We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Siesta Key Stonewoods is the worst ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewood Grill & Tavern

Stonewood Grill & Tavern
1894 Stickney Point Rd, Sarasota, FL 34231
+1 941-927-3969
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stonewood Grill & Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 822 restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Siesta Key Stonewoods is the worst ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have been in stonewoods in ft meyers, sarasota, and tampa - the one on University is awesome on Sarasota - This place is a joke - I have been in here 3 times and every time I cannot understand how this place is a stonewood - Bartenders are useless - food is not good - parking is bad

I dont get it - but since I just rented on University - I can finally bid this place good bye and good riddins

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    104
    57
    16
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Party of six for dinner at Stonewood Grill. We have been in Sarasota for a month and eaten at a wide variety of restaurants including Duval's and Mediterraneo. The food at Stonewood was by far the best we have had yet. Salads were fresh and crisp, the calamari app was tender and delicious, the salmon was perfectly cooked.

Service was friendly and efficient, with a suitable pause between courses.

Stonewood is pricier than most chains, but the food is far better. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We dined recently at the Stonewood Grill with friends. It was a great experience. One steak had been overcooked and the waiter and manager both made things right even when we were going to make do. They wouldn't hear of it. The pretzel breadsticks and the cranberry bread are REALLY good. This is the second time we've eaten there when we've come down for vacation. Top Notch service!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Taste of Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife I took our family,went to Siesta Key Beach on Valentines to renew our 34 yrs of marraige with 300 other couples.After the event, we all wanted something different to eat, but it had to be a place we've never been to. So we googled sarasota restaurant,and the Stonewood grill came up. They had great reviews, so we said lets go for it. Wow, what a fantastic dinner experenice. Atmosphere was romantic, but energizing.Wait time about 15 min. being a busy nite. Drinks were sizeable, and served promptly. Our Waitress Keisey was outstanding, an employers dream. Not only did she know the menu, but we took all of her suggestions from start to finish. The food was cooked to perfection,and the presentation was mouth watering. We haelfd outstanding Oak grilled Salmon, Chicken Pot Pie in a Delicate Puff Pastrey, plus a beautiful Aisan Chicken Salad, thats a meal in its self. We eat out alot, and have had the good fortune to appreciate Quality. Last, but not least Dessert. Don't miss the Chocolate Bread Pudding, OMG, this is almost better than Sex.. I said almost !! This item was the Grande of the night. Folks, plain and simple.. Try this Restaurant, were coming back for our 35th wedding anniversary, this March. You will not be dissapointed with Anything you order. 5*

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic food--extremely well prepared...great flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and recently had our 3rd visit to the Stonewood. A medium sized menu...a lot of great choices!

We particularly like their choices with their 'Asian' slaw. From a fantastic burger,cooked the way I like it (rare-medium rare) to the wonderful Sashimi tuna. Great favors...good size portions...reasonable prices...excellent service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewood Grill & Tavern also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Stonewood Grill & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewood Grill & Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.