We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fusion Cuisine with a Flair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roy's - Sarasota

Roy's - Sarasota
2001 Siesta Drive Ste 100, Sarasota, FL 34239
+1 941-952-0109
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Sarasota is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 794 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: South Tamiami Trail
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fusion Cuisine with a Flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I love this place and so has everyone we have brought here. The service is excellent and the food choices are very interesting. Stick with the seafood selections. And of course the molten lava cake is fantastic for dessert.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    72
    35
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good food and service consistent with the Roy's brand. Out of the way location does not contribute to ambiance.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tremendous service and quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The service we received was second to none. Our server (josh) was exceptional and very knowledgable about the whole menu. The food was excellent...calamari, wedge salad, salmon, and mahi mahi are the items we had and not a speck was left at the end. Followed that with a chocalate cake. Would highly recommend this place if you are willing to spend a little more, it is well worth the price you pay. Staff is very friendly from the moment you walk in to the moment you you! The manager even came out to speak with us which was also a nice touch. Would definitely return

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“3.5 stars- very good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I went here with my hubby, my sister-in-law and brother-in-law for our annual grownups-only dinner out. We had all always wanted to try it. The service was great, great, great. But the food was only very good to good. I expected a tongue-gasm for the price.... so I guess I was a bit disappointed, and so was the rest of my party. Good, but I'd check out other places before going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannie L, Guest Relations Manager at Roy's - Sarasota, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Dana,
We're sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. I wanted to forward you my information. We hope you will return to give us another try, and when you do, perhaps Chef could visit your table and see what types of ingredients you enjoy and help you plan your courses? Additionally, we have My Prix Fixe Monday on Mondays for a limited time where you get to select your choice of appetizer, entree and desert for a special price of only $36.95.
My email is jlee@roysrestaurant. If you return, I'd love to make your reservation personally so we can ensure you have a great experience.
Many thanks for your review, and we hope to see you again.

Jeannie Lee @ Roy's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Fast service, accurate service, great selection and perfect food prep. We're going back there next month and will regularly call it our favorite dinner restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Sarasota also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Roy's - Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roy's - Sarasota, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.