We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like great home cooked pub food back home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewood Grill & Tavern

Stonewood Grill & Tavern
1894 Stickney Point Road, Sarasota, FL 34231
941-927-3969
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #106 of 794 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Looking for the best seafood and steaks in Florida? Experience polished casual dining at your local Stonewood Grill & Tavern restaurant, part of the Stonewood Holdings family of restaurants.
Poynton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like great home cooked pub food back home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Trying to find good quality food, whilst on a 2 week holiday, with the vast choice of food chains is so difficult but this was a great find. Its not fine dining but definitely much better than some of the chains we tried. To compare to dining back in England I would say its like going to your favourite quality home cooked pub food restaurant. Basket of warm bread to nibble on whilst you wait for your order and delicious desserts. The chocolate bread pudding was so good and one portion would have been plenty between two. Enjoyed it so much the first time we went that we decided to go back for our final leaving meal too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    75
    28
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“quiet time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

at 4 pm when it first opened, had to grab something to eat and everyone there was so friendly, food was great and place was nice and quiet

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We always vacation in Siesta Key and stumbled across this restaurant by accident, and we were presently surprised! The buffalo shrimp appetizer, clam chowder and caesar salad were excellent and my husband's New York Strip was also great. You must try the chocolate bread pudding for dessert, but beware, it's too much even for 2 people! Overall, a very quiet, relaxing ambiance with a wonderful menu selection. Definitely try it!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Very nice grilled mahi mahi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very nice setting and ambiance. They offer $15.00 specials. Which are very good. Our steaks and seafood were very good. Do try the creamed spinach side dish. It is warm, flavorful and not too cheesy-- just right. The side salads are great also. You could actually make a meal out of a couple sides or soup and salad. Nice menu to choose from also. This is a good one to check out for yourselves. You could pay abut $70.00 ordering off the menu for nice steak and fish dinner for two with wine-- just to give you another option. Casual dress. Dim lighting...nice atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very good food!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This was our first time ever eating at a Stonewood Grill & Tavern restaurant. I had the best chicken pot pie I have ever eaten! My daughter had the sirloin steak which looked very good also. We had the Florida Orange Cake for dessert and it was delicious!!! It was a nice dining atmosphere. A little pricey, but very good food. Would definitely recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Grill & Tavern also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stonewood Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewood Grill & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.