We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Perfect In Every Way"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save Saved
You added The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Sarasota B&B and Inns
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Perfect In Every Way"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We return every year to this wonderful B&B. It is truly a gem! The innkeepers are warm and welcoming and go well beyond the call of duty to insure a pleasant stay. In addition to a wonderful gourmet breakfast, they provide a cocktail hour daily. Freshly made cookies are available around the clock. The fridge is filled with beverages for the taking. Each room is comfortable and charming. The location of the inn is ideal...walking distance to the Bay, downtown cafes and shops, and theaters. The guests are always pleasant and interesting. We travel all over and stay at B&Bs and small inns. The Cypress is our very favorite!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
187
11
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Altamonte Springs, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Paula and I did a getaway here and found the location to be wonderful. The hospitality and warmth given to us by Vickie & Nina as well as the staff could not have been better. As one night we elected to simply enjoy the evening with champagne on the rear deck, a member of the staff brought us some crackers and hummus to enjoy, and also went to the trouble of chilling our open bottle at the table. All without prompting! It's obvious, they have trained the staff well and the location overlooks the bay through the oak tree canopy in the front of the B & B.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Perfect spot for us. Vicki and Nina were perfect hosts in a lovely home blanketed from the sun and modern condos by overhanging trees. Great porches for sitting and rocking. Close walk to downtown restaurants, just across from the bay and just blocks from the botanical garden. Just minutes to drive to a wonderful beach on Lido Key. Great breakfast. Need I say more. Just the best. First visit to Sarasota and fell in love with the area. By far our favorite in Florida for it's ease of access to cultural and natural beauty.

Room Tip: enjoyed the side room with private entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have visited Sarasota numerous times over the past 2 years and have always meant to stay at The Cypress Inn B&B. We're usually in such a hurry when we come to town, and opt to stay at a very nice hotel close to Ringling College of Art and Design- where our son attends college.

This visit I was determined to see something different in Sarasota and to take a few minutes to catch my breath. We only spent one night at The Cypress Inn, but it was an such a rejuvenating experience! We will return...

The innkeepers and other staff members LOVE what they do and it shows in every thoughtful detail. We were able to unwind and read a magazine on the front deck that overlooks Sarasota Bay, as we nibbled on freshly baked cookies and brownies.

The afternoon "happy hour" was a treat, and a chance to visit with the innkeepers and other guests. We learned all about the history of the inn and also got a suggestion or two for dinner.

We slept so comfortably on the luxurious mattress and sheets that we had to struggle to make it to breakfast on time. The breakfast, by the way, is not to be missed...

Nina and Vicki kindly gave us a discount on our stay, since we have a son at Ringling College of Art and Design. Many local businesses extend this courtesy to college families, and it was a much appreciated gesture that Nina and Vicki did the same.

Quite simply, The Cypress Inn Bed and Breakfast is just what an inn experience should be. 5 stars!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We decided to ring on spec to find there was availability at this B&B. After taking a Harley tour around the coast of Florida, Sarasota was a wonderful place to stop and this B&B is simply one of the friendliest and nicest we have encountered.

The owners have everything just right from the warm greeting on arrival, to a friendly hug on departure, it was like leaving friends rather than a B&B. With cocktails on an evening to a wonderful home cooked breakfast, nothing was too much for Nina and Vicky.

The property is nestled between apartment blocks, but very secluded and cool. There is very tasteful decor throughout and wonderfully comfortable beds. The Elizabeth Britany Suite was a nice choice.

We have sampled many B&Bs around the world, but this is one of the best. A must stay when in Sarasota.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Even though I live in Sarasota, my husband and I have packed an overnight bag and stayed at The Cypress. I LOVE it there!!! It's my happy place. The owners are fabulous, the location is everything and more, the breakfast, appys and early evening drinks are superb. I have even had family stay there when my place was too full. I can't say enough about the place… just go yourself…. you'll agree it's the best of the best!

Room Tip: favorite room has the widow's walk
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the mango room which looks out to the garden area. The room was great, very spacious. The bed was very comfortable. Vicki and Nina were great very friendly and breakfast was great. For dinner we walked to Owens Fish Camp which was equally as amazing great seafood and wine!!!! The bed and breakfast was also a short walk from the botanical gardens. Overall an amazing night in Sarasota thanks to the Cypress. My wife and I plan to stay there again next year!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a lush tropical garden and begin to relax and unwind at The Cypress. Browse through the various collections found in this tastefully decorated inn. Accommodations include a full gourmet breakfast, early evening hor d'oeurves with inspired refreshments. Complimentary wireless internet service for guests with laptops. Enjoy the evening sunset over Sarasota Bay from your porch rocker. All of this, just a stroll away from downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cypress - a Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Cypress - a Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.