroom was clean, and everything in the room was in working order. One minor issue - there was a small work area, but the closest electrical outlet was a fair distance away and behind the TV armoire. Rather than trying to make that work, I strung my laptop cord from the outlet next to the bathroom sink. It was close enough that I didn't need an extension cord, but it was not an optimal way of doing things. A bit of thought in the room arrangement - or an extension cord - would have been a nice guest convenience. Sometimes I wonder why things like this get overlooked by those who furnish hotels. Perhaps we'll never know.

Service was pleasant, although the front desk person seemed a bit annoyed when I wanted to pay cash on departure. I told her that I had advised the check-in person that I would be paying cash when I checked out (I used a credit card when I checked in), and had been told it would be no problem. Turned out to not be a problem, but it surprised me a bit that it annoyed the clerk.

Regarding cash - if you check in with cash and leave a cash deposit, it must be reclaimed by 11am the following morning or it is forfeited. I've not seen such a policy anywhere else and am mentioning it for the benefit of any cash-paying guests reading this review.

Overall - not a bad place to stay. Had the prices not gone up, I'd have rated it 'excellent'. With my association discount, the rates used to be in the mid $40's + tax; now, the base rate is approaching $60. Your rate, of course, may vary. There are a variety of discounts available at the brand website, and Choice Hotels often runs some aggressive promotions that are worth taking advantage of when they're available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    7
    16
    37
See reviews for
19
17
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Okay, so I will say that we traveled last-minute with a group and needed six rooms. They were able to accomodate us and everyone was very helpful and pleasant. Our check-in experience went well, the lady at the desk was very nice and welcoming and the gentleman who manned the desk at night was nice as well. However, the kindness of the staff was not able to make up for the shortfalls of this property. First, the lobby smelled of mold. Most of our guestrooms had the same smell. The rooms felt dank and damp, and my allergies really bothered me during our stay. There were cigarette holes/burn marks on some of the comforters, sheets & pillowcases. The pool area was nice and sufficient, but the laundry facilities left a lot to be desired. There was a washer and dryer available directly outside of the fenced pool area. Not in a separate room in the building, but actually outside on the sidewalk area. You didn't feel comfortable leaving clothes unattended, because someone could just walk away with them. Also, we were traveling with a number of teenagers, and three of the boys were "propositioned" while near the washer and dryer around dusk. A guy rode up to them on a bike and asked if they wanted any "female company" for the night. So that's what type of area you are dealing with.

Like I said, I knew going into this that we were staying at a budget property and really wanted to give the Comfort Inn the benefit of the doubt. However, despite the employees' good attitudes, I must say that I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms and friendly staff. Not the Ritz but it was only $50.00. Would use this one again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

One of the lesser Comfort Inn's around, and a bit shabbier than it's sister Quality Inn a block or so to the north. The rooms are very worn, and the staff is disinterested/distracted though pleasant. The pool is sloppy, and the location is adjacent to a threadbare neighborhood, and locals walk through gaps in the fencing to shop, get to buses, etc. Yes, there's a museum and airport nearby, fast food, but everything nearby seems sketchy. This is a bit worse than the Quality Inn as it seems quite a few tenants are long term/unemployed. Don't leave leave your belongings in car, and don't plan on walking around after dark. WiFi was OK, and the refrigerator and microwave were convenient. Stayed in January, and there was no public PC or printer at all, and no way to print boarding passes. The breakfast is just OK; the room is crowded, and the single staffer is hard pressed to keep up with the demand.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota FL
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Don't stay here. Our room was very sub-standard for the rate., The bathroom was dirty, coffee pot still had traces of coffee in the bottom, poorly vacuumed dirty floor (or not at all), dirty counter tops.The shower curtain smelled mouldy and the washcloth had some gross stuff on it. We had spent the previous 2 weeks staying in many different Comfort Inns and this one is not in the same league. It is the very bottom of the pile.There are many other places nearby - check those out instead of this shabby place. We could write more but don't want to waste our time.Should have read the other Trip Advisor reviews before stating here. No stars for this over-priced dump.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram, New York, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was the most disgusting place I have ever stayed in and they had the nerve to charge 139.00/night. When you pulled on the toilet paper the whole wall moved. The room smelled, the sheets and blankets has holes in them and were paper thin. We tried to move to another hotel but everything in the area was booked. There was a beer party on the back of a pickup truck right outside our room till 2:00 am. You would be better off sleeping in your car than stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

this is the worst hotel in america. besides the used condom wrappers hanging from the lights, the place smelled horrible. crumbs and wrappers in the pull out couch. a broken shower head. lights that didnt work. cobwebs in corners. maids arguing outside our door. absolutely disgusted.

Room Tip: dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sarasota

Address: 5000 N. Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Sarasota 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Sarasota
Comfort Inn Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.