We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast in the World!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Sarasota B&B and Inns
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best Bed and Breakfast in the World!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our family rented out several rooms over Thanksgiving at The Cypress. We recommend the Kathryn's Garden room and Elizabeth Brittney suite! This was the BEST bed and breakfast we have ever stayed at in the country!! The Inn is beyond stunning with pristine antiques, amazing bedding, and views that never make you want to leave. The food could rival any top chef on the food network. The owners Vicki, Nina and Bob make you feel like family with no detail over-looked! The best restaurants, botique shopping and art galleries are all within walking distance. The inn is the most unique diamond that you want to keep a secret for yourself, but share the amazing experience with everyone!! It is the most special place that one could ever visit in this lifetime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    22
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
193
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

From the moment you walk through the door, you get the feeling that you have come "home" - to "Old Sarasota" but also to new friends. Nina, Vicki and Robert have a way of doing that to you. This house is saturated with charm but the welcoming and friendly atmosphere of the place is what will get you hooked. We've stayed here at least ten times and can't do so often enough. We used to live in Sarasota and often talk of moving back. We know we have good friends who will be happy to see us at the Cypress, even if we're not guests. Now that says something!

Room Tip: They're all great - each one very different, but all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great location, easy walk to waterfront and historic downtown Sarasota with a lively restaurant and gallery scene. Very welcoming hosts,with cookies on the counter, bottled water in the fridge and a terrific happy hour. Rooms were comfortable, extremely clean and well appointed. Really enjoyed the stay and would go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We decided to stay at Cypress Inn for a few days before settling at a cottage on Anna Maria Island - and we are so glad we did. It is a gem sitting amongst ugly concrete buildings - it a reminder of old Florida and what parts of Sarasota used to be like.

There is ample car parking (a must for a property so close to the city centre. The house is beautifully maintained and is furnished in such a way that every time you go in and out you notice something new - furniture antiques etc.
Our room was very comfortable and although overlooking the Bay was quiet - even at busy traffic times.

Our hosts were the other wonderful part of our stay - always someone on hand - and made us feel part of the family - especially early evening when we met up for a glass of wine and something homemade to accompany it !
Breakfast to die for ! - I really don't need to add more but I will - fruit and always something different and freshly cooked and all memorable dishes.

Vicki, Nina and Robert deserve much more praise than I can give for creating such a gem of an Inn and creating such a lovely environment for guests.

Room Tip: The Martha Rose Suite is sumptuous and roomy with views of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewadin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here for the last two or three years and have had a perfect experience each time. We usually stay three or four days and have found the location to be perfect and the rooms very very clean and the breakfast meals are excellent and imaginative. We would recommend this B&B to anyone. Ralph and Audree

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have always liked Bayfront Park and Marina Jacks Bar and restaurant on the water. However I have always stayed on Siesta Key in the past. I wanted to try spending a night in the downtown area. The Cypress was recomended to me and after spending one night there I intend to go back. The management team is extremely sociable and obviously enjoy what they do. Their tapas hour near sunset is an incredible experience set on a spacious front porch overlooking the bay. Great way to meet a diverse and interesting group of travelers from around the world. They even supplied some great wine. I liked being able to walk across the street to Marina Jacks afterwards and grab a drink while listening to a great band. From there I walked four blocks down Main Street to Madison's and met some friends to listen to one of their favorite bands. Out of room so go see for yourself!

Room Tip: Everyone staying there said they like their room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I checked in to the ultra comfy first floor room with luscious views of the bay. The room was spotless and well-appointed with plump pillows, thirsty towels and a mattress that welcomed weary travelers. Total bliss.

The Inn is an oasis as it is the hold-out home amongst condo buildings. The lush front lawn has a bocci ball court and ample seating that beckons you to kick back and gaze at the bay or sip something cold. Speaking of sipping something cold, Robert made fresh cocktails with the mangos from the trees on the property that were delicious. Every breakfast and appetizer served was freshly prepared by Nina, Vicki, Robert or Judy--and they are all masterful cooks. I had to loosen my belt a notch after our three days of pampering.

Truly, what makes this B & B so special is the Innkeepers themselves. The basket of fresh mangos set by the side of the road with a sign that said "FREE" stood out as a quiet way they are good neighbors to the community of Sarasota. They possess a welcoming spirit and a generosity that allows you to let yourself go soft and enjoy the beauty around you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 621 Gulfstream Ave South, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter a lush tropical garden and begin to relax and unwind at The Cypress. Browse through the various collections found in this tastefully decorated inn. Accommodations include a full gourmet breakfast, early evening hor d'oeurves with inspired refreshments. Complimentary wireless internet service for guests with laptops. Enjoy the evening sunset over Sarasota Bay from your porch rocker. All of this, just a stroll away from downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cypress - a Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Cypress - a Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cypress - A Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.