We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, recently remodeled, professional staff, great landscaping!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Midtown to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Clean, recently remodeled, professional staff, great landscaping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

I stayed at the BW Midtown for 3 nights in October and had a great experience there. The rooms have been updated and have all the amenities, the staff was very professional & polite. Great location approximately a mile from downtown, the landscaping was manicured & professionally maintained. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Best Western Midtown and for recognizing our property and our team members. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you will return in the future. Thank you again for your comments. They are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    97
    89
    35
    29
See reviews for
91
94
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

We planned a spur of the moment weekend to Sarasota/Siesta Key. The place we wanted to stay at was booked, so we tried the BestWestern Midtown in Sarasota. If staying for 2 nights (we were) there was an internet special of only $51/night. So, although not on the beach, we felt we couldn't go wrong with BestWestern. (Not sure why they don't put more pictures of their facility online...) The room was clean, nice sheets and pillows, firm mattresses, we were not disappointed. Although we reserved for 2 adults/2 children, we only had 3 towels...The pool was fabulous and we were there several times by ourselves. Check-in time is 3:00, but the front desk clerk allowed us to check-in at 2:00. We usually don't do the continental breakfast, but checked it out for this review: It was adequately stocked and clean. A previous review commented on the noise from the A/C unit. With 2 boys, noise doesn't affect us. Well, we will agree that when that unit kicks on, it's actually so loud it woke us up several times overnight!! And, also beyond their control, the parking lot for the grocery store across the side street from our room, had leaf-blowers and machines cleaning the lot at 4:30 in the morning on Monday morning! I wonder if that's even legal! All things considered, we enjoyed our stay and think you will, too. About 10 minute drive to beach. One block from Bahia Vista (turn right/head east), where Yoder's Amish Restaurant (best pies!) and Troyer's Dutch Heritage (gift shop!) were the places we went to for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

this hotel was very affordable, one of the lowest rates we found, and for the money it was a great stay. the room was CLEAN and spacious, the grounds and pool were also clean and well kept, and the staff friendly. typical breakfast buffet with bagels, fruit, cereal, nothing exciting.
the whole place is very retro, like right our of the 50's and 60's, except for the rooms, which had a lot of new fixtures.
if you are looking for upscale, this is not the place for you, but if you just want a cheap room that is actually nice and clean, not a flea bag, this is a great choice. you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Great hotel, but A/C unit was very noisy even when sleeping with earplugs! We booked a room with a King-size bed located in the rear of the motel, away from Tamiami Trail (41).
Comfy bed and pillows. Bathroom was remodeled and had an upgraded showerhead. Hairdryer, microwave, fridge, iron and board also in room. Complementary breakfast was well-stocked and the OJ was very good (the machine said fresh-squeezed and it sure tasted like it).

There is a Sweetbay supermarket across Prospect St. and a Walgreen's across Tamiami Trail, both handy for stocking up on snacks and sundries. Close to downtown, Lido Beach and Siesta Key.

I would only recommend this hotel for cooler weather when A/C is not needed all night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Best Western Midtown is a great place to stay. My husband and I have stayed 5 times at this hotel because it is convenient (close to downtown Sarasota and St. Armand's Circle - as well as south Sarasota); the staff has always been very friendly and helpful (especially Judith); and the price is affordable. We have stayed at a few other locations in Sarasota, but this one is simple and easy and always very good. We like the tropical plants and I like being able to make some hot tea in the morning in the complimentary breakfast room. We usually ask for a room on the outside, facing 41, the 3rd floor - away from as many others as possible, to ensure our stay will be as quiet as possible. The rooms are always clean and neat. Give the Best Western Midtown a try.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed 5 nights with a group of 4 families, all our rooms were very clean, new mattresses, comfortable. Not all rooms had the mini fridge & microwave which we had expected, but hotel staff had them put in our room when we asked about them with no problem. Also needed to store our bicycles and they allowed us to use a space for that. The pool was big and lots fun for the kids. Location is just off busy US 41 but set back so it was quiet. Close to Yoder's Amish restaurant too...great pie! We were all happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at this hotel after reading many of the reviews on TripAdvisor. The reviews were pretty much spot-on. The hotel is older, but they've done some recent upgrades (our room had a newer AC unit and the walls seemed recently painted). The only complaint I had was the grout in our shower looked dirty, even though it probably wasn't. It had white tile with dark brown grout...my husband said it wasn't dirty, but it grossed me out. The great thing about this hotel was that we couldn't hear anything that was going on in the rooms around us or outside of our front door, like you do in a lot of other hotels. We were there over the 4th of July weekend, too! The pool looked nice and the breakfast was good. Overall, this was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Midtown

Address: 1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midtown Hotel Sarasota
Best Western Hotel Midtown
Best Western Midtown Sarasota
Best Western Sarasota
Sarasota Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.