We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully charming getaway tucked in the heart of the city!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Sarasota B&B and Inns
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wonderfully charming getaway tucked in the heart of the city!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This little get away is a paradise that is right amidst the bustle of all going on around. The location is perfect and easily accessible to all the attractions; yet was private, cozy and comfortable. Excellent and meticulous service with impeccable attention to detail. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and went over and above to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Breakfast was delicious and presented beautifully. The happy hour in the later part of the day was a special touch and was a perfect way to end the day and start the evening. The fresh flowers were an added bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
193
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I took my mom here for her b-day and could not have been more pleased. Everything was top notch - from the mattress, to the linens and bedding, and to the wonderful breakfasts. Everyone we encountered was exceedingly friendly and made us feel right at home. This is a very well run business and you can tell the owners and staff love what they do and actually understand what it takes to build a successful business by word of mouth. I've stayed at my fair share of B&Bs - many of which were much more expensive than this one, and can say this one is at the top of the list as far as cleanliness, quality and attention to detail... Great location too! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Key West room which was great because it has a seperate entrance and its own little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was our 15th stay at this beautiful B&B nestled in and among mango trees and beautiful plantings in sunny Sarasota. Whether we were here for happy or sad family gatherings or extensive business stays, we could guarantee a special greeting from Nina, Vicky, and Robert who showed us to our beautiful room that was tastefully decorated and had firm mattresses and comfy bedding. Robert's special breakfasts are a wonder to behold and the late afternoon Mango Fandangos and appetizers plus animated conversation from the other guests always guarantees a special stay. The Cypress overlooks beautiful Sarasota Bay and is within easy walking distance of Selby Gardens, the marina and a waterfront park plus Sarasota's culinary spots downtown and Burns Court Cinema and delightful shops along Pineapple. We can't recommend the Cypress enough!

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality and feel but all of them are spacious and have their own lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

The owner's pay attention to detail, from the spectacular breakfasts and presentation to the fresh flowers placed in your room each day. This has been a very positive first bed and breakfast experience

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I think we figured out that I've been going to The Cypress for 10 years. WOW. Guess what, I will continue to go for another 10!! This place is my home, away from home. I feel like part of the family. I feel safe and secure, and pampered. Thank you so very much for making my stays with you, Vic, Nina, Robert, Caesar, Becky and Judy...wonderful. And, I LOVE Jersey Joe...he's a great addition.

Room Tip: Down stair rooms if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nestled among old Florida oaks laced with Spanish moss & stately palms, The Cypress is a step back in time. Soft bed lines, delicious breakfast served on china with silver and crystal and classical music as a background. What's not to like? All the guests gathered on the front porch overlooking Sarasota Bay, for wine and hors d'oeuvres. It was a lovely experience and we topped it off with a trip to the fantastic Ringling Museum and a remarkable evening at the Aslo Theatre with a wonderful production, Pulse....Best ever weekend.
Jan, Jupiter

Room Tip: Only five rooms, several on first floor for older guests who can't handle stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned back from Sarasota and our stay at the cypress.
Found this delightful B &B on trip advisor and was so grateful when Vickie called me with a cancellation allowing us to stay for one night. This charming B&B was actually better in person.
Our room was perfect!!! This cozy place was decorated with such detail and love.
It is located right in the center which allows one to walk to the center of town where everything is going on.
I cannot say enough about this romantic hide a way.
Enjoy and you too will retun.
Thank you Vickie and staff for the best night stay
We will be back
Ina

Room Tip: Every room is awsome
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a lush tropical garden and begin to relax and unwind at The Cypress. Browse through the various collections found in this tastefully decorated inn. Accommodations include a full gourmet breakfast, early evening hor d'oeurves with inspired refreshments. Complimentary wireless internet service for guests with laptops. Enjoy the evening sunset over Sarasota Bay from your porch rocker. All of this, just a stroll away from downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cypress - a Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Cypress - a Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.