We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Host Resort

Save Saved
You added Golden Host Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Host Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4675 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thieves”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I payed cash and they still charged account. I called to resolve the lady was rude and hung up on me. I had to put in a claim w/my bank to refut the bill. BEWARE !!!! Dont give them your card if your paying cash they will charge and tell u its not their problem you have to fix it. I will not go bck jst cause how rude and i feel like i have been stole from while they smiled in my face. Rooms r big but stink and your lucky if the fridge and or ac works. Pool wasnt cleaned and we payed extra for a pool room. I recomend going somewhere else

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    13
    16
    39
See reviews for
26
23
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Reservations were made with confirmation number in hand, so we left Tampa and headed to Sarasota. Upon arriving at this MOTEL (this establishment is a far cry from anything resembling a RESORT) to check in we were informed that they did not have a reservation for us. We booked directly with the property via a phone call but yet we were informed that due to a "computer glitch" they must have lost the reservation.

They were sold out with no rooms available due to a soccer tournament. We soon found out when desperately searching for a room because the desk clerk "Iesha" did nothing and I do mean literally nothing to help relocate us, that all the hotels in the area were sold out.

After 90 minutes of internet searches, phone calls and drive-by's, we finally found a room in Siesta Key for $100 above the quoted rate at Golden Host. We went back to speak face-to-face with Iesha and demand that they cover the cost difference - keep in mind the manager had supposedly just left 30 minutes prior to our initial arrival but had been notified of the situation and would be contacting us immediately.... over 90 minutes later and still nothing from "The Manager".
Iesah refused to cover the cost difference or do anything to help provide us with a room in Sarasota. She refused to give us any contact name or phone number of "The Manager", but assured us he would be making contact with us as soon as he was "available". Needless to say, 72 hours later and counting, we've not heard a peep from anyone.
If you are going to RISK staying here, have a "Plan B" in place as their computers seem to crash on a regular basis.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

made reservations and had confirmation. They lost reservation saying they had a computer clich. We were told by Isha working the desk, she would have manager call us as no rooms were available anywhere nearby. We never recieved a call back and Isha was not helpful at all. We live 4 hours away. I would NOT recommend this hotel as they have no concern of thier customers and after reading reviews here I see this is not the first computer "clich" as someone else posted this same experience in March. We were not ever offered a free stay at a later date or help finding another hotel. I recommend it be taken off online booking sites because comf number means nothing.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The hotel itself does not look like it has been remodeled since the 1960s. The pool was green with algae. In our first room, the air conditioner did not work, and the TV would turn on but would not change channels. I asked to be switched to another room - this took a while as the desk clerk had to contact the owner to get permission to move us. When we finally got a new room, the AC and TV worked but the toilet ran constantly and would not flush. The entire place had the air of having been maintained by Sanford and Son. The continental breakfast consisted of sliced bread, miniature danish, orange juice (not fresh) and coffee. The vending machines were empty. The only saving grace was the adjacent Bahi Hut bar, where they make the best Mai Tai that I have ever tried. Stay somewhere else but definite visit the Bahi Hut.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midvale, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed on 3-14-2014. The exterior of the hotel looked okay so we decided to take a chance on it. I will NEVER EVER rent a room without first checking with tripadvisor. The room has never been updated since it was built (probably sometime in the early 1900's). Same plumbing, electrical, carpet & paint. When we walked in the room it had a bad smell which we tried to air out by opening the sliding glass door. It did not help at all! This hotel is way over priced.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Had a confirmed reservation for a busy weekend. I show up and the manager has "lost" it. She gives some half-baked story how her system crashed, so she sold the rooms my friend and I reserved; and there were no rooms left. Strongly suspect the rooms were resold at a much higher rate than my reservation. She was completely unhelpful after that.

Will not recommend such an establishment. Take your business elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

FILTHY - nothing golden about this dump. SHOCKED to read other favorable posting; based our reservation for this property on TripAdvisor reviews.
All furniture badly stained along with ground in dirt. Worn, thread bear, dirty carpet. Window drapery worn, torn, and hanging off hooks. Walls dirty and in need of painting. Critters in room and running through walls. Room had odor of urine. Bed linens stained. Towels thin and small. Seedy location. Wanted to leave, but clerk on duty had no authority to refund my prepaid reservation (1 night paid in full). Clerk provided clean bed linens, but had to change them myself. Took only very basics into room for the night because considered this unsanitary conditions. Breakfast buffet was less than basic and not replenished through breakfast hours; crumbs were every where. Pool had floating debris, dirty at bottom, and green mold along sides. This place is old and very neglected...paint peeling off buildings; rooted/rotting wood; unkept landscaping; etc.
No management or clerk on duty after 11 p.m. No management with any authority on duty in the A.M. Clerk would not provide name or contact info. for owner or head manager. Clerk stated she would send manager an email complaint. Phoned for the next two days and was told manager has no set schedule. Chamber of Commerce has no listing or owner/manager contacts for this property.

Room Tip: Stay away - filthy/unsanitary/undesirable location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Host Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Host Resort

Address: 4675 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Host Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Golden Host Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Host Hotel Sarasota
Golden Host Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Host Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.