We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Awesome Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Sarasota B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“An Awesome Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A remarkable bed and breakfast! It sits right in town near the bay, hidden by lucious trees and tropical plants...you'd think you were in the country! We actually stayed in two rooms...Kathryn's Garden and Essie Leigh...both were cozy with every amenity! The breakfasts were deliciously creative! However, it wasn't just the physicality of this gem; our hosts...Nina, Vicki, Robert, and Judy were very personable and treated you like royalty! You must stay here...you will not regret it!!! We will return!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
199
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Highland, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Cypress was a very sweet Bed and Breakfast! The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was delightful. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. My only complaint was that breakfast was served so late. We would had preferred an earlier breakfast so that we could get going on with our day. That is the main reason my rating wasn't excellent! We would stay again though because it's close to attractions/the beach/everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a one night stay the The Cypress and what a gem of a place it is. Tucked away on a quiet street near the bay, it is just a few minutes walk from the shops and restaurants in the old part of Sarasota. Staff were welcoming, the room was delightful, the bed was very comfortable and breakfast was delicious. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Loved our stay at "The Cypress". You feel like you're in the country but your smack in town. On our arrival we loved walking around the splendid landscaping. First two nights we stayed in the "Essie Leigh Key West Room". It was warm, cozy and very private. Third night we moved into "Martha Rose Suite" it was charming and we loved looking around at all the little touches. We have to say we fell in love with the sheets and had to buy them for our home. Breakfast was delightful, we couldn't wait to taste the muffin of the day. They were also very accommodating to our diet. It's very obvious that Vicki, Nina and Robert love what they are doing. It was so much fun staying at their B&B. Tim and Loretta

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Cypress for the first time. It definitely will not be the last. The accommodations were excellent. The Innkeepers were warm and friendly. We felt like we were visiting family. The location was excellent for all the sites and amenities of Sarasota. Our room was cozy and decorated very well with antiques. The house was exceptionally well kept and clean. Breakfast was wonderful each morning. We would highly recommend The Cypress to all.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Cypress is an outstanding B& B experience from the moment you park in the backyard to when you leave, all the staff are so welcoming friendly and helpfull, once you are there you dont need a Car all of the Downtown shops bars and Restaurants are an easy walk. Good advice on where to go and what to see is readily available from the Hosts. We stayed in the Marie Rose suite with a balcony overlooking the bay fantastic A really clean place and Gourmet thee course breakfasts just round off the experience. We will return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We chose the Cypress for a quick getaway and were so pleased with how at home Vicki and Nina made us feel as well as how close its location was to the Farmer's Market and other little stores and restaurants. Our room was quite comfortable, private and clean. A musician myself, I loved the downstairs music room - it was so charming. Breakfast was delicious with neverending coffee (much appreciated); we also enjoyed the cocktail hour and the endless supply of miniature candy bars (which I probably cleaned them out of, ha ha). We would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat. Thanks, VIcki and Nina!

Room Tip: I only saw our room, and heard many good things about the other rooms, so the best thing to do is lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a lush tropical garden and begin to relax and unwind at The Cypress. Browse through the various collections found in this tastefully decorated inn. Accommodations include a full gourmet breakfast, early evening hor d'oeurves with inspired refreshments. Complimentary wireless internet service for guests with laptops. Enjoy the evening sunset over Sarasota Bay from your porch rocker. All of this, just a stroll away from downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cypress - a Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Cypress - a Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.