We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Training” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Midtown to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Pittsburgh
1 review
“Spring Training”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Room was very neat and clean. Staff was very pleasant. Location was very accessible for our needs in Sarasota and Bradenton. Breakfast was very good. Internet was a little difficult to access at times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Sarap,
Your review on Trip advisor is very much appreciated. We take pride in our location with being located very close to downtown and both area beaches. We are happy to hear that the hotel location was very fitting for you while you were here for spring training reasons. Sounds like you truly enjoyed your staff and our great staff. Please come back and visit us the next time your travels bring you to Sarasota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    97
    89
    35
    29
See reviews for
91
94
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel staff was great the hotel was old and smelled. The room bedding was old and reminded me of a college room. Bathroom tubes had peeling and need to be replaced. Farther from the beach with traffic and no one could recommend a good place to eat. The staff was friendly and as helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear 894christineT,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. With your reviews and response it better helps us to learn where we may need to improve in the hotel. We are very happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We do try and accommodate our guests with outstanding customer service skills. Thank you for bringing the other issues to my attention. These issues will be addressed accordingly. We invite you to come back and visit us if you make your way to Sarasota again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Excellent location. Staff was friendly. Bed was extremely comfortable and shower pressure was good. At 1st room had a strong smell of deodorizer, but it went away after awhile. The pool was clean, but pool furniture old and uncomfortable. Also, breakfast was not appetizing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Deborah W,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are very excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is very admirable to travelers with the hotel being located close to downtown and surrounding beaches.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast at the hotel, as most guests are very surprised by the wonderful hot breakfast that we provide free of charge. Please come back and visit us again on your next travel to Sarasota. Thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARIETTA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Don't expect luxury, but the hotel is a good value for the Sarasota area, where a typical hotel room at the height of the season can be $200 a night. The staff is friendly, the pool is heated and inviting (though we did not use it), and the hotel is undergoing some renovation (new curtains were being put up when we were there and the room had been recently painted). Our only complaint is the bed was super-hard and somewhat uncomfortable. Ask for a room on the top floor facing the pool (third floor on one side or second floor on the other); it's quieter, with little street noise. Rooms that face Tamiami Trail (US 41) get street noise and the noise of trucks backing up to a supermarket, starting about 7 a.m.; you don't hear it on the pool side of the hotel. Our room was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear AJ30064,
Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the room to be delightful. We did just do a full cosmetic renovation to each of our guest rooms and the curtains were one of the final touches to be placed in each room. We invite you back to stay with us again on your next visit to Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

When we arrived at 5:30 pm we were told our room was not ready. We waited about 45 minutes and finally looked into the room. It was clean but the clerk told us we had to wait for it to be released by Housekeeping. The room was dark and had a very bad odor. The floor was not vacuumed and the bathroom amenities were not restocked. We were chilly the first night and asked two staff members for an extra blanket. When we came back that night there was NO extra blanket and NO bath towels! We took the DND sign off of our door around 10:30 and one of the desk clerks told me that they do not generally come back a second time to clean the rooms- so make sure to ask and/or fill out the little card to hang on your door if you want to have full service!!!! Even though this is a NON-SMOKING hotel, they do allow smoking on the balconies and pool area. There are ashtrays stationed outside the rooms and one happened to be outside of our room. Thus the smokers 'hung out' on the balconies, sometimes talking and the smoke smell filtered into the room. Smoke and noise also came in from the barbeque which was stationed below our room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear John K,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and tell us about your stay with us. I am concerned to hear that you stay was not up to your expectations. We do strive to provide outstanding accommodations and customer service. I will address the issues that were explained with the housekeeping department. Please give us another opportunity to provide you with a delightful stay on your next visit to Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Yeah... the hotel was cheap for a reason. The bed was hard, the remote didn't work, the bathroom light started flickering our second night there, the AC didn't work and to top things off one of the cleaning people left their scrub brush on our bathroom sink. Oh and our swipe key stopped working our second day there. The only thing good I can say is that the front desk attendant was always nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear abmerendino,
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guest’s needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment in the condition of our facilities. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are delighted to hear that you had great customer service while visiting. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Not bad for this area. Nice grounds but no fridge or microwave in room. Pool being worked on. Very good breakfast. convenient location. View of hospital my Dad has spent some time in. Close to where parents reside. Poor internet at times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwmidtown, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Midtown, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear 111jacquelined,
Thank you for taking the time on posting a review about your experience here at our property. Please request prior to your next arrival that you would like to be accommodated with a microwave and fridge. We know that especially for our hospital guests this does make the stay a lot smoother and more convenient. Please continue to stay with us so that we can continue to provide you with excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Midtown

Address: 1425 South Tamiami Trail, Sarasota, FL 34239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Midtown Hotel Sarasota
Best Western Hotel Midtown
Best Western Midtown Sarasota
Best Western Sarasota
Sarasota Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.