We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is centrally located to most points of interest and restaurants....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Midtown

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #31 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It is centrally located to most points of interest and restaurants....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The price was reasonable for March in Sarasota.....The facility is old, dating back to the '60's .....Our room appeared clean....no roaches....although I saw dead roaches in the hotel laundry facility. The complementary breakfast was standard for mid-priced hotels/motels....

Our room on the ground floor was too small for us but ample because we did not spend much time there. I understand they are in the process of remodeling.....lots to do...

The courtyard and pool were very nice and well maintained. Many lovely indigenous plants around. The people on staff were pleasant .......Some glitches but minor....

Room Tip: We were suppose to be up-stairs, but room was not cleaned yet, and we did arrive a bit early (1/2 hr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear karilouilu,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our property. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the time you had here and that the hotel was fitting for your needs. Our pool and courtyard area are definitely one of the major perks of the property. The atmosphere is very serene and relaxing. If your travels bring you back to Sarasota, Florida we certainly do invite you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    88
    77
    33
    24
See reviews for
77
86
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Do not stay here unless you want to be ripped off I was charged for a room I did not use simply because it was after 4pm when I walked in and made my reservation. Customer service no, making money yes

Room Tip: If you cancel your room after 4pm you will be charged anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear badjef,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property although you never had the opportunity to stay here. You must know that the cancellation policy is very strict; if you have a reservation we have a same day cancellation policy of 4pm. All hotels have similar cancellation policies that are put in place to protect the hotel. Our cancellation policy is very fitting for most guests allowing plenty of time to cancel. I am sorry that you feel this is not appropriate. Again thank you for expressing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Poor, dirty, oders, bugs poor management, rooms were dirty, AC did not work, I arrived at 2:30 on a Sunday, and was informed I could not check in yet because they did not have any rooms ready yet. 2:30, only 30 min to check in time, no rooms clean, really. I waited 45 min, was given a room. The room was not really clean, had an odor that could not be cover by febreze but since I was short on time, I just put my stuff down and turned on the AC set it to 65 and left. Returned, AC did not work, it was late and I went to bed. Next morning found small blood spots on my sheets, and bugs in the bathroom. Requested another room, they did give a new room. Was not much better, AC did work so what but the room like the other had an odor, that Febreze did not or could not remove. I rate this place poor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Michael K,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience while staying at our property. Here at Best Western Midtown it is our upmost responsibility to ensure that every guest has a pleasurable experience. It sounds like we have fell short of this and I want to personally apologize. I sure hope that the issues that you had were correctly taken care of. We will look into the AC issues that you had as well. Thank you for making us aware of these issues because without that we would not know to improve for future guests. Again we do apologize and hope that you give the property another chance as the issues you had are unordinary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is comfortable with nice breakfast , very good position , and lovely pool area . Only 4 sun loungers spoilt the area and rooms need a refurb but ok for the price and quiet too .air con very noisy .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear anthony34141,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay at Best Western Midtown. We are very happy to hear that you love the location of our property. It is a very convenient location with being close to downtown and less than five miles away from both area beaches. We are currently working on getting all new pool furniture for the pool so on your next stay hopefully you will be able to experience the new amenities. Please come back and visit us the next time you are in the surrounding area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marble Hill, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Hospital within walking distance PLUS reasonable hospital rate, even during high snowbird season, overcome the long-in-tooth facility. Accommodations and service were very good. Bath tub re-coating was peeling off. Glad they use duvet instead of bed spread. Refrigerator and microwave oven MIGHT be available, if requested. Motel breakfast was,...adequate. In-room coffee...ugh! Fill your in-room coffee pot in the breakfast room and take it back to your room…get some real cream while you're at it. This is a place that meets a need, not a resort with all your wants. Grocery store, pharmacy, Panera Bread Store, & other eateries convenient across street.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear PrH66,
Thank you for taking time to write a nice review about our property. We are very happy to hear that the location of our hotel being close to the hospital fits your needs. We have many hospital guests and families that make the decision to stay with us because of the convenience in location. With the supermarket located right across the street it makes it convenient to grab some extra supplies that you may need during your stay. Again thank you for your review, and we hope to continue to be your choice in stay when coming to Sarasota, Fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is definitely the most horrible hotel I have ever visited. It was dark, dirty and noisy. We made a reservation for a baby crib. Two days in a row they promised to make it happen. After the second night again no crib. The advise from the staff putt some blankets around the mattress so our daughther would not roll off the bed so easily. It was too much trouble arranging a crib. We packed our bags and left for a more comfortable hotel in Tampa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Sigrid H,
I am very sorry about your experience that you had while visiting our property and that the staff fell short of accommodating your requests. Additional items such as cribs and special requests are based upon availability. If the staff is made aware of your personal needs before your arrival to the property we will certainly try and fulfill the request. Again I do apologize for the shortcomings and hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

As a business traveler, a week stay here is not to bad. It is fairly quiet and you feel fairly safe. Internet was slow at all times and booted me off line a few time each night. Cable TV, Micro and fridge were all in good working order. Bed was 50-50 on comfort. A/C worked fine but with beautiful weather there I found it hard to run it. Pool area was well maintained and in excellent shape. For a visitor to the area, if you are not spending too much time in the room, It will be just fine for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear RusselB,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had a couple of glitches during your stay and we will look into those matters. We invite you to come back and stay at our property the next time you are in Sarasota for business or leisure traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Midtown

Address: 1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Midtown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midtown Hotel Sarasota
Best Western Hotel Midtown
Best Western Midtown Sarasota
Best Western Sarasota
Sarasota Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.