We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ranola

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ranola to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ranola
118 Indian Place, Sarasota, FL 34236   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 hotels in Sarasota
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had a very nice stay at this wonderful hotel. We felt warmly welcomed by both Kathy and Martha throughout our visit. We enjoying staying in the King Suite and all the amenities offered. It was comfortable, spacious and tastefully appointed. We enjoyed making our own breakfast or evening snack & having the windows open if we weren't interested in air conditioning! The hotel's location was terrific. We were in walking distance to just about everything we could imagine needing or wanting to do during our stay. The roof-top deck was an added bonus which we took full advantage of for sipping wine and watching the sunset! We look forward to our return visit this fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    24
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
83
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

So unless you are desperate to stay downtown or in Sarasota for few weeks, I would stay away from this place. It's truly awful. Where do I start? VERY LIMITED service, no reception at night, stinky, old, dingy, paper thin walls??? They must have raided a nearby IKEA since all the furniture seems to come from there. Cheap look for an unjustified high price. There are little written signs everywhere in the room, don't do this and don't do that and we don't do this and you have to do that. OMG, I thought I was in a rehab camp or the owners are obsessive compulsive. Their booking system didn't register the fact that we had our two children with us and sure enough I got a frantic call from the owners, quizzing me as to how many people were in the room and got accused of not declaring them and she noticed the sofa bed was used and so we had to be more than two people in the room. Pure hell, I tell you. The folks upstairs from us fought all night and we could hear it all. No one to complain to in the middle of the night. And all we got for half a sleepless night was a 30mins extension of the mandatory 11am check out time. Whoopee f'n doo! Don't believe the good reviews, they are either fake or for folks who haven't traveled much.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms unless you want to get the feeling of staying at your great grandma
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRanola, Owner at Hotel Ranola, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Our website clearly details the look and feel of the hotel. Guests making online reservations are surprised by it's charm. The hotel was built with (fort-like walls) in 1926 and refurbished in popular and classy art décor. Boutique hotels are unique and Hotel Ranola continually receives accolades on it's service and comfort.
The owners and staff appreciate your comments, however know that your situation is unique and unfortunate. Our sincere apologies. We may not always physically be on property but are available by phone 24/7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
203 hotel reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

There is no normal hotel service in this place. No breakfast is served, reception is not staffed all the time and it is not cheap. On the other hand you get: very nice rooms, friendly staff, and, of course, an unbeatable location.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Hotel Ranola is a boutique hotel (9 rooms available) in the heart of Sarasota. The location is about half a mile of the active part of Main Street. The owner is at the hotel every day so it is almost like a bed and breakfast(without the breakfast). The laundry room on premises was very handy for our extended trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We liked some parts of the Ranola but not everything. Our room/studio was a lot like an efficiency in a New York City older building. A separate sleeping/sitting area, a small but functional kitchen and a small bath - all decorated in an IKEA'ish design. Everything in the kitchen and bath show their age but were clean and functional. The air conditioning was acceptable but noisy and slow to do its work. It would, however, be quite easy to spend a small vacation here and not feel cramped. It is walking distance to downtown, restaurants, bars, and Whole Foods.

If all of this appeals to you, do it. We thought it was a bit pricey compared to say a Residence Inn or Hyatt Place with similar accommodations. But, it does feel like a home/condo which has some appeal.

Only one small complaint - the bath/toilet amenities were crappy. The soap was good for one shower and the other amenities were packed in hard plastic bottles that made their use difficult.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at The Ranola in downtown Sarasota. WE choose this location so that we can walk to the restaurants each evening without having to resort to a car journey. Althought there is plenty of parking. Years ago it was very difficult to find places to eat in downtown Sarasota, today it is a competely different story with lots of restaurants, side walk cafes and bars, a transformation from years past when if you did not eat by eight o’clock you just did not eat.

The Ranola is not a full service hotel, so if that is what you expect then you should look elsewhere. What the Renola is very clean comfortable well appointed accommodation. Being an older building alterations have been made sympathetically is style with the building. However the airconditioning is window hung and can be a little noisy. The rooms are like mini apartments and have kitchen areas and would be very suitable for longer stays

At the time of booking it is made clear that the reception is not manned 24/7. We were due for a late arrival and our arrival instructions were emailed to us some 48 hours before our scheduled arrival.

The following morning we were met by Kathy (owner) and Martha who were charming and helpful with our requests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

After the glowing reviews of this hotel I was looking forward to staying here and celebrating a significant birthday with my loved one. For over 300 dollars for two nights, and a room described as 'fit for a queen' this should have been a high point in our vacation. Unfortunately it wasn't.

The hotel location is very central and the room is tastefully appointed, but it is also very noisy. Wi-fi access is unusably bad (disconnects every 10-30 seconds) and check-in was a disaster.

Check in is 'by appointment only'. When I booked the hotel asked when we planned to arrive, as I picked 4pm As the booking was some months before travel the hotel asked me to re-confirm 4pm, as they needed a firm time, and I gave my word. Three days before arrival they emailed again to check our arrival and I confirmed 4pm a third time. We plan our whole day around being at the hotel for 4pm and arrive in good time. Guess what - no staff, no answer to the doorbell, no way in. We wait and wait and wait. A passer-by lets us use his cell phone to call the hotel - straight to voicemail. At 5:30pm a staff member turns up and lets us in, saying she received the voicemail but has no idea why no-one was there to let us in an hour and a half earlier.

The next morning I meet the owner Kathy. I mention that we were not happy that the check-in appointment didn't happen and I just get bad attitude. "But we don't staff the hotel in the afternoons" (how should I know that?) I point out we had confirmed the appointment 3 times "It's not like it was a doctor's appointment", "but I get so many emails, if you would get as many as I do... " she says. Attached to the hotel bill I see on our check-in time in big hand-written letters, clear as day. The nearest I get to an apology is 'I take responsibility for that.' - no thoughts about how to prevent it happening to anyone else, no gesture of good-will, however small. Nada.

As for the noise in the room - the house construction is light, so we hear people in the room above, people entering the hotel late at night passing by our door, creaking floorboards, add to that the five fans running full tilt 24/7 in the small corridor outside our door (like being on a WW2 aircraft carrier, perhaps). We did not sleep well at all.

For all its pleasant decor and downtown location we were pleased to move on elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ranola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ranola

Address: 118 Indian Place, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sarasota
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only hotel in the heart of Downtown Sarasota, Florida. Walk to dozens of fabulous restaurants. Shops, galleries, etc. Full kitchens, sitting area, spacious rooms. Pillowtop mattresses, luxurious linens, flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi and more. Minutes to beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ranola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranola Hotel Sarasota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ranola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.