We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really a motel but ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Midtown to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“really a motel but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is comfortable with nice breakfast , very good position , and lovely pool area . Only 4 sun loungers spoilt the area and rooms need a refurb but ok for the price and quiet too .air con very noisy .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear anthony34141,
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your recent stay at Best Western Midtown. We are very happy to hear that you love the location of our property. It is a very convenient location with being close to downtown and less than five miles away from both area beaches. We are currently working on getting all new pool furniture for the pool so on your next stay hopefully you will be able to experience the new amenities. Please come back and visit us the next time you are in the surrounding area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    111
    97
    43
    32
See reviews for
98
111
31
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marble Hill, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hospital within walking distance PLUS reasonable hospital rate, even during high snowbird season, overcome the long-in-tooth facility. Accommodations and service were very good. Bath tub re-coating was peeling off. Glad they use duvet instead of bed spread. Refrigerator and microwave oven MIGHT be available, if requested. Motel breakfast was,...adequate. In-room coffee...ugh! Fill your in-room coffee pot in the breakfast room and take it back to your room…get some real cream while you're at it. This is a place that meets a need, not a resort with all your wants. Grocery store, pharmacy, Panera Bread Store, & other eateries convenient across street.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear PrH66,
Thank you for taking time to write a nice review about our property. We are very happy to hear that the location of our hotel being close to the hospital fits your needs. We have many hospital guests and families that make the decision to stay with us because of the convenience in location. With the supermarket located right across the street it makes it convenient to grab some extra supplies that you may need during your stay. Again thank you for your review, and we hope to continue to be your choice in stay when coming to Sarasota, Fl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is definitely the most horrible hotel I have ever visited. It was dark, dirty and noisy. We made a reservation for a baby crib. Two days in a row they promised to make it happen. After the second night again no crib. The advise from the staff putt some blankets around the mattress so our daughther would not roll off the bed so easily. It was too much trouble arranging a crib. We packed our bags and left for a more comfortable hotel in Tampa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Sigrid H,
I am very sorry about your experience that you had while visiting our property and that the staff fell short of accommodating your requests. Additional items such as cribs and special requests are based upon availability. If the staff is made aware of your personal needs before your arrival to the property we will certainly try and fulfill the request. Again I do apologize for the shortcomings and hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

As a business traveler, a week stay here is not to bad. It is fairly quiet and you feel fairly safe. Internet was slow at all times and booted me off line a few time each night. Cable TV, Micro and fridge were all in good working order. Bed was 50-50 on comfort. A/C worked fine but with beautiful weather there I found it hard to run it. Pool area was well maintained and in excellent shape. For a visitor to the area, if you are not spending too much time in the room, It will be just fine for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear RusselB,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had a couple of glitches during your stay and we will look into those matters. We invite you to come back and stay at our property the next time you are in Sarasota for business or leisure traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little neck
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have killed 2 roaches on the floor and wall and an additional 2 black ants in the bed.
DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! I will have to pack my bag outside by shaking every item out and inspecting it before placing it in my luggage. Some vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Kathym,
Thank you for taking the time to write a response about our property. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced while staying at the property. I will be personally researching this issue in further detail to ensure that this problem is resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Room was very neat and clean. Staff was very pleasant. Location was very accessible for our needs in Sarasota and Bradenton. Breakfast was very good. Internet was a little difficult to access at times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sarap,
Your review on Trip advisor is very much appreciated. We take pride in our location with being located very close to downtown and both area beaches. We are happy to hear that the hotel location was very fitting for you while you were here for spring training reasons. Sounds like you truly enjoyed your staff and our great staff. Please come back and visit us the next time your travels bring you to Sarasota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel staff was great the hotel was old and smelled. The room bedding was old and reminded me of a college room. Bathroom tubes had peeling and need to be replaced. Farther from the beach with traffic and no one could recommend a good place to eat. The staff was friendly and as helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear 894christineT,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. With your reviews and response it better helps us to learn where we may need to improve in the hotel. We are very happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We do try and accommodate our guests with outstanding customer service skills. Thank you for bringing the other issues to my attention. These issues will be addressed accordingly. We invite you to come back and visit us if you make your way to Sarasota again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Midtown

Address: 1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Best Western, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midtown Hotel Sarasota
Best Western Hotel Midtown
Best Western Midtown Sarasota
Best Western Sarasota
Sarasota Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.