We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appropriate Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Midtown

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #32 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
Falls Church, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Appropriate Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

As reported by many others, this property, while flawed, offers appropriate value. Its low price per night forgives a number of sins, such as waiting two hours after the nominal 1500 check-in hour for management to find a cleaned king-bed room with a working refrigerator; putting up with an on and off wi-fi system; and a general shabbiness related to the age of the property. In return, the hotel offers reasonable cleanliness in the rooms, a comfortable bed, a diverse and tasty offering for breakfast (included in the rate), a good midtown location, and (at least in our room) a large working flat-screen TV. I've stayed at similar properties elsewhere and gotten less while paying more.

Room Tip: If you are concerned with having working amenities such as a refrigerator, a microwave or wi-fi (whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review of our property. I appreciate the feedback and since your stay we have recently updated our wireless internet connection and have not seen any issues. We look forward to your return to the sarasota area and I thank you again for the feedback.

Warm Regards,

Michael Ridgewell
941-955-9841
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    89
    79
    34
    25
See reviews for
81
87
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon Park, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We checked into the hotel on a Saturday afternoon, and after eating dinner we returned to the room and noticed the sheets look dirty. After taking a closer look we discovered what had looked to be bed bugs. After reporting the incident the hotel manager told us all they could offer is another room or clean sheets. We also were told they were in the process of treating the hotel for bugs and didn't warn us before we checked in.

Room Tip: Infested with Bed Bugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear 141XxJasonxX,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your response about your experience. Bed bugs are a very serious issue in our industry today. This is not a subject to be taken lightly and one that is acted on immediately. Although we have our hotel inspected regularly for any evidence of bed bugs, we also follow up immediately on any guest concerns. If you could please contact the hotel directly to follow up on this issue I would greatly appreciate it. The direct contact phone number is 941-955-9841. We appreciate and are thankful for the concern and awareness of our travelers which enables us to eliminate a problem immediately should it arise. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osoa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Room was clean, but needed a little maintenance. AC was having problems keeping room cool and stopped working completely a day before I left. I was provided with another room that had a good AC, but no refrigerator.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Robert W,
Thank you for taking the time to review about your recent experience at Best Western Midtown. I am very sorry to hear that you may have had some issues with the AC unit in your guest room, I am happy to hear that we quickly corrected the situation. All of our guest rooms do not come equipped with a refrigerator and microwave. If the request is made we certainly try and meet the guest’s needs. Please come back and visit us on your next stay in Sarasota, FL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Not at all what we expected. We stayed at a Best Western in NY, and this seemed like part of a different company.
Seriously in need of updating in and out.
Booked for a week and had to leave next morning.
Got lucky and went a bit upscale for less money.
Bed and breakfast were OK, but wouldn't go back.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Dave A,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. We are very disappointed to hear that you thought the establishment needs updates. We are going through some esthetic updates to our guest rooms and encourage you to come back and visit the property again. Please give us another chance to provide great customer service and a comfortable atmosphere for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Didn't bother to see my request for refrig, although ALL rooms should have. As a result of not having one, had to make 8 trips to ice machine to keep food cold in bathroom... had to make trips to 'sometimes' locked breakfast room to use microwave to heat meals. Phone in room didn't work (keys for front desk, etc). Barking unattended dog next door. Soda machine took 'credit cards' and quarters... no dollars. Figuring out the shower took time... meanwhile froze or scalded.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear TheVillagesJudy,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor and sharing your experience with us. Sounds like you had a few difficulties while staying at the property and for this we profusely apologize. All rooms do not come equipped with a refrigerator and microwave but we do understand guest requests. I am sorry you feel that this may have gotten looked over. We do welcome pets at our hotel but it is imperative that the guest knows pets cannot be left alone. We do apologize about this inconvenience to your stay. Please consider staying with us again as we would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very poor value. Roaches in room and tables pool side were too dirty to use. The check in receptionist appeared to be completely disinterested in being polite. The breakfast was acceptable but not up to par with other hotels in the same price range.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Leeroys50,
Thank you for reviewing Best Western Midtown on Trip Advisor concerning your previous stay at our property. I want to personally apologize for our shortcomings during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and strive to better every guest experience here at the property. I am following up on these issues that you had during your visit, and thank you again for bringing these issues to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This property is in need of refurbishing and updating.The room was dark. The bed was not comfortable. The décor was outdated. We felt that it was not a good value for the cost of the room. We were unsure of our safety while we were there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear 143helenf,
Thank you for taking the time to review Best Western MIDTOWN on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and this gives us the opportunity to fix issues that the guests may have. We are very sorry that you felt the rooms may be too dark. We are currently replacing all linens and light fixtures in the rooms. We have seen that this new improvement creates a lighter look in the guest room. This is a very safe location in Sarasota so again I apologize that you may have felt unsafe. Thank you again for taking the survey and please come back and visit us to see our new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Midtown

Address: 1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Midtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midtown Hotel Sarasota
Best Western Hotel Midtown
Best Western Midtown Sarasota
Best Western Sarasota
Sarasota Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.