We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Sarasota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mcminnville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“GREAT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great place to stay, wonderful experience, great service, outstanding location. Vickie and Nina are great host and provided a wonderful experience for me and my wife. We will definitely stay here again and are even planning to bring friends down the next time.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
200
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Where to begin....the beautiful house and grounds? The sweet and welcoming hosts? The fabulous breakfast and even more fabulous chef? Regardless of where you start, it all adds up to a wonderful experience all around. We'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautifully appointed and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

An extremely pretty, nice, comfortable guest house right across from the bay and walking distance to the downtown. Really enjoyed our one night here and had a marvelous breakfast with some of the best muffins we had ever eaten (freshly baked triple berry muffins to be specific). The hosts are warm and charming and even offered us the "procrastinators special" as we confirmed on the day of our arrival.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Every time we go to Sarasota, we stay at The Cypress. It is so relaxing and meticulous in every way. The breakfast is delicious served very eloquently with antique dishes and glasses. Nina and Vicki are so gracious, caring, friendly and helpful. We feel like we are visiting family or really close friends. Nestled in between tall condominiums, The Cypress is within walking distance to downtown Sarasota, the antique shop district and a short drive to St. Armand's Circle.

Room Tip: If you can't climb a flight of stairs, make sure you ask for a room on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The Cypress is in a wonderful location with easy offstreet parking. The hosts are fun and very friendly. They served one spectacular breakfast! Walked to historic Sarasota neighborhoods and enjoyed some fabulous restaurants.

Room Tip: Key West room is a great bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

A great bed and breakfast close the centre of Sarasota. We had really warm welcome from Vicki and Nina - straight away offered fresh mango muffins (delicious) and the B&B is lovely and comfortable. We enjoyed drinks with our fellow guests in the early evening (with home made pizza) which was really friendly. Breakfast was really good - again all fresh and home cooked. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our hosts were nost gracious, polite, friendly and helpful with local information. Our room was spotless, very nice! The break fast was very nice and the afternoon social gathering for snacks, a pleasant time.

Room Tip: This is a great location to the downtown area and just a short jaunt from St Armands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
6.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 46 in Sarasota
5.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Inn at Turtle Beach
The Inn at Turtle Beach
#2 of 7 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a lush tropical garden and begin to relax and unwind at The Cypress. Browse through the various collections found in this tastefully decorated inn. Accommodations include a full gourmet breakfast, early evening hor d'oeurves with inspired refreshments. Complimentary wireless internet service for guests with laptops. Enjoy the evening sunset over Sarasota Bay from your porch rocker. All of this, just a stroll away from downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cypress - a Hotel Sarasota
The Cypress - a Bed And Breakfast Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.