We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place with special people...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Sarasota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A special place with special people...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

My wife and I came to this B&B Inn for a three day getaway. This is an extremely special B&B Inn with a wonderful victorian ambiance run by three very special people, Vicki, Nina, and Robert. These three people cannot do enough for you; they really want to please! The inn is not close to the beach, but it is very close to the Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, and the Ringling Museum of Art. Plenty of good restaurants very close, also! Being directly across from Sarasota Bay, Tropical Cruises are plentiful, and "yes" we did take a two hour cruise; very enjoyable! Robert does most of the cooking, and when I tell you to expect real gourmet breakfasts, I am not kidding. And, then at 6:00PM they have a cocktail hour, and Robert makes his Rum Mango Fandango accompanied by more gourmet delicacies. Would I recommend this B&B Inn to my friends; absolutely! Would my wife and I go back to this B&B Inn; absolutely, if for no other reason but to have more of Robert's special cooking, and drinks! You're going to love this B&B Inn! You're going to love the victorian ambiance, the food, and the innkeepers; Vicki, Nina, and Robert are very special people running a very special B&B INN!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
199
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

This place is a godsend! Vicky, Nina and Robert are as warm, generous and accommodating hosts as you'll find anywhere! The food (breakfast and early evening cocktails and appetizers) is always great and made with TLC. The rooms are very nice, the Essie Leigh the best of all of them. It's a short walk to downtown and the porch has comfortable chairs and overlooks the bay. We and those we met on our several stays here have loved this jewel of Sarasota!

-RB

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We truly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at The Cypress. This was a "stay-cation" for us, as we live a couple of hours away. We thought this would be a nice opportunity to explore Sarasota and celebrate a special occasion at the same time.
Our hosts were courteous, warm and friendly and helped us unwind from our hectic lives. The Inn definitely has an old Florida feeling; the accomodations were exactly as shown on the websites, which is always a relief.
We enjoyed relaxing on the sprawling front porch under the moss draped trees and even played a little bocce ball! Our hosts' recommendations for restaurants, per our description of our mood, was spot-on. Their tips for manuvering the sightseeing locations were very helpful as well. The Inn's location is perfect for strolling through historic Sarasota and experiencing some of the local flavor.
We can't wait to return to Sarasota & enjoy The Cypress once again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

If you are going to Sarasota we would recommend The Cypress without hesitation! The innkeepers were friendly and felt like family by the time we were having to leave. The accommodations were beautifully decorated yet quite comfortable. Cocktail hour was most enjoyable and breakfast was a delight!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a 3-day stay at the Cypress having attended a family wedding. This was our second visit this year and it definitely won't be our last. We met Vicki, Nina and Robert, the inn's co-owners, when we were at the Cypress last December. This time Robert and his brother George were "in charge" as the ladies were away.

What a great time we had! Both Robert and George were gracious hosts with many talents. The breakfasts were simply outstanding (Robert is an amazing cook) and the room (Martha Rose Suite) was spacious, beautifully decorated and so comfortable.

The highlight of the day besides breakfast was the daily "social hour" at 6:00 when, in addtion to cocktails and appetizers, we were able to mingle with the other guests on the front porch. George- thank you for all the tips about Sarasota (everything he recommended from restauants to places to visit were "spot-on".) George is a great conversationalist and, as former New Yorkers, we shared a kinship based on our growing up years in the Bronx and Manhattan.

By the way, the inn is located in a fantastic spot, center-city and near all the best restauants and city attractions. We are so looking forward to our next stay and who knows?- we may even spend a few months in the future in this charming city based on our great visit to the Cypress.

By the way- Vicki and Nina- you needn't have worried- The Cypress was in expert hands- Let's hear it for the boys!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Three partners run The Cypress, with one being on premises most of the time. Two are retired schoolteachers, and one is a retired photographer. They are an interesting trio, and run this B & B very well. My wife and I stayed in the Martha Rose Suite, which is a comfortable room, with good shower and bath. The balcony is a strange affair, with a walkway that goes out over the dining area, and looks out upon the street and the bay. Sliding doors, with full curtains, extend along that wall, opening up to a pleasant breeze and nice lighting if you wish. We slept very well in the plush bed, graced with plenty of pillows. The kitchen is the place to hang, have fresh coffee in the morning, and a glass of wine during the evening happy hour. Breakfast is prompt and good, with a changing menu of tasty food. We were there on New Year Day and several days after, and it was very cold, so we did not really enjoy the outdoor areas. There are nice places to relax both in the front and back of the main house. The location is terrific...the downtown area is within walking distance with good restaurants and shops, and there's a neat movie theater about a block away. Robert, Nina and Vicki work hard to make certain that you are happy with your stay. All of the other guests that I spoke with were happy with the accommodations at The Cypress, and we met some neat fellow guests there during the lively cocktail hour...or maybe hour and a half as it was New Year's! Exploring Sarasota was a lot of fun, and it was great returning to the Martha Rose and tumble into the big bed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lighthouse point
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

This is a superb B&B. During our 4 day stay, we enjoyed first class service in the form of excellent gourmet breakfasts graciously served with all the accoutrements, evening cocktails with delicious hors d'ovres and stimulating conversation with the 3 talented & interesting owners. They are masters at creating a most memorable b&b vacation experience.

We stayed in a beautifully appointed suite with exceptional antiques...elegant but very comfortable surroundings. The mature trees, flowers, and shrubbery on the property frame the pleasant view of the bay. The location is excellent...short walk to restaurants, art galleries, antique stores, etc.

There were so many things we liked about our stay @ The Cypress...their private Bocci Ball court, grapefruits & mangoes hanging from the trees, proximity to jogging/walking path along the Bay, friendly locals, the impressive Ringling Art Museum, the historic Ca` d' Zan.

The Cypress clearly is the gold standard to which all other b&b's should aspire. The proprietors strike just the right balance between privacy & participation. They even allowed me to play their wonderful antique piano. Lucie & John

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a lush tropical garden and begin to relax and unwind at The Cypress. Browse through the various collections found in this tastefully decorated inn. Accommodations include a full gourmet breakfast, early evening hor d'oeurves with inspired refreshments. Complimentary wireless internet service for guests with laptops. Enjoy the evening sunset over Sarasota Bay from your porch rocker. All of this, just a stroll away from downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cypress - a Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Cypress - a Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.