We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Host Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Host Resort to your Saves list
Golden Host Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4675 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Family friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I have to make trips every three weeks to Sarasota due to family visits and this last trip found ourselves tempted to stay at this hotel because of their good rates. Not only did we find a great rate, we got comfortable and clean room. We have a toddler and a baby and our room was comfortable and clean to be in with our children. Our toddler loved the breakfast and we will definitely be coming back. I win win for our pockets and comfort!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    14
    15
    39
See reviews for
26
24
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

As a frequent visitor to Sarasota, my go-to hotel in the area is the Golden Host Resort. It's consistently clean, comfortable and convenient to all of my favorite places including the Ringling Museum and downtown. Checked in and found out I was upgraded to a pool side room! Great rate, pool side room and sunny Florida weather - what's not to love?

Room Tip: Ringling Museum is just down the street. John Ringling's beautiful oceanside mansion is a beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, VT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I spotted the Golden Host "Walk-In Special" sign while en route to a nearby hotel that had quoted us a rate $30 higher per night.

We decided to stop and check out the room, and when we saw that it was clean and equipped with a solid, comfortable bed, we decided to stay there instead of the other place.

After one night, we opted to stay on for a second night. After a week of travel around Florida in different hotels, we agreed that the Golden Host gave us the best bang for the buck.

The pool was crystal clear and beautifully maintained, and for the price we paid, we were surprised to discover that the breakfast bar was a solid selection. Good orange juice, too-- not sugary mix that we've had at other places.

The AC was a little noisy-- but hey, guess what? It sounded like an AC usually sounds! And it worked, which was the main thing!

The staff were all extremely pleasant and professional. It felt like genuine human interaction, and we appreciated that. (Again, after a week of different hotels every night-- that was a refreshing and unexpected experience!)

For the money-- this place is a gem! I would totally recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

It's cheap so I didn't expect the Ritz......but it's filthy. The rooms smell of mould and musty, part of the bathroom probably haven't been cleaned in 10 years.
The pool was clean but only because the cleaner had come the day we arrived. The lobby staff were "interesting" .....more interested in smoking and drinking. Stay away.........especially with children.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed two nights in this hotel on our road trip of Florida. It was pretty much as expected and good value for the price. The swimming pool was out of action but otherwise we were more than comfortable in our room which while in need of a spruce was clean and spacious. The staff got us a fridge even before we arrived which we appreciated. Not a wonderful area but we found two excellent restaurants withing walking distance - The Yummy House Chinese was full of people and served great food and there is a good little Vietnamese restaurant across the street from the Chinese place.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and polite. There is a nice little pub with a happy hour etc. I would definitely stay here again. Clean up the pool and you are looking at a good value hotel with easy access to the beautiful surrounding areas of Sarasota.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

2 years ago we stayed there for 1 night. We needed a double room, so we called them in advance to let them know we were going to get there after midnight. When we arrived there (around 2 am) they didn't have our key and the room available had only one bed, so one of us had to sleep in the floor!

This year we had to stay at this hotel again because the super 8 next door didn't have rooms available.
When we got to our room we noticed the air conditioning was not working, when I try to get the phone a lizard came out from the bed!!!
They moved us to another room. But, this time the room was even dirtier, the toilet had stains of poop and the bath tub didn't drain. That room had not been cleaned in months!!!

WE'LL NEVER AGAIN STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!

Room Tip: If you want a clean and nice place DO NOT STAY HERE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrGHR, General Manager at Golden Host Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are very sorry and deeply apologize that you had such a horrible experience at our hotel. All rooms should have been inspected by Head of Housekeeping before the guest arrives. We are investigating the matter and will be taking appropriate actions. There is no excuse for the room to be in such condition. Please contact me directly at hotel for a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APOPKA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

First of all we book throug booking .com never again ,theres 80 rooms and only 24 where booked ,the need to updated the pool was green it was nasty i have never seen anything like i call th health department on them the room smell the staff stuipe as hell ,i will never go there and will let everyone know that place should be close! iwas staying for 4 DAYS AND LEFT THE NEXT DAY I WAS NOT GOINT TO BUT MY GRANDSON IN DANGER .

Room Tip: no room are dont go there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenMgrGHR, General Manager at Golden Host Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are extremely sorry for your very negative experience and we profusely apologize. Here in Sarasota we have been having endless rainfall and thunderstorms. Consequently, the chemical levels in the pool dropped significantly causing the pool water to turn green. We have professional pool service and with lot of effort we have the situation under control. Your comments about housekeeping and front desk have been noted and appropriate action is being taken. Again, we deeply apologize as we should never have our guest have such a bad experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Host Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Host Resort

Address: 4675 North Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34234
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Host Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Host Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Host Hotel Sarasota
Golden Host Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Host Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.