We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewood Grill & Tavern

Stonewood Grill & Tavern
1894 Stickney Point Road, Sarasota, FL 34231
941-927-3969
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 792 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, Barbecue, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Looking for the best seafood and steaks in Florida? Experience polished casual dining at your local Stonewood Grill & Tavern restaurant, part of the Stonewood Holdings family of restaurants.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

First time we visited in December, 2012 we would have rated the restaurant much higher. Our second visit in February was more disappointing. Average entree with somewhat soggy vegetables. We were not inspired to return given the price point.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    76
    28
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant - Good menu and atmospher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you are looking for a not-too-expense restaurant with a nice atmosphere and good service when you are in the Sarasota area Stonewood is a great choice. Have dined there dozens of times over the past five years. Menu has meat-fish-pasta dishes with great appetizers and yummy desserts (try the floridaorange cake).

Wine list has many bottle offerings as well as a wide selection of wines by the glass. Domestics as well as unique offerings from around the world.

Service is always consistent. Great place to hang out by the bar pre-dinner and enjoy a cocktail. Great food, great service and not too pretentious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We planned a thanskgiving dinner here so no one had to cook. Brilliant idea! Great food, fantasic service. We eat here as often as we can.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota FL
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I sat at the bar and ordered a cosmo. It came 3/4 full. Ok, for $4 I can understand, but most others had a full glass. Then, I ordered the rib-eye. It was about 1/3 inch think. It was flavorful, but for $25 I do expect a bigger steak. Overall, it was a disappointing night. I do not expect to return soon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Siesta Key Stonewoods is the worst ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have been in stonewoods in ft meyers, sarasota, and tampa - the one on University is awesome on Sarasota - This place is a joke - I have been in here 3 times and every time I cannot understand how this place is a stonewood - Bartenders are useless - food is not good - parking is bad

I dont get it - but since I just rented on University - I can finally bid this place good bye and good riddins

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Grill & Tavern also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stonewood Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewood Grill & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.