We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ranola

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ranola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ranola
118 Indian Place, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
1 review
“Guest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found this charming eclectic hotel not only to be a perfect location, with total privacy, lovely onwner, clean & a super great get away for both business & pleasure.
It's like home away from home, only better. Quaint with a history circa 1926.
I will definitely go back every chance I get.
Maybe even for a month.
Comfortable with Charm!
Roof top is perfect for Yoga, a little romance & just relaxing.


Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    25
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
85
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I learned of this hotel a few months ago for our first visit to Sarasota. I was suspicious of the low price especially compared to the hotel prices just 4 blocks away. I convinced my husband (the tougher critic) to indulge me in trying out this boutique hotel. We were pleasantly surprised.
The location is one block from the heart of Main st. Far enough away to be quiet, close enough to all the restaurants. Kathy does a fantastic job of tending to us during our stay. The room layout was great--- very European in style and character. We had a great kitchen with microwave, fridge, table and chairs. We have been back 3 more times. We continue to come back. We LOVE this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
millerlite80
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our anniversary because of its great location and eclectic style. Unfortunately when we checked out we left a few things in the room. We called right away and asked that the items be shipped because we lived out of town. We offered to pay for shipping because we had left the items but the hotel owner said she was too busy to ship our things and that if we wanted them we could get them when we came back to Sarasota. Very unfriendly and unhelpful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

First of all people need to realize that this is not a standard full service hotel. It is more like renting an apartment on airbnb. If you need full service the Hyatt is right down the street and twice the price. You get a comfortable bed with a sitting area and a small galley kitchen. Would be great for extended stays. The decor is funky - very modern. Kathy is a great host. It is walking distance to all the great little places in downtown Sarasota. I will stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Area
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed in a king suite for 3 nights in this small downtown specialty hotel. This place is run more like a pension or a bed-and-breakfast (minus the breakfast), but we really enjoyed it. It is in an old downtown apartment building with all the "character" you'd expect from an old building, such as hardwood floors and high ceilings, along with window air conditioners and no elevator.

Overall, we really liked the place and especially loved the close proximity to Main Street's restaurants and the Saturday Farmer's Market. Note that this is not a full service hotel, so if you are looking for a pool, fitness center, 24-hour front desk and breakfast, this is not the place for you. The owners, however, are very nice and were happy to give me check in instructions to accommodate our late arrival.

If you want to stay in downtown Sarasota, this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a very nice stay at this wonderful hotel. We felt warmly welcomed by both Kathy and Martha throughout our visit. We enjoying staying in the King Suite and all the amenities offered. It was comfortable, spacious and tastefully appointed. We enjoyed making our own breakfast or evening snack & having the windows open if we weren't interested in air conditioning! The hotel's location was terrific. We were in walking distance to just about everything we could imagine needing or wanting to do during our stay. The roof-top deck was an added bonus which we took full advantage of for sipping wine and watching the sunset! We look forward to our return visit this fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

So unless you are desperate to stay downtown or in Sarasota for few weeks, I would stay away from this place. It's truly awful. Where do I start? VERY LIMITED service, no reception at night, stinky, old, dingy, paper thin walls??? They must have raided a nearby IKEA since all the furniture seems to come from there. Cheap look for an unjustified high price. There are little written signs everywhere in the room, don't do this and don't do that and we don't do this and you have to do that. OMG, I thought I was in a rehab camp or the owners are obsessive compulsive. Their booking system didn't register the fact that we had our two children with us and sure enough I got a frantic call from the owners, quizzing me as to how many people were in the room and got accused of not declaring them and she noticed the sofa bed was used and so we had to be more than two people in the room. Pure hell, I tell you. The folks upstairs from us fought all night and we could hear it all. No one to complain to in the middle of the night. And all we got for half a sleepless night was a 30mins extension of the mandatory 11am check out time. Whoopee f'n doo! Don't believe the good reviews, they are either fake or for folks who haven't traveled much.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms unless you want to get the feeling of staying at your great grandma
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRanola, Owner at Hotel Ranola, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Our website clearly details the look and feel of the hotel. Guests making online reservations are surprised by it's charm. The hotel was built with (fort-like walls) in 1926 and refurbished in popular and classy art décor. Boutique hotels are unique and Hotel Ranola continually receives accolades on it's service and comfort.
The owners and staff appreciate your comments, however know that your situation is unique and unfortunate. Our sincere apologies. We may not always physically be on property but are available by phone 24/7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ranola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranola

Address: 118 Indian Place, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only hotel in the heart of Downtown Sarasota, Florida. Walk to dozens of fabulous restaurants. Shops, galleries, etc. Full kitchens, sitting area, spacious rooms. Pillowtop mattresses, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi and more. Minutes to beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ranola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranola Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ranola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.